Harrods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Harrods Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 549 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefit (staff discount, staff canteen, enough supporting from management)(in 76 reviews)

  • "good discount, nice working environment, professional behaviour(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "The environment can be catty due to individual commission, long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • "No development or career progression(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Would definitely recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, who are proud to be here.

    Cons

    I've only been here for a few months, so no cons to report so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people.

    Harrods2019-02-22
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Employee Benefits and Staff Discount Training opportunities Progression opportunities International team Good for your CV

    Cons

    Shift work and long hours Working weekends and all bank holidays apart from Christmas Day and Easter Sunday Not possible to request holidays during the Summer Sale and Winter Sale periods No work/life balance

    Harrods2019-04-24
  3. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Environment, people, benefits, opportunity to move

    Cons

    Too many stakeholders delaying project implementation

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic with project launches

    Harrods2019-04-24
  4. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work Good perks Great discount Good team work Good training

    Cons

    Long working hours; Low pay Favouritism

    Harrods2019-04-23
  5. "A unique retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture; a lot of internal communication; good discounts.

    Cons

    Poor respect and support from managers

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget how it was to be just a sales associate

    Harrods2019-04-22
  6. "sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Harrods full-time

      Pros

      good pay and great commission to be earned

      Cons

      long hours and boring days very repetitive

      Harrods2019-04-10
    • "Good if you can get it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Summer Sale Sales Associate 

        I have been working at Harrods part-time

        Pros

        Staff discount is great, 33% across the store

        Cons

        High standards for appearance (heels for girls)

        Harrods2019-04-09
      • "Politics"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Porter in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Good for CV and staff discount

        Cons

        Too much internal politics, with promotions only for people close to managers

        Advice to Management

        be fair and just, even out the workload amongst employees and give fair opportunities for promotions.

        Harrods2019-04-22
      • "Best Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
        Recommends

        I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Incredible employee benefits, people are super friendly and nice to work with

        Cons

        people that work for concessions are a little difficult sometimes, and the fighting over commission can create a bad atmosphere

        Harrods2019-04-03

        Harrods Response

        April 10, 2019Retail Director

        Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; we really value your feedback. I’m pleased to read that you are enjoying role at Harrods. In regards to the dress code, we don’t expect our employees to wear heels in any role (though some of our team choose to wear them).

      • Helpful (1)

        "Sales Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Iconic place for shopping for sure

        Cons

        The buyers in Harrods are the worse I ever seen, the way they walk around the store they think they are owners of Harrods or directors just because they work in a office and don't even say hello to the people in the shop floor. They never have interest in what is the feedback in the shop floor and thats cause loose of money from the company.

        Advice to Management

        Make the buyers put the feet on the ground.

        Harrods2019-04-15
      Found 549 reviews