Harrods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Harrods Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Harrods Managing Director Michael Ward
Michael Ward
321 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is great, 33% across the store(in 95 reviews)

  • "Good discount, met some great people, a good company set up(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long Hours and Senior Management Politics(in 42 reviews)

  • "Lack of career progression, key reason for employees to leave their job(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Outstanding and engaging business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Retail Projects in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Inclusive, working hard to modernise, focused and passionate

    Cons

    Always seek to be progressive in an ever changing retail market - not a con, just a focus

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-12-16
  2. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    friendly, nice staff and customers are friendly

    Cons

    you have to look a certain way

    Harrods2020-02-14
  3. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company values, support from all areas, collaborative spirit, recognition, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    There aren't any for me personally

    Harrods2020-01-29
  4. "HAFE 2019 nominee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Harrods is a working place where you can improve your career and at the same time learning a different but also efficient way to work as a team. It's also a working place where you feel like you're working with your family as employees have good connection between them. The values that we do have at works are just the values that we should usually try to reach during our life. I can also tell you them in my working place, one of the most amazing thing is that you can be yourself which means less stress as you don't need to be anyone else. Harrods wants you the way you are.

    Cons

    I don't really see any reason to complain about my working place. I'm pleased that I can work in a company like Harrods.

    Harrods2020-01-28
  5. "I'm working in Harrods from 1 year. Good enviroment. But lack of management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Hall Assistant in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harrods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Enviroment. Good Salary and commission.

    Cons

    Lack of management. Not easy grow up

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-01-27
  6. "Great for your CV however too much pressure that involves not taking full lunch neither breaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount and perks. Full time works 37.5h not 40. Canteen with great prices for staff but food isn't that great tho

    Cons

    The over hierarchical structure, bureaucracy and failure to recognise these as issues makes completing work difficult. There is a real lack of understanding of what is going on at ground level, and it would well be worth taking the time to listen. No recognition Very old fashioned in terms of people policies Unrealistic workloads and expectations A bit of internal politics Some disorganisation in cascading important communication to the whole team in a timely manner Not always easy to approach managers It can be a real challenge to juggle expectations as standards are high. Issue with hierarchy, senior management are out of touch No recognition of good work Probation period puts you under high scrutiny that makes you believe you're not good enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Senior managers are very rude and arrogant. Horrible management. Rude managers, need to be able to communicate without being condescending and patronising. No option to progress unless English is your first language!

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-09
  7. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount , environment , food market, products, Xmas world

    Cons

    Overtime , horrible line managers, overtime not paid, constant errors in the payslip

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-08
  8. "Directionless and delusional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Knightsbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You work for an iconic brand that everyone knows Staff discounts on occasion can be pretty good I wasn't there long enough to utilise them, but they do have some good training modules you can enrol in

    Cons

    The work environment is very sterile, there are poor amenities (such as no kitchen or break out area). The work isn't very stimulating because you don't feel especially valued, even coming in with fresh ideas - there's very much a feeling of "this is how it is and this is how we like it".

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-07
  9. "Building customer trust through exceeding level and attentive service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assistant in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people support and opportunities to move and develop around the business.

    Cons

    Lack of career progression, key reason for employees to leave their job.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-04
  10. "Ok to put in your CV. Stay away from the Customer service department if you believe in integrity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Acceptable staff discount - Looks good on CV

    Cons

    - Patronising management - Very little room for progression and recognition if English is not your first language! - High turnover of staff and no discipline

    Continue reading
    Harrods2020-02-04

    Harrods Response

    February 7, 2020Head of Customer Service

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I’m concerned about your experience with us. I would love the chance to speak to you to understand your feedback in more detail? If you would like please email me at Jillian.Aslet@harrods.com.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 692 reviews