Harrods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Harrods Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 622 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Harrods CEO Michael Ward
Michael Ward
290 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and boring days very repetitive(in 41 reviews)

  • "Career progression is all based on who you know not what you know(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredible escape from the reality of life, while you get paid to perform while selling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temp in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can dream it but Harrods does not encompass all cultures as they dont allow Jewish to keep the Holy Shabbat that falls on a Friday Saturday.

    Cons

    You have to go home at night and they would not hear me when I suggested commission for temps. And to employ me even tough I cant work Saturdays.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-07-28
  2. "‘Together Harrods’"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A shared drive for excellence - Control over your area, from P& L to recruitment (I run my department as I would a boutique) -Great discount and staff benefits

    Cons

    - It can be competitive - Sometimes its hard to know who's responsible for what in the business

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Knightsbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training and support from managers. Discount is fantastic.

    Cons

    Long service should notice and possibly promote people instead of hiring new managers externally

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-01
  4. "Masters of luxury, and steeped in heritage and history... an icon!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GENERAL SALES MANAGER in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A global brand, steeped in heritage and history, but remain at the forefront of luxury

    Cons

    Navigating the heirachy, and understanding he influence you can have

    Harrods2019-09-04
  5. "An amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong focus on people, values and education so you can learn a great deal and develop yourself. Exceptionally high standards so you deliver your best Supportive and approachable managers Significant investment in the business Supported to engage in numerous activities for charity

    Cons

    Its incredibly disappointing when some colleagues don't care

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-03
  6. "good development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great development opportunities in the business

    Cons

    you have to do a lot to get noticed

    Harrods2019-09-03
  7. "Good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good structure.good benefits. Decent salary.

    Cons

    Hard to progress if you don't go through HMP.

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-09-01
  8. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has great discount. Rewarded for hard work.

    Cons

    It is a very demanding place.

    Harrods2019-09-14
  9. "Brand Specialist Harrods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, great team work, a lot of trainings from different brands.

    Cons

    low commission, sometimes can be stressful

    Harrods2019-08-27
  10. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company benefits and staff welfare

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Harrods2019-08-25
Found 622 reviews