Heartbeat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heartbeat Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Heartbeat Managing Directors Nadine Leonard and James Talerico (no image)
Nadine Leonard and James Talerico
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "They’ve even implemented a work/life balance program that encourages hard work but also hard play(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great work-environment and steady growth(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can sometimes be an issue for most, but there are initiatives in place to make work/life balance better(in 8 reviews)

  • "There are late nights, but the business is expanding so rapidly that that's to be expected(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of people quitting, some staff members causing too much trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of really good people here.

    Cons

    A lot of people have quit in recent months, and although some client difficulties are responsible, it's certain team members who are really responsible. Some of the production and book leads run things very badly but they talk a good game so they seem to skate by. Management seems to be unconcerned about the amount of turnover, the decreased morale and other negative developments.

    Continue reading
    Heartbeat2020-02-21

    Heartbeat Response

    February 21, 2020Director, Marketing

    First, thank you for the conviction behind your input and for the clear concern you have both for the culture and for the folks who sit next to you. We share that same concern and work every day to deliver against it. To do that, we rely on folks like yourself to raise flags, to point out blind spots, and to bring solutions to the table. And we’re proud to say that none of our accomplishments have come from senior leadership alone, that we are open to any inventive way we can improve the “day-to-day” challenges we all face, and that – because of those things – the arc of the agency’s health has always been toward betterment. So we ask you – with a shared urgency – to please come to anyone in leadership or HR to discuss this in more depth and to work with us to do better. Our path forward is one we share with you and the whole of the Heartbeat community. Sincerely, Nadine and James Co-Presidents, Heartbeat

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing Culture, Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Heartbeat is unlike any other. You will never find a more ambitious, hardworking, talented, group of people at any other agency. "Work hard, play hard" is fully embraced here. There is a relaxed, but still professional, atmosphere, that allows you to be your true self. There is a lot of opportunities for growth, whether it is online or in-person training, full 360 performance reviews, and good exposure to other teams and senior leadership through collaboration. If you possess the qualities of a true Heartbeater, you are likely to feel secure that your team, your manager and leadership care about your well-being and your growth in the company.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be hard but senior leadership is always looking for ways to rectify this and voice concern to your managers if they see you spending too much time at the office. Goes back to feeling like more than a number and actually feeling as though the company cares about you. Clients can be tough to deal with.

    Continue reading
    Heartbeat2020-01-29

    Heartbeat Response

    January 29, 2020Marketing Manager

    Thank you for this thoughtful review! We take pride in the fact that we heavily invest in our culture, so we’re glad that our team members feel secure enough to be their authentic selves in the office. Work-life balance gets tough sometimes in the fast-paced agency setting, but we’re always looking for ways to make sure Heartbeaters are well, happy, and empowered to enjoy their personal time (use those flex days)! Clients are the lifeblood of any organization, and we pride ourselves on going the extra mile for ours, but setting accurate expectations and establishing a strong, mutually respectful working relationship is also key. We’ll absolutely note your feedback and think of better ways to address this. Thanks so much again!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great people, Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Atmosphere in the office was always fun, but people were very driven and talented.

    Cons

    Could have been better organized for the intern program and had more specific tasks for interns to work on. I found myself with a lot of free time.

    Heartbeat2020-01-25
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Copywriting 

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time

    Pros

    Very nice people, and company values work/life balance

    Cons

    The usual pharma advertising cons!

    Heartbeat2019-11-06
  5. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Group Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heartbeat does a lot for their employees, great benefits and overall great people to work with including the head of HR.

    Cons

    No bonus and no manager training

    Heartbeat2019-09-23
  6. "A Culture Like No Other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never been in an environment quite like Heartbeat. So many offices will throw a pool table or pinball machine in the common area and tell you they have "great culture". Okay yes, Heartbeat did have a ping pong table, but how many places have welcome cocktails with the heads of the agency? Truly a family atmosphere, when people were let go from the creative dep't, the CCO sat us down and had a conversation about it, and that meant the world. I really did love working with the people at Heartbeat: they care about you, and they care about the work. They care enough to push you to do more, for the client and in-house.

    Cons

    -Long hours (like any other agency lifestyle) -Figuring out concrete steps for title advancement/promotion could feel a little hazy at times, but there certainly were promotions in the time I was there.

    Heartbeat2019-08-19
  7. "Director, Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New York 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    “It is in the ordinary events of every day that we develop the proactive capacity to handle the extraordinary pressures of life.” It’s how we respond to situations and events what’s makes a difference. Stephen Covey Why I love being a Heartbeater? It makes a huge difference when you work in an organization that truly invest in knowing their values and what they stand for. When they do, it shows in the culture and the way they treat clients and each individual on the team. Culture starts with leadership, if you want to know the culture of a company, meet its leaders. Their beliefs and vision shape and model the behaviors and commitments of the team. I need to say that I truly feel inspired by our leadership team. Our culture is open, inclusive, hard worker, proactive, adaptable, embrace diversity and uniqueness, creative, honest, accountable, collaborative, flexible, funny, smart, ethical, and what I love the most… human.

    Cons

    This is a business, of course everything will NOT be perfect, but there is a commitment to evolve, grow and improve.

    Continue reading
    Heartbeat2019-06-28

    Heartbeat Response

    July 1, 2019Director, Marketing

    Thank you so much for the kind words, we wholeheartedly agree! The shape of a company starts with its leaders. Our senior leadership team has multiple members with 10+ years of Heartbeat tenure – they love Heartbeat and every person within it down to their cores, so they make darn sure that this agency continues to evolve, and brings the best that any business can possibly offer to its employees & clients. Thanks for being a valued part of what we’re building here.

    Continue reading
  8. "Heartbeat Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong culture, Work life balance, Community

    Cons

    I can't see downsides

    Continue reading
    Heartbeat2019-06-09
  9. "Awesome Leadership Creating the Best Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The thing I like more about Heartbeat is how the Senior Leadership is so open to new ideas. This is not the type of place that says "this is the way we have always done it, so we aren't going to change it". NOT EVEN CLOSE!! They are always looking for people with an entrepreneurial mind set, a startup mentality, someone who is going to come in with vision and ideas and put them on the table for everyone to see and hear! They want everyone to feel like they have a voice at the table and it shows!! The creative juices flowing in this place is just awesome to be around! Coming here has been the best decision of my career I have grown in ways I never thought possible!

    Cons

    All the snacks and drinks are healthy! Although that's not a bad thing, once in awhile I crave a soda and a bag of BBQ chips!!!

    Continue reading
    Heartbeat2019-05-13

    Heartbeat Response

    May 20, 2019Director, Marketing

    Thanks so much! We’re ecstatic to hear that our entrepreneurial spirit is shining through. Heartbeat may be 20+ years old now, but our management has always worked hard to maintain the culture, feel, and mentality from our entrepreneurial roots. And that most definitely includes listening closely to our enthusiastic staff like yourself. Whether it’s a fresh-faced intern or a 15-year SVP veteran, we know that great ideas can and do come from everywhere. So please keep contributing, and helping to make Heartbeat the best it can be. Admittedly, the healthy snacks is intentional, and probably not going to change (we care about your health and wellness!!). But we do have flavored seltzer and BBQ POP chips, which seems pretty darn close if you ask me :)

    Continue reading
  10. "Unique agency culture focused on individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director, Project Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at many agencies, both in & outside of the holding companies. Heartbeat is the only agency I've been at that places great importance on its people as individuals. This comes through in: 1) a focus on supporting & training managers to ensure Heartbeaters feel supported by strong supervisors 2) a recognition of family life & work-life balance needs - if you've proven your value, Heartbeat will work with you to make this balance happen 3) constant assessment of its people to ensure their strengths are recognized & leveraged The place is also full of truly good and mature people. Finding a place & culture like Heartbeat has been a rare jewel, where I feel comfortable "settling down" knowing I will be supported on both a professional & personal level.

    Cons

    It's pharma, and along with that comes work that can be hum-drum and feel like a production shop churning out work. The new office is a very sterile & impersonal environment. The company is slowly trying to address this & reinstate a visual carry-through of its culture.

    Heartbeat2019-05-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 80 reviews