Heartbeat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Heartbeat Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Heartbeat CEO Nadine Leonard and James Talerico (no image)
Nadine Leonard and James Talerico
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "They’ve even implemented a work/life balance program that encourages hard work but also hard play(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great work-environment and steady growth(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can sometimes be an issue for most, but there are initiatives in place to make work/life balance better(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are late nights, but the business is expanding so rapidly that that's to be expected(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Culture Like No Other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never been in an environment quite like Heartbeat. So many offices will throw a pool table or pinball machine in the common area and tell you they have "great culture". Okay yes, Heartbeat did have a ping pong table, but how many places have welcome cocktails with the heads of the agency? Truly a family atmosphere, when people were let go from the creative dep't, the CCO sat us down and had a conversation... about it, and that meant the world. I really did love working with the people at Heartbeat: they care about you, and they care about the work. They care enough to push you to do more, for the client and in-house.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Long hours (like any other agency lifestyle) -Figuring out concrete steps for title advancement/promotion could feel a little hazy at times, but there certainly were promotions in the time I was there.

    Heartbeat2019-08-19
  2. "Director, Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New York 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    “It is in the ordinary events of every day that we develop the proactive capacity to handle the extraordinary pressures of life.” It’s how we respond to situations and events what’s makes a difference. Stephen Covey Why I love being a Heartbeater? It makes a huge difference when you work in an organization that truly invest in knowing their values and what they stand for. When they do, it shows in the culture and... the way they treat clients and each individual on the team. Culture starts with leadership, if you want to know the culture of a company, meet its leaders. Their beliefs and vision shape and model the behaviors and commitments of the team. I need to say that I truly feel inspired by our leadership team. Our culture is open, inclusive, hard worker, proactive, adaptable, embrace diversity and uniqueness, creative, honest, accountable, collaborative, flexible, funny, smart, ethical, and what I love the most… human.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a business, of course everything will NOT be perfect, but there is a commitment to evolve, grow and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Your authenticity truly differentiates this place. Thank you.

    Heartbeat2019-06-28

    Heartbeat Response

    July 1, 2019Director, Marketing

    Thank you so much for the kind words, we wholeheartedly agree! The shape of a company starts with its leaders. Our senior leadership team has multiple members with 10+ years of Heartbeat tenure – they love Heartbeat and every person within it down to their cores, so they make darn ...

    Show More
  3. "Heartbeat Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong culture, Work life balance, Community

    Cons

    I can't see downsides

    Advice to Management

    To keep the strong culture

    Heartbeat2019-06-09
  4. "Awesome Leadership Creating the Best Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The thing I like more about Heartbeat is how the Senior Leadership is so open to new ideas. This is not the type of place that says "this is the way we have always done it, so we aren't going to change it". NOT EVEN CLOSE!! They are always looking for people with an entrepreneurial mind set, a startup mentality, someone who is going to come in with vision and ideas and put them on the table for everyone to see and... hear! They want everyone to feel like they have a voice at the table and it shows!! The creative juices flowing in this place is just awesome to be around! Coming here has been the best decision of my career I have grown in ways I never thought possible!

    Show More

    Cons

    All the snacks and drinks are healthy! Although that's not a bad thing, once in awhile I crave a soda and a bag of BBQ chips!!!

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to yourselves! Don't ever lose that start-up mentality, it's what makes this place so unique!

    Heartbeat2019-05-13

    Heartbeat Response

    May 20, 2019Director, Marketing

    Thanks so much! We’re ecstatic to hear that our entrepreneurial spirit is shining through. Heartbeat may be 20+ years old now, but our management has always worked hard to maintain the culture, feel, and mentality from our entrepreneurial roots. And that most definitely includes listening ...

    Show More
  5. "Unique agency culture focused on individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director, Project Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at many agencies, both in & outside of the holding companies. Heartbeat is the only agency I've been at that places great importance on its people as individuals. This comes through in: 1) a focus on supporting & training managers to ensure Heartbeaters feel supported by strong supervisors 2) a recognition of family life & work-life balance needs - if you've proven your value, Heartbeat... will work with you to make this balance happen 3) constant assessment of its people to ensure their strengths are recognized & leveraged The place is also full of truly good and mature people. Finding a place & culture like Heartbeat has been a rare jewel, where I feel comfortable "settling down" knowing I will be supported on both a professional & personal level.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's pharma, and along with that comes work that can be hum-drum and feel like a production shop churning out work. The new office is a very sterile & impersonal environment. The company is slowly trying to address this & reinstate a visual carry-through of its culture.

    Heartbeat2019-05-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The Gold Standard for Agency Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copy Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing leadership team, colleagues are bursting with talent and innovation, cited one of the best places to work by several industry publications, including Ad Age. Open culture that recognizes hard work; participates in a lot of charitable activities; lots of training opportunities; great for younger people new to the industry to get experience and mentor ship. It was super hard to leave this wonderful group of... people.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have to reiterate some of the other commenters here an say the technology was god awful - servers going down, IT service very mediocre, malfunctioning hardware, outdated software. This is more about Publicis, rather than Heartbeat; work life balance was a challenge, that was due to my particular client; performance review process can be tiresome; sometimes client’s unrealistic expectations could be managed better;... some silos

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management here is great,open and involved, keep the strong culture you have built, keep up the transparency; try to get Publicis to improve the technology so people can do their jobs

    Heartbeat2019-04-12

    Heartbeat Response

    April 16, 2019Associate Director, Marketing

    We’re thrilled that you embraced the culture here, and noticed the ample opportunities for training and mentorship – both things that we take pride in and make sure are readily available for each and every Heartbeater. A huge part of that is due to talented and dedicated folks like ...

    Show More
  7. "I want to love it....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time

    Pros

    the people and the perks

    Cons

    they don't actually train you to do your job. you start and then people expect you to know the documents, the flow of work, and your job without actually talking to you about any of it.

    Advice to Management

    take the time to train your employees

    Heartbeat2019-04-26

    Heartbeat Response

    May 6, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    On-boarding is a particular challenge for any agency. It’s also fantastically important, as it sets a first impression for a new member of our community. That’s why it pains us to hear that something has gone awry for you. The silver lining, however: WE CAN FIX THIS! And we intend ...

    Show More
  8. "What 'great' looks like."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Heartbeat is a place that values individuality to create a culture unlike any other agency I've been at. My managers lead through example and allow me the autonomy to run my business how I deem fit to create and cultivate meaningful relationships internally and with my clients.

    Cons

    As in any service industry, clients can be demanding. Learning how to anticipate asks/needs is something the agency is working on.

    Advice to Management

    I'd encourage leadership to continue to thoughtfully grow the agency by seeking out opportunities that lead to AOR work through smaller successes.

    Heartbeat2019-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Culture Innovators"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heartbeat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HB has created a culture that is above all others. HR is beyond helpful and are there to help you grow and work for the employees rather than the company. With this mindset, the culture is focused in the same light.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can sometimes be an issue for most, but there are initiatives in place to make work/life balance better.

    Heartbeat2019-02-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Unlike any other place I've worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heartbeat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Heartbeat's culture is unlike any other, it is a fun/engaging/welcoming place and you can feel this energy the moment you walk through the doors. The senior leadership really cares and they do so much (fun in office competitions, in house meditation, employee appreciation week, etc.) and never fail to show employees how much they appreciate us. There is plenty of opportunity to advance your career here as long as... you are putting in the work.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons come to mind- don't change!

    Advice to Management

    None, you guys rock!

    Heartbeat2019-02-20

    Heartbeat Response

    February 25, 2019Associate Director, Marketing

    Thanks so much for the incredible review! We've said it here a bunch, but a positive culture is just vitally important to us, and showing appreciation to our incredible employees for all of their hard work even more so. Thanks for being a huge part of what we're building here at ...

    Show More
Found 75 reviews