Holiday Inn Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Holiday Inn Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Holiday Inn CEO Keith Barr  (no image)
Keith Barr
117 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours and Weekends in Season(in 37 reviews)

  • "Low pay not much room for advancement(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Supervisor 

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time

    Pros

    Very good place, it was a big family the whole staff from every department. Very good manager who teach me to everything i know now.

    Cons

    Low salary , short of staff

    Holiday Inn2019-07-30
  2. "hard work low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Supervisor 

    I worked at Holiday Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great colleagues and free staff meals

    Cons

    shifts often finishing at 3am

    Holiday Inn2019-11-09
  3. "Bearable if you don't have anything else lined up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a good entry level job as you get customer service and a bit of admin experience but nothing more. You also get to interact with people from all over the world, including your coworkers.

    Cons

    Pay is too low. Long hours and no social life as you may be asked to give up a day off to cover a shift, and lots of overtime. Not only are rotas released at the very last minute, they also rarely make any sense (one day you have three people at the front desk with 30 arrivals and only one or two people when you have 50-100 arrivals). The building has a Big Brother vibe with upper management calling you if they see... something "strange" on camera (e.g. talking to someone belonging to a different department and automatically assuming employees are slacking off). Staff food is bad, uniforms are embarassingly cheap, oversized and make you look frumpy no matter how many times you wash and/or iron them (so long first impression in a customer-focused environment).

    Show More
    Holiday Inn2019-11-01
  4. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Club Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free roam to do what you like really, learn lots very quickly and the ability to be involved in a lot of things

    Cons

    It’s attached to a holiday in so lots of hotel guest come and use it

    Holiday Inn2019-10-14
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Holiday Inn

    Pros

    Nice younger staff, and community between departments

    Cons

    Dis-organised management due to a lack of hotel funding

    Holiday Inn2019-10-20
  6. "No good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is good. Over worked and under appreciated

    Cons

    As above.!! Nothing good. 4 rooms an hour and supervisor or management doesn't check properly

    Advice to Management

    Pay them more!!

    Holiday Inn2019-10-31
  7. "Good company, poor progression opportunities within a franchise group called centreisland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very inclusive team culture Good rewards and benefits system for employees Provide plenty opportunity for development

    Cons

    Poor leadership from top management team Shocking pay for anyone above Team Member level

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay and promotion opportunities

    Holiday Inn2019-09-26
  8. "Appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Holiday Inn full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits with hotel all over the world

    Cons

    Long hours. Lack of apprecistion Communication Understaffed Facing rude customers

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate how hard your staff work

    Holiday Inn2019-09-07
  9. "Holiday Inn Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Associate in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Holiday Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to meet guests making them happy is my priority which makes me happy .

    Cons

    My rota changes every week which is a con because sometimes I won't get much shifts at all .

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    Holiday Inn2019-09-07
  10. "good times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Inn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great team, nice people,great atmosphere!

    Cons

    there is not much of them cons. they are insignificant.

    Holiday Inn2019-08-15
Found 881 reviews