Home Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Home Group Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Home Group Chief Executive Mark Henderson
Mark Henderson
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really invest in colleagues and flexible working for good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "It's a company committed to supporting a range of vulnerable people(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of restructures which leave everyone unsettled(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to competitors(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Leader in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary, great development, family feeling and fun. .

    Cons

    Restructure cycle can make colleagues uneasy

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Home Group2019-11-18
  2. "Good benefits and inclusive of minorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and occasional working from home. Good maternity package.

    Cons

    Always restructuring so lots of change and occasional redundancies.

    Home Group2019-11-26
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Support Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, flexible, good benefits, good wage, good office and location, real community feel, good development opportunities

    Cons

    Some managers don’t necessarily fully support the company values and work together

    Home Group2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Support Worker Home Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Support Worker 

    I worked at Home Group part-time

    Pros

    interesting work, nice people to work with

    Cons

    bad pay, disorganised, out of touch management

    Home Group2019-10-21
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Coordinator in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and support within the team

    Cons

    Lone working can be challenging

    Home Group2019-09-08
  6. "Flexible, supportive organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reward Business Partner in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Group part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working around home-life commitments. Genuine colleague development and lots of opportunities. Management are approachable and supportive.

    Cons

    Need to be disciplined to maintain work/life balance

    Home Group2019-08-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It could be a great company but.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Level II Support Worker in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team/work culture. Great friends made here Better (even though still not great) pay for support workers than other companies I have seen. Client focused. It's an easy job if you care about your clientele and work with them consistently. Christmas bonus Lieu time and AL allowance

    Cons

    No work life balance High staff turnover Sleep in shifts Managers dont really listen No structure to the work Not a lot of support around the job in general Constant last minute rota changes even though 28 days notice is meant to be given so it's hard to make future plans.

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your staff team, they are the ones on the ground working face to face with clients, not yourselves. Be open and honest about your decisions and welcome feedback from the people who are the backbone of the company rather than putting them in their place whenever they try to make comment or suggestion. Dont take on unsuitable clients for the sake of it, consider who your staff specialise in working... with and think about this when making decisions- we have specialist teams for a reason. Dont undermine your employees emotions, just because you dont feel uncomfortable in a situation or environment doesnt mean that some of your employees dont.

    Show More
    Home Group2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "They don’t care and incompetent rent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Gosforth, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Home Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Holiday allowance Flexible hours for higher eduction People in teams are usually friendly

    Cons

    Bullying culture from arrears management Very unhygienic workspace Very strict on absence Higher up management in head office don’t care about employees

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers externally who know how to manage and then teach them the company, rather than employing internally people who know the company but don’t know the slightest about how to manage. Too many people are hired internally or seconded who don’t have any knowledge of how to manage and look after employees. Arrears management is the reason I left the company, they seem to believe the best way to get employees to... do what they want is to bully and scaremongering them into it, oblivious to the fact it actually results in lower morale and lower productivity. Worst company I have ever worked for, only reason I stayed for nearly 2 years was due to the friendly customer service advisors who made the job the slightest bit more bearable. Repairs management were competent and caring of employees but unfortunately irrelevant to those working on the rent team.

    Show More
    Home Group2019-09-10
  9. "Good training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was a lot of support working there in terms of training

    Cons

    The customers were often angry and some issues with miscommunication between them and the agency that hired us.

    Home Group2019-07-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Coordinator in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are recognised for your achievements. Opportunity to progress Respected and well thought of by manager and values my input.

    Cons

    I wish service was closer to where I live

    Advice to Management

    Always look after your employees and they will look after you and your service

    Home Group2019-07-23
Found 79 reviews