Homejoy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Homejoy Reviews

Updated 31 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Homejoy CEO Adora Cheung
Adora Cheung
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They do not care one bit about the cleaners(in 19 reviews)

  • "Meanwhile if your average isn't up to par you can be suspended(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flexible and enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cleaner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homejoy

    Pros

    Set your own hours, Hard work pays off, support from management when things go wrong.

    Cons

    Heavy cleaning kit, occassionally clients are not nice.

    Advice to Management

    Make cleaning kits lighter

    Homejoy2015-04-23
  2. "Satisfaction guaranteed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - House Cleaner in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homejoy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customer service is wonderful. Pay is great! Wonder company to grow with

    Cons

    Great pay, wonderful clients and atmosphere

    Homejoy2019-02-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Homeaglow is Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Homejoy part-time

    Pros

    Have fun cleaning! Pleasant work for fun.

    Cons

    If you request your pay thru instapay they charge you 3.99 per payment. If you clean 3 houses & request your pay for all 3 the same day they charge you 11.99 of your money plus the $5 per hour per new client they already take as well. Plus you cannot talk to anyone in person its only thru text or email.

    Advice to Management

    Stop ripping employees & clients off to get rich.

    Homejoy2018-10-10
  4. "They treated me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing CEO They meant well Innovative product

    Cons

    The shut down a few months after

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to the next one!

    Homejoy2018-06-19
  5. "It was a fun ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot; got the real startup experience. There was so much to do and so little time, I always felt I was on the go. We ended up getting acquired by Google so got a pretty good job there.

    Cons

    Not much. There was some tension between some teams.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the ride

    Homejoy2017-08-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homejoy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great flexibility, positivity, fun, creativity, and freedom

    Cons

    there are no cons to list at this time

    Advice to Management

    they're great

    Homejoy2017-05-26
  7. "everything bad about this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy

    Pros

    They promise you the stars and the moon. It is briefly elating.

    Cons

    Terrible variable hours, impossible to build a career out of, no training, terrible exploitative management.

    Advice to Management

    I'm glad this company went bankrupt. It deserved it.

    Homejoy2016-10-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Dont apply to this cleaning company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    House Cleaner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Homejoy

    Pros

    Good pay for starting rate

    Cons

    After leaving, i heard company stop paying their employees

    Homejoy2016-09-22
  9. "Amazing group of people, not so amazing at scaling the product."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Free Lunch, +Great Coworkers/Friends, sense of involvement from CEO, Monthly Meetings with CEO, Mandatory Cleaning Test (I thought this was very valuable to understand the product), Smart Bright Group of People.

    Cons

    Pay for Client Service Rep started at $15/hr, unattractive work hours (5am - East Coast Time, to reconcile for New York Customers) Disorganized, made poor decisions to allocate less $$ to Cilent Experiences and then it went downhill. Scaled too much to quickly without perfecting product.

    Advice to Management

    I truly enjoyed working with Adora and Aaron, I know they had great intentions and I would work for them again in a heartbeat. I'm sure they learned a lot from Homejoy and will take it to heart in the future.

    Homejoy2016-05-17
  10. "Customer Service TL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Homejoy

    Pros

    Good Benefits, relaxed atmosphere and alot of room to grow.

    Cons

    Major turn around, alot of hiring and layoffs

    Homejoy2016-02-03
Found 76 reviews