IESA Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
IESA President Debbie Bowring (no image)
Debbie Bowring
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "The working environment at IESA is fast paced and every day is different which I really enjoy(in 11 reviews)

  • "IESA care about their employees and want them to have a great working environment, after all, we spend lots of time in work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IESA value their staff and their well being, staff members are treated well from all levels of management. Its a face paced environment and you need to be on the ball to manage your workload but if you do then you are respected and recognised for the time and effort you give to the company. Personally I like to be busy so this works well for me

    Cons

    As long as you give your best effort whilst at work then there is not really anything bad I can say, obviously for those people who do not give their best will find it hard as people are managed and if someone is not managing their own work it will have an affect on others around them.

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-04-06
  2. "Decent place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has improved as a business since first started two years ago. Have taken employee feedback on board. Issued company laptops for all employees and have added extra holidays. Great working environment. Employees really make a difference. Opportunities for movement around the company.

    Cons

    The wage is the biggest downfall of the company. There's a lot of wage gaps within the business, even people within departments are on uneven pay, and for the jobs we do, we are paid way below average.

    IESA2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Keep clear if you can - is good advise"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Advisor in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at IESA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Struggling to think of some positive comments?

    Cons

    Very poor or none existent training.. then expected to train others Poor IT : systems not fully developed A number of people who thought they know how to manage : but I saw some of the worst managers in my career in this company. Very true they would drop you in it before helping. Extra hours expected with no recompense.

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-04-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The worst company I have ever worked for."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stores Envoy 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It pays the bills and most of the staff are nice.

    Cons

    No structured training It's all about the savings No sick pay No support from the management Head office get all the perks but nothing for the various remote stores teams. Remote stores teams feel isolated and under valued.

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-02-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSC in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Company is very fast paced and diverse, the people are very passionate and go above and beyond to make IESA a success. It is not for the faint hearted as you will be expected to work very hard. The office is very modern and bright making for a nice working environment. New benefits are being implemented, ie. Additional holiday, save as you earn, to name a few. The Management team in the SSC are approachable and very supportive and encourage growth and progression. Overhaul this is a nice place to work.

    Cons

    ICT systems need sorting quickly

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-01-30

    IESA Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for your review, its great to hear positive feedback.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Stressed company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at IESA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good catalogue ordering when it works

    Cons

    Computer systems crap, training what training, helpful not, head office not supportive, suffered with stress and depression all the help I got was a telephone call to see how I was, Don't pay their suppliers on time and get put on stop

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all cost"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at all

    Cons

    Where do I start... 1. Do not focus on salary as you will not get it, people within a team are on different salaries but work the same if not less. 2. My team leader is not approachable, and acts like a child and still gets backed by management. 3. Higher management level do not support staff, nothing is confidential. 4. There are multiple staff who are to scared to go to HR as they feel there will be repercussions. 5. Throwing people under the bus is a common practice. 6. Management manipulate staff and put words in people’s mouth. 7. A big company like this do not look after their staff at all. 8. A staff member from AP has often seen the way my team leader acts towards certain staff on our team, she is known for favouritism over members of staff. Looking at previous reviews has gave me the courage to finally write this.

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-01-26

    IESA Response

    January 28, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. In response to your points above, we are regularly assessing our workforce salaries and accept that there are differences, this will depend on experience, qualifications, apprentice levels and specific requirements of the role which is being undertaken. We invest heavily in training and development and are currently supporting our team leaders and managers through ILM Management qualifications along with other on-line training and development platforms. We are therefore sorry and surprised to hear that you feel you were not supported by your team leader and line management as our recent employee engagement survey results state that employees highly value their line manager, scoring 78%. Our management team always endeavour to maintain confidentiality, however we appreciate that on occasion matters must be shared with relevant individuals in order to investigate and follow the correct process to ensure we have followed company procedures and we have been fair to all parties. Our HR team are a group of professionally trained and CIPD qualified people who deal with facts and follow company policy, procedures and relevant employment legislation to provide advice and guidance to our colleagues to ensure all employees are treated fairly and consistently. Finally, we are unable to comment on the phrase 'throwing people under the bus' as it's unclear what this means or relates to.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Run for your life !"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ****** in Croydon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IESA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None really. They pay on time

    Cons

    - Over works staff + leaves you hanging - Mgt never back up staff - clients come first -Mgt do not support growth or individuals -Mgt quick to terminate contracts - poor grounds of termination - Mgt always get lower ranking staff to do things and then use it to get rid of them - You have to always be weary of the mgt and direct line mgt - Transparency is a problem

    Continue reading
    IESA2020-01-22
  9. "Company doesn’t care enough about its staff to heat the office"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some people can be fun, you can have a bit of a laugh. Not a job for building a career, next to no progression available, most openings ring fenced for the graduate program

    Cons

    The company was bought by RS over a year ago but they are still blocking as many of the benefits as possible, legal minimum pension, no sick pay. The office is always freezing and they don’t care despite the complaints, half the staff are in coats, hats, gloves and scarfs.

    Continue reading
    IESA2019-12-18

    IESA Response

    December 31, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with some parts of IESA. As a current employee, who has remained anonymous, we would encourage you to speak to any member of the IESA Executive team to have an open and honest conversation with them about your concerns. To address the issues raised in your review we encourage all of our employees to grow and develop their career to fulfil their potential and career aspirations. Opportunities are open to all and you should be having discussions about your development in your 1-2-1 meetings with your line manager. In addition, all employees receive a weekly newsletter that has information regarding vacancies within IESA and across our group. IESA has grown significantly in recent years and was bought by Electrocomponents in May 2018, RS are also part of that company albeit a separate entity to IESA. Twice a year we run our GLINT Employee Engagement Survey and action plans are formed from this to see which areas we can improve to make the biggest impact to make IESA a great place to work. From those results in the last 12 months we have introduced: • Employee Assistance Programme • Save As You Earn • Access to employee discounts • GP services 24/7 365 days a year for all employees and their families • Increased holiday allowance and option to buy extra holidays • Currently trailing a flexible working pattern in our Warrington office • Access to LinkedIn learning which allows employees access to online learning tools to learn and develop at their own pace Information about all of these services are readily available on our SharePoint site or by speaking to a member of the HR team. Finally, as soon as it was reported that the heating was not working in our office we arranged for an immediate engineer to visit which then led to a full service on our heating system. The temperature is now set at a comfortable level for all, if you still feel this is a problem please raise this with the facilities team.

  10. "Growing Business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IESA in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IESA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Don't have a boss hanging over me 24 /7

    Cons

    Lack of Training and Progression

    IESA2019-10-08
Found 119 reviews
</>Embed