IKEA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IKEA Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 182 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IKEA FOOD Co-worker in Tottenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay & benefit scheme

    Cons

    Lots of older people so gets jarring for young people

    Advice to Management

    Employ younger people

    IKEA2019-10-01
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Goods Flow Co-worker in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly atmosphere, great pay for the work that you do. very good facilities i.e toilets staff restaurant and sometimes food is free

    Cons

    sometimes the workload can be alot but its rare.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more promotions opportunities

    IKEA2019-09-17
  3. "Great place to work as a temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Wembley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, decent benefits, very good bonus (if it's achieved)

    Cons

    bonus based on many factors out of your hand Promotions are very biased and based on who you are friends with/language you speak

    IKEA2019-09-06
  4. "Great people and environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top values-lead organisation Room to grow and learn Opportunity to change direction into other functions

    Cons

    Can be disorganised and political

    Advice to Management

    Focus on results, not on appearance

    IKEA2019-09-06
  5. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cycle Driver in Armthorpe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok. Some of the shift leads are ok.

    Cons

    Most of the co workers, most of the jobs are incredibly boring.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention as to how the full timers are treating agency workers and maybe include agency workers in company celebrations, lunch discount and employee discount.

    IKEA2019-09-15
  6. "It's good if you need a little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Co-Worker in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If your a student looking for work on weekends or in need of a part time job this is a good place to go. They will train you up and you can go on courses such as a first aid and get paid for it. You'll meet and work with some great people.

    Cons

    You'll need to grow some thick skin because customers aren't always the nicest to deal with as people are sometimes. Its very rare to get full time roles. And sometimes it feels like you won't get anywhere unless your brown nosing the right person. And you can say good bye to your weekends and social life because trying to swap a weekend shift is like trading in gold dust and you can't book days off unless you have... holidays left, that could just be with my manager because I've heard other managers not be so strict.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those on the line, we tidy, we organise, we sell your products and the face of the company and serve customers everyday, we hear they're problems and we have problems of our own and we think of ways that can improve things around the shop. Every pair of hands comes with a free brain, use it.

    IKEA2019-09-14
  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IKEA FOOD Co-worker in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay 20 min and 40 min breaks on 8 hour shifts Responsive managers and HR End of year gifts Cheap meals Great team

    Cons

    Some favouritism Finishing late and having to clean a LOT Dish room is horrible to work in Ugly uniform and being told off about make up / looking like a dinner lady Food do more than the whole store when it comes to pressure so deserve some form of recognition Very high turn over rate, you won’t see the same faces for long

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate co-workers more Have a bonus system for Food staff

    IKEA2019-08-29
  8. "Ikea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their values are great, not just at work but at home aswell

    Cons

    Shortage of staff sometimes, workload can be to much at times

    Advice to Management

    Actively listen to co workers

    IKEA2019-08-26
  9. "Grow fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Supply Support Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    can grow quickly with right support, can work and develop in many different areas

    Cons

    internal politics at times, culture and values are inconsistant

    IKEA2019-08-19
  10. "Good employer and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employer good benefits and good values they try and stand by

    Cons

    Rota'd shifts so hard to plan events in your life

    IKEA2019-08-17
Found 182 reviews
</>Embed