IKEA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

IKEA Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Self Serve Co Worker in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers excellent to work with, IKEa recruits certain types of people which makes most people recruited very easy to get along with. Management also very happy to work with you to aid in external commitments.

    Cons

    Not easy to get a full time contract. Employ mostly part time staff and get them to work more hours

    IKEA2019-11-27
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun. Great people. Fantastic benifits. Looked after. Great Christmas gifts. Lots of opportunity if working g full time.

    Cons

    Found opportunity mostly given to full time works. Few managers useless.

    IKEA2020-01-24
  3. "OK COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Co-Worker in Peterborough, England

    I have been working at IKEA full-time

    Pros

    boring repetitive job and strict rules

    Cons

    good company pay and benefits

    IKEA2020-01-21
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Co-Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, lots of benefits, room to progress

    Cons

    Shift work, can be stressful at times.

    IKEA2020-01-16
  5. "Good company with great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lots of friendly people! - free/subsidised food from the canteen - always busy with something to do - every other weekend off which is amazing in retail

    Cons

    - usual cons of working in retail e.g. customers can be rude, always a mess - compulsory late shifts

    IKEA2020-01-16
  6. "High on Values big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Functional Food Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Package, working hours, constant renewal.

    Cons

    Making change can be infuriatingly slow and cumbersome.

    IKEA2020-01-13
  7. "Great People, Great Job, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Co-Worker in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are friendly and fun to work with, it's a real community feeling. The job can be stressful but on the whole it's fun and engaging.

    Cons

    Heavy focus on sales targets for co-workers, lots of tasks that are beyond our job descriptions. Hard to leave work and feel like you've left work as you have lots of additional responsibilities. Co-workers often are stressed due to poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on co-workers first, the sales will come after. Happy co-workers lead to better sales, not the other way around.

    IKEA2020-01-22
  8. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay bonuses Christmas presents Parties and Staff breakfasts

    Cons

    long hours rude customers

    Advice to Management

    motivate staff a bit more

    IKEA2020-01-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Co-Worker in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at IKEA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount on products Good hourly rate

    Cons

    Not always easy to get more hours

    IKEA2020-01-03
  10. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Storeman in Greenwich, England

    I worked at IKEA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working as a storeman as i learned many new skills

    Cons

    the management at the Ikea i worked at was terrible

    IKEA2019-12-30
Found 211 reviews
</>Embed