Improbable Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Improbable Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Improbable CEO Herman Narula
Herman Narula
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting tech company at an interesting inflection point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very interesting technological challenges and a great engineering led culture. There is lots of variety and challenge and I am continually pushed to learn new things. Incredibly smart people across the whole company. There is currently a sense of excitement and rapid growth, particularly with opening the new offices around the world. I would say the company has got past the growing pains of transitioning from...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is still quite a lot of separation between the Enterprise and the games side of the company, transparency and communication between both sides could definitely improve. The Enterprise business is still a lot less mature than the games side, and lacks experienced engineering managers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recruit experienced managers and senior engineers, to balance the large amount of more junior employees.

    Improbable2018-09-23

    Improbable Response

    October 19, 2018Talent Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Glassdoor. It is great to hear that you have had a positive experience working here and we hope that continues! Hiring more experienced talent is definitely one of our focus areas and something we are actively recruiting for at ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (7)

    "The people, culture and mission are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Improbable full-time

    Pros

    1. The company hires truly excellent people from all over the world. It meant I always felt like I was learning. 2. Upper management (inc. CEO and CTO) are all very accessible, and everyone is willing to hear you out - even if your ideas are far-fetched. Future thinking is encouraged. Hack in spare time on things you think will bring value. 3. Culture. You will have autonomy and you will be trusted to deliver....

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Diversity. The company is aware there is a lack of representation, however in my time there not much was done. Perhaps things were going on behind the scenes, but nothing was spoken about. 2. Product. Improbable is making strides in its proposition. 3. Room for growing within the company as a non-engineer is often unclear, but many people do get promoted and moved around. 4. No real multi-disciplinary teams....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I had only great experiences of management.

    Improbable2018-10-29
  3. Helpful (4)

    "The best place to work in the tech scene right now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's rare to find a company and with people in it so passionate and motivated to succeed. Senior management are not afraid to take accountability for actions and mistakes. Improbable has a genuine shot at changing society as we know it, and it's inspiring to be a part of it.

    Cons

    Communication is improving but still not the best at lower levels. Current office isn't great (But hopefully will be solved with the new one when we move)

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on internal communication paths across the company, it is vital to nail it.

    Improbable2018-07-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "One of the best startups in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Improbable full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Work on one of the most exciting tech challenges of the moment - Everyone is very approachable and I got to build strong bonds with a bunch of people - A clear vision and transparency on changes (town halls were the best!)

    Cons

    - It's a startup! Decisions will change (sometimes multiple times) and there will be constant pressure. Not a con per se, but make sure you are ready for it. - Work-life balance. Depending on the role, the unlimited vacation isn't always a reality. - The office's lack of sunlight is a problem.

    Advice to Management

    Foster the amazing team and don't let the latest rapid growth make you unapproachable. Be there to deliver, but be there for the team - manager or intern. A quick 2 minutes chat can mean a lot - and Herman does this very well!

    Improbable2018-02-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Seriously smart company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Team of incredibly talented and intelligent people from quality companies all over the world - Disruptive and innovative product - Morale is high, we've landed a lot of funding and are working towards impactful goals - Very flexible work environment - Good culture, lots of sociable people

    Cons

    - Growing incredibly fast with a first to market product, impossible to make the right decisions every time - Office could be nicer

    Improbable2017-09-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Exciting, dynamic start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great people, awesome product, terrific can-do culture. Really exciting Enterprise challenge - solving the world's hardest problems through cutting-edge technology

    Cons

    Basement office with Ikea furniture - but the best coffee and lunches and company in Farringdon

    Advice to Management

    Keep that start-up culture!

    Improbable2017-07-31
  7. Helpful (4)

    "The best of startup culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Enterprise Engineering in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I've been with Improbable for 18 months now and I've found it a fantastic place to work. After being involved in a number of startups over the years, I've never seen it done better in terms of culture, managing growth and overall focus, particularly within the Enterprise division. The energy in the room something I look forward to every day I come into the office.

    Cons

    The dynamic pace of business mught not be suitable for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the agility and culture as you grow

    Improbable2017-07-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Software engineering for Improbable's enterprise division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer, Enterprise in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Interesting problems to work on, freedom to innovate, encouraged to focus on self-improvement and skills development, fun culture with plenty of social opportunities, flexible working hours, generous work from home and holiday policy, a healthy work-life balance is encouraged, decent career progression opportunities, generally feel well looked after and supported to succeed.

    Cons

    Things can change rapidly at times, generating uncertainty and confusion. The office lacks natural light and generally has a bit of a bunker vibe.

    Advice to Management

    Generally, keep up the good work. If the company was moved to an office with a view and natural light, I'm sure it would payoff in terms of productivity and overall mood.

    Improbable2017-07-29
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Innovative startup with great office culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Stimulating environment and intriguing product - Great company culture - Good location - Delicious free breakfast and lunch - Smart employees who are humble and always willing to help - Lots of opportunity to learn

    Cons

    - Basement office with lack of sunlight :(

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work but let's make nice big windows a priority when we move into the new office!

    Improbable2017-07-23
  10. Helpful (25)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Improbable full-time

    Pros

    Food is nice and there is great talent in some departments. Pay is above average for London.

    Cons

    Frequent, meaningless, confusing changes. Even though Improbable is a startup that pretends to value individual contribution and transparency, things are simply decided behind closed doors and relayed to you. Humility is nowhere to be found except for "company values". Especially after the big investment. Day-to-day, company's operations are total chaos even for a startup (I worked at several before.). Internal...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the knee-jerk reactions. Embrace a more open culture, more grounded strategy. Don't ignore the weaknesses of Spatial OS and believe you can do it all. Rethink who you retain in management. Bring people who actually have experience.

    Improbable2017-07-12
Found 40 reviews