Irwin Mitchell Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Irwin Mitchell Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
36%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Irwin Mitchell CEO Andrew Tucker
Andrew Tucker
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not so much the work life balance more the mentality of those who’ve been there man and boy who(in 6 reviews)

  • "No progression for outstanding employees(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent legal firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Irwin Mitchell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flex working, diversity, well being; finacial results

    Cons

    technology not quite A+ yet but can see where we are going on that side and looks good

    Advice to Management

    invest more in back office functions

    Irwin Mitchell2019-08-12
  2. "Great people to work with but reluctant to develop junior staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in London, England

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, and good working hours Great colleagues Some good incentives and perks Interesting cases

    Cons

    Limited progression for paralegals High billable targets

    Irwin Mitchell2019-11-01
  3. "Stay away from the London office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tea bags, coffee and Robinson’s squash A few nice colleagues

    Cons

    -bad environment, very hierarchical -poor pay, but expect long hours in return -promises of progression are rarely fulfilled -you will become a human photocopier -lots of big ego’s you have to navigate your way around -speak to management about concerns but nothing ever changes

    Advice to Management

    I think it’s past the point of help

    Irwin Mitchell2019-11-14
  4. "Undervalued, underpaid, and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Irwin Mitchell full-time

    Pros

    Tea and coffee machine, mostly friendly colleagues, good step up in PI law

    Cons

    Partners/line managers care more about money than they do about ensuring the happiness and welfare of their teams. Staff are overworked and paid incredibly poorly. Flexible working for those under associate level is a myth. Paralegals are considered too "junior" to be trusted to work alone. Those who speak out and demand better treatment, or even suggest a small change, are ostracised and treated terribly by... managers, used as scapegoats and practically forced to hand in resignation letters. Certain senior staff members are well known for making junior staff cry and have a very negative affect on their mental health. Concerns that are raised are squashed and being treated poorly is considered "just a part of working at IM". IT systems are incredibly poor and purse strings are too tight to do anything about it. Overall, it is very disappointing because they are losing great people who do amazing, life-changing work, because they do not value their staff's well being nearly enough as they should.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on managing your team in an effective, supportive way. Increase base pay for paralegals and support staff or at least pay some overtime.

    Irwin Mitchell2019-10-22
  5. "Paralegal at Irwin Mitchell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice location to work , lots of people working there so you will definetrly make freinds, professional, busy and fast paced environment

    Cons

    pay really needs to improve, not justified for the work that is carried out and the hours you put in

    Irwin Mitchell2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not what you think for such an established Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLIENT EXPERIENCE EXPERT in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had decent benefits such as reduced cinema tickets, however most Companies have this including my current employer. Met good people there in the same Ship. Pity it was the Titanic

    Cons

    Where to begin.. - Bad salary in comparison with other Companies - No progression for outstanding employees - Favoritism (ties in with the above a very nepotistic work place) this is clearly seen

    Advice to Management

    Get yourselves on a manager training course in learning how to man manage/deal with people. Felt like the blind leading the blind

    Irwin Mitchell2019-09-12
  7. "Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time

    Pros

    Supportive immediate team Manchester office facilities were good Clear vision Working towards a transparent, inclusive and engaged culture Increasing commercial focus

    Cons

    Lots of internal politics Values promoted but not lived by senior leadership Leadership capability within PI inconsistent Fear to speak up

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the long term, practice the values, quash the politics

    Irwin Mitchell2019-08-28
  8. "Underpaid, undervalued, overworked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLIENT EXPERIENCE EXPERT in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Senior Management are level headed and want to push the business towards the right direction. - Frontline agents are kindhearted and endearing. - The vending machine has reasonably priced Pepsi Max

    Cons

    Do you want to work for a team rife with nepotism and egotistical line management? Do you strive to read pages upon pages of legal retainer to vulnerable clients multiple times a day ? Do you love to be thrown under the bus in order for your line manager to receive appraisal ? If you said yes to any of the above , this is the job for you ! If not , steer far, far clear. And then some. You will likely find... yourself to be a small cog in a large and poorly ran claims machine that needs a fair share of TLC.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Engage and empathise with your team , boost their morale and make them feel part of something of bigger. At the moment there is no such thing as a team in that workplace. Sort out the line management , maybe an external hire would do wonders, ideally someone with a good work ethic and acceptable personal hygiene.

    Irwin Mitchell2019-09-27
  9. "Be Support Staff Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Irwin Mitchell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The select few people who are an absolute pleasure to work with and express their appreciation for what the support team does on a daily basis. Pat Higgans, Anik Moyon, Nicola Clench and Juanita Cumberland are some of the most understanding, nurturing and fun people to work with. Other administrators tend to be likeminded and support each other through the lack of managerial assistance. The office... location is central and communicative.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where does one begin to describe working for the support team at Irwin Mitchell's London office? It is easily one of the most demoralising environments I've ever had the displeasure of working in. The administrators are continuously overlooked as valuable colleagues and spoken to with a condescending attitude from a number of fee earners on multiple levels. The notion widely championed by my line manager was... that this is a transitional role, which subsequently gave other staff members the understanding that we can be freely mistreated to no consequences. There is no sense of worry that the turnover for these roles is high and we are generally made to feel very expandable and unimportant. Any suggestion of improvement, any voicing of an issue or whistleblowing is shut down almost immediately with no follow-up or further discussion. Administrators are largely treated as though they are incapable of intelligent thought and dismissed when attempting to make a point. The line manager I reported to for the majority of my time here had made no attempt to connect with any members of the team she was meant to be leading. We are the last worry on anyone's mind, which is belittling and instals a sense of exclusion from the teams. Moreover, a large chunk of my time as an administrator was spent cleaning and tidying after solicitors and paralegals. There would always be an excuse, reinforced by my line manager, for solicitors and partners to abuse the purposes of the administrative staff. The administrators have a list of responsibilities, which is ignored across the board. Thus, we could be cleaners, bellboys, personal assistants, labour hands or couriers depending on the day. Administrators are made to be an easy target for blame on any occasion, because they are not protected by any of their superiors. We are disrespected, mistreated and misused most of our work days. The HR team in Sheffield was alerted to this and mentioned running my interview past my managers as feedback, which I have been exercising for months. The culture of political replies to valid and perhaps uncomfortable questions continues. If you are looking for a good administrative role that would allow you to get a foundation for further office experience - look elsewhere. This company is not worth your time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your support staff. I cannot emphasise this enough - there will continuously be a large turnover of administrators and teams will continue to struggle with their daily ad-hoc tasks because this area is wildly neglected. If the support team feels neglected, they will in turn neglect their work. By making the team passionate about their work, this will increase employee retention and productivity.

    Irwin Mitchell2019-09-26
  10. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CLIENT EXPERIENCE EXPERT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Irwin Mitchell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is great and quick easy, lovely people

    Cons

    Managers have secret convos about agents which is unprofessional, unfair dismissal’s, don’t give people second changes even though they tell you we will “support you”

    Advice to Management

    Need to be there more for you agents

    Irwin Mitchell2019-08-06
Found 87 reviews