Jacobs Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jacobs Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2531 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Jacobs CEO Steven Demetriou
Steven Demetriou
559 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "An unforgettable company and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acqusition Lead in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. I was at my happiest when I worked for Jacobs - truly inclusive, respectful, autonomous, excellent work - life balance, challenging but highly enjoyable working environment 2. Beyond Zero and culture of caring is truly world class and unlike anything I have ever experienced - it's a game changer for the company and a key part of their EVP 3. Working with the brightest minds in the industry has added value to my career...

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Management decision making is too US centric 2. Can be overtly political at times 3. Certain managers are not suited to the positions they hold - creating a disconnect with subordinates

    Advice to Management

    Break down the regional silos by allowing different regions more autonomy in decision making. Continue to build on the acquisition of CH2M. This could be on of the best companies to work for on the planet!

    Jacobs2019-02-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Jacobs as a graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Civil Engineer in Reading, England

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - free parking and life + medical insurance

    Cons

    Haven't been there long enough to say

    Jacobs2019-06-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very, very good and very, bery poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Health & Safety Culture Salary & Benefits are typical Good office location Big projects and lots of work (currently)

    Cons

    Many of the Senior Management are risk averse to the point of atrophy. Globally IT support is appalling Specialised training is difficult to fund Sweeping redundancies during downturns that make little sense

    Advice to Management

    When provided with thoroughly researched business cases for training initiatives or business ideas - don't approach looking to immediately reject as being "too risky" just because you don't understand the content.

    Jacobs2019-06-13
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work

    Cons

    There are not many cons

    Jacobs2019-06-04
  5. "Friendly , dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marine Ecologist in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly , dynamic , big projects to work on

    Cons

    Salary not fair within and between grades with new graduates paid far better in relation to salaries of more experienced senior incumbent staff

    Advice to Management

    Do not ignore the loyal , long serving staff and reward them over attracting “ new talent “ that talent already exists most likely in the company

    Jacobs2019-06-16
  6. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Environment colleagues career progression location networking

    Cons

    Salary, career progression at more senior level

    Jacobs2019-05-28
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lean Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Very caring managers

    Cons

    Offices not easily accessible such as winnersh

    Advice to Management

    Love the company's culture

    Jacobs2019-05-29
  8. "Worldwide company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical CAD 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Continous professional development is offered, worldwide company, opportunities for transfer/secondment.

    Cons

    Management top heavy and not very responsive to staff needs

    Advice to Management

    Be responsive to staff needs, appropriate staff recognition for those who deliver expections, undue recognition of corporate networking.

    Jacobs2019-06-01
  9. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere at the workplace, they do take their culture of caring initiative seriously, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Very little in terms of additional benefits

    Jacobs2019-05-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate Environmental Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Jacobs full-time

      Pros

      Good experience on a multitude of different infrastructure projects Kind people and culture

      Cons

      Not enough communication regarding international secondments.

      Jacobs2019-04-03
    Found 2531 reviews