Jacobs Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jacobs Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jacobs CEO Steven Demetriou
Steven Demetriou
639 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Transport Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transport Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture and internal atmosphere

    Cons

    a b c d e

    Jacobs2019-10-14
  2. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer 

    I worked at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for; a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Things can be slowed down and massed up due to huge system

    Jacobs2019-11-19
  3. "Long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting, varied workload. Cares about staff.

    Cons

    Pay is perhaps not as good as elsewhere!

    Jacobs2019-11-18
  4. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everything really good and like the company very much.

    Cons

    nothing really i can tell that it is bad

    Jacobs2019-11-11
  5. "Average!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Senior leadership seem to have a will to improve things to better level

    Cons

    Some employees in London office are a bit reluctant about collaborating or working with whom who are not of Similar background, gender etc...orientation andaccent (you can notice this is at lunch time in a hub, work utilisations, job tasks etc…); this is quiet an area which needs improvement.

    Advice to Management

    inclusion a lot of work to be donne

    Jacobs2019-11-05
  6. "Systems engineer in rail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Good location and offices, variety of jobs

    Cons

    Unpredictability and low salary, projects could be anywhere

    Jacobs2019-11-01
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Director 

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time

    Pros

    Positive environment, nice people, supportive

    Cons

    Bureacratic, too much process, underpays

    Jacobs2019-11-13
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company with lots of interesting projects. The opportunities are there if you push for them.

    Cons

    Progression can be slow if joining as a graduate.

    Advice to Management

    Actively promote from within, rather than externally.

    Jacobs2019-10-28
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jacobs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work culture was good and decent pay

    Cons

    Work life balance could have been better

    Jacobs2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Painstaking H&S requirements but good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jacobs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am lucky to be in a smaller office with a great environment, and opportunities to get good work and develop are great. Also, being such a large international firm there are opportunities abroad and the ability to relocate within the company are plentiful.

    Cons

    The H&S standards set out by the company at times verge on ridiculous - e.g. they replaced the kitchen knives with plastic ones. There is a lot of planning and paperwork to fill in for the quickest site visit. I guess it is hard to fault a company for 'caring' for your welfare but it also seems somewhat like a corporate front where they just don't want to get sued. Again, due to the large size of the company... and the fact that it is made up of several other companies which have 'merged' (read:taken over) by Jacobs, the global style of management is somewhat dysfunctional, as all the same policies etc. apply for a small local 6 person office as a 1000 employee design centre. Also cultural clashes are sometimes apparent with most of the company policies coming from the USA which is not necessarily always quite so easy to digest in e.g. UK or Europe at least.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My home office: fantastic, caring, professional people. Globally: Ease off with the corporate propaganda, perhaps consider different management styles depending on office size and location.

    Jacobs2019-11-08
Found 2730 reviews