Liberty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Liberty Reviews

Updated 30 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Liberty CEO Adil Khan (no image)
Adil Khan
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Head office managers bully people below them and new ideas are not openly accepted(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours, poor work life balance(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Assistant, Retail in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love working at Liberty. I have never worked anywhere else that has such a diverse culture. Everyone is friendly that I work with, and there is a great team spirit. I love how no one is number and everyone is known by their name and matters, no matter what their job role is. It definitely makes a difference in the work place. Also working in such a beautiful building and surrounded by unique and... special edits - it's an absolute joy.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have down sides to working at Liberty.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening and making their employees feel appreciated.

    Liberty2019-07-29
  2. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want to work like sales assistant in English topical place liberty is perfect for you

    Cons

    It is a department store that forgot the assistete sell

    Liberty2019-08-30
  3. "great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Own Brand in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    its a great team and you learn a lot

    Cons

    unfair on workload- no reviewing system

    Advice to Management

    make the reviews count. Give goals to achieve

    Liberty2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "An Outstanding Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. The Team: My current team at Liberty is fantastic. It's an environment that supports and uplifts one another, something that can be really hard to find! I feel like my managers genuinely care about me. 2. The Opportunities: Even though I have only been at Liberty a few months I have already received an outstanding about of developmental support from my managers. Everything from day-to-day development tasks all... the way up to professional training courses. Most company's only invest in you after a year of service so it's been incredible to have so much put into me after only a few months. 3. The Brand - I love the products we have through and through. It feels great to work for a company where you can really love the product and have faith in the company's future. 4. Generosity - Liberty offers generous salaries and even more generous incentives and extras. For example, store discount and agile working hours have a really big impact on out-of-work life too. I have been really impressed so far.

    Show More

    Cons

    It may sound cliche, but I have very few complaints, I just adore working here. Sometimes the lift breaks but I guess it's good exercise for me to walk the stairs occasionally anyway!

    Advice to Management

    Keep things amazing!

    Liberty2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good culture lovely brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All staff are very passionate about the brand and there is always something innovative and exciting happening.

    Cons

    There could be more facilities for staff to have breaks in and there is room for the communication channels to be improved from the business.

    Liberty2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England

    I worked at Liberty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is in a really exciting period of growth especially in terms of the current Retail climate. Fun & collaborative Head Office environment, with plenty of opportunity to have your opinions and ideas heard by senior level management!

    Cons

    Not many! Some systems are a little dated.

    Liberty2019-07-29
  7. "‘Us’ and ‘them’ culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount and uniform. Variety of products. Team members.

    Cons

    The majority of head office associates are rude, condescending and ignorant to the struggles of working on the shop floor. Too many levels of management with little transparency as to what responsibilities each hold. Uncomfortable temperatures, poor lighting, little praise unless you’re a shark making money.

    Advice to Management

    Sales do not equal valuable members of staff. Incentives need to incentivise the whole team not simply the ones who can check out the quickest. Air con and lighting needs to be fixed as a priority because temperatures in store become unbearable.

    Liberty2019-07-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good incentive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Liberty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok, commission makes it worthwhile. Uniform is simple.

    Cons

    Some unrealistic targets but overall good department management - don't know about other departments

    Liberty2019-06-25
  9. "HR racist. Bullying and harassment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great location and brand heritage. Beautiful historical building.

    Cons

    The HR team is racist, they harassed and bullied me with mean comments and verbal abuse. They asked me ilegal questions related with sexuality, religion, relationships and private information. I would not recommend to work for this company unless the HR department will change.

    Advice to Management

    I would advise to the Ceo of the company to change the HR team. It's important to guarantee that integrity, equality and fundamental rights are respected in the place of work.

    Liberty2019-07-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best team I ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Working for a great heritage brand - Amazing colleagues in HQ - E-commerce team were great to work with - Worked on great creative, campaigns, very integrated - Great Location - workwear and staff discount was generous

    Cons

    - Other teams didn't appreciate processes and best practise - Demanding and unorganised directors, need to plan better! - Too many cooks

    Advice to Management

    Mostly had an amazing experience working there, but my team was led by incredible people at the top. Other directors should take note! Happy teams are productive teams.

    Liberty2019-05-22
Found 101 reviews