Macmillan Cancer Support Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Macmillan Cancer Support Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Macmillan Cancer Support CEO Lynda Thomas
Lynda Thomas
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "structures in work as with any large charity(in 30 reviews)

  • "Poorly thought out decisions are being made by senior management(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Kind, passionate people working for a great cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Kind, supportive people and a strong sense of connection to a wonderful cause. Great development opportunities and an excellent benefits package for the charity sector. Although everyone works hard, work-life balance is still prioritised with a progressive approach to flexible working (for most people - more could be done to ensure this is the case for all).

    Cons

    My own personal experience has been excellent, but Macmillan has grown a lot in recent years, and it has sometimes struggled to adapt to that growth - there are some laborious processes and outdated systems that need to be replaced. Although we need to adapt to a changing external environment, there is an overemphasis on restructuring, and the restructures have been very damaging to morale in some areas. Although equality, diversity and inclusion has been prioritised much more recently, it hasn’t yet led to a more diverse workforce (particularly at a senior management level).

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great cause, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support

    Pros

    Worthwhile cause and great people - I've been lucky enough to have worked with really supportive and talented colleagues during my time at Macmillan There's an increasing emphasis on internal moves, so if you want it there is opportunity to progress and develop your skills and career (certainly within London) Flexible working Competitive pay compared to similar roles in the sector

    Cons

    Lack of diversity Changes to teams affecting morale of some areas Performance management could be improved

    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-22
  3. "Toxic, Uncaring, Don't believe the marketing that they listen to staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great cause Many, many excellent, experienced, capable and committed staff

    Cons

    Terrible CEO and Exec Team - they just look after themselves and DO NOT LISTEN (even though they say they do) Small group of top level execs rule the roost and do not care about the workforce Exec team has little experience in this sector (Telecommunications, Car paint-spraying etc) Lots and lots of wasted fund-raised money

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior management are making poor decisions & unwilling to listen to front line staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The cause is valuable and many of the people are dedicated to helping people with cancer. They work far beyond their hours to get the job done well and have lots of brilliant ideas and passion.

    Cons

    Poorly thought out decisions are being made by senior management. Major changes are taking place in one large directorate that will be detrimental to other directorates, but no-one senior seems to realise this or care. Front-line staff that flag the lack of risk assessment and mitigation are told decisions in other directorates are none of their business, and they should stop complaining. It's hard to see poor decisions made without the right people being consulted, knowing it will hurt people with cancer in the end. More and more jobs (and powers) are being centralised in London, despite Macmillan saying it understands and respects devolution in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland , and the increasing devolution in England. It doesn't. It thinks London is the centre of the world and very senior staff don't seem to understand the importance of the devolved governments.

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Bad organisation and getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - London Based 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Still a great cause Flexible working to some degree

    Cons

    Executive team who do not function at this level Chief Executive who needs to surround herself with Chiefs - need more people on the ground

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-14
  6. "1 Pro vs Many, Many Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements available (e.g. 9 day fortnight)

    Cons

    No autonomy, siloed working, dated technology and software used, development of skills non-existent, particularly with regards to software little appetite to introduce new thinking, very slow and bottleneck decision-making (no delegation to more appropriate members of staff to make decisions), teams lack having clear identities and visions, as a result team members teams do not understand their own roles or how these roles should work with others (e.g. governance and responsibilities are rarely understood), change fatigue across large areas of the charity, lack of trust in senior management due to poor communication and inconsistent decision-making Hierarchical structure, bloated with middle management role

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Feel close to the cause and impact of work is tangible - Good benefits for a charity sector role (e.g. private healthcare, renumeration at top end) - Feel like senior level leadership is strong and there is an increase in pace and drive to achieve new targets and initiatives – period of change to get to the right outcomes and sense of ambition - Some really talented staff who are experts in their field and want to do their best work

    Cons

    - Too much process – overly complicated to get relatively simple and straightforward tasks completed and some process feels very unnecessary and old fashioned. - Complex organisation to navigate – it is not always clear where responsibility lies for certain projects and work - Under resourced in certain areas but appreciated this will be resolved after major change programmes are resolved.

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2019-12-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sad organisation, toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macmillan Cancer Support for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Good cause and some passionate staff

    Cons

    Indecision, nothing gets done without loads spent on strategy people and non-jobs, external consultants and research companies - professional experience is not valued here Suffocating, bureaucratic and slow Org change programme is a mess. So much money wasted and more lately as people are paid off to go - sickening waste of charitable donations Toxic culture, anxious people and tough environment. Not a place to work if you value your wellbeing

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2019-12-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not the organisation it pretends to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good views from the office window. A small handful of nice staff.

    Cons

    I have been through organisational change twice, the first time was at the same time my dad was diagnosed with brain cancer. When I told a director in my consultation meeting that the time Macmillan were due to make my role redundant was the same month my dad was due to die, he shrugged and said it wasn’t their problem. This organisation does not care about people who are affected by cancer, it’s driven by policy and rules rather than caring for the people it employs. I was forced to take a days unpaid leave for a dads funeral as my compassionate leave ended the day before (Christmas time is a very difficult time to fit in funerals). My dad died of brain cancer, so this should have been something they understood. I had a line manager who had very little interest in the work I was doing, two years went by and I didn’t have a written up development meeting. As time went on and the loss of two family members within 3 months my mental health took a turn for the worse and after a period of time off work. On drs advice I should have had a phased return to work. I was offered half a day. They do not care. Too much organisational change and very little understanding of the effect this has on moral and ability to deliver change that is needed for professionals and people affected by cancer. The organisational change is very short sighted and Macmillan will see that they have fallen behind other charities, for example removing the physical activity team and the money and cancer team. These are services that people need. Due to all the change, moral is very low therefore the office is a sad and depressing place to spend 8hours a day.

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2020-01-11

    Macmillan Cancer Support Response

    January 27, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry and shocked to hear about your experiences and the lack of compassion you were met with during such a difficult time. As an organisation we work hard to put people with cancer at the heart of everything we do and the treatment you describe is quite clearly unacceptable. We’d like to investigate this properly, if you could contact us at Glassdoor@macmillan.org.uk with more information or to organise a time for us to discuss this over the phone. I’m not sure when you were working here, but at the beginning of last year we introduced ‘Macmillan at Work’ training for every manager, to make sure everyone with line management responsibilities has the skills and tools they need to fully support any of our employees with - or that are affected by - cancer. I hope this means we can be absolutely certain that no one else will have an experience like yours. I’d also like to reassure that we take the mental health of our employees incredibly seriously. At the end of last year we signed the Time To Change Pledge and as part of this we reviewed the support we have available. We want to make sure everyone working here feels encouraged and empowered to prioritise their wellbeing, which is why we have Wellbeing Champions and Mental Health First Aiders across the organisation, as well as a dedicated Safeguarding Team and our Employee Assistance Programme, to name just a few of the types of support that are free for our employees to use as they need to.

    Continue reading
  10. "Wish it could have been different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vauxhall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macmillan Cancer Support full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The cause is undoubtedly a good one and it does have a brilliant external reputation meaning you do get impressive access to significant networks and influencers. Many of the people are v friendly and there are great people to work alongside, many of whom are bright, experienced and passionate.

    Cons

    The actual environment is so different to how you imagine it will be at Head Office, with office space that has to be among the least effective at creating a coherent or happy organisation. The office space may be more affordable and I understand why therefore the charity rents it, but it is creaking and really too hot in summer and too cold in winter. There were significant works on the Thames outside that sometimes caused the building to shake and yet HR never treated this as a health and safety issue or looked at how to promote rota- based or home working during these major works. There are far too many constant changes to structures and arguably not enough clarity for incoming members of staff that this is the environment they are being introduced into. It caused me wellbeing issues. The directorate I worked in always struggled for a clear identity within an organisation that seems to be built around competing, not collaborative, directorates (at least at executive management level). Our Executive Director who was very popular and impressive seemed to go very quickly, and much of the directorate she headed is being reshaped. There may be some valid strategic reasons for this, but there is a question about the degree to which recruitment to that directorate should have taken place in the past two years, when its future seemed so badly in doubt. It was such a shame as I really wanted it to be a positive experience.

    Continue reading
    Macmillan Cancer Support2019-12-20
Found 194 reviews