Maplin Electronics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Maplin Electronics Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 271 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Maplin Electronics CEO Oliver Meakin
Oliver Meakin
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really good fun loving job for any techie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before coming to Maplin I wanted to pass my technology knowledge on to others and Maplin gave me the best platform to do that. The best thing was having a team that had individual specialities that you could learn off to better yourself and that is one of the best things about it.

    Cons

    Repititve music in the store almost always but O can live with that bit

    Advice to Management

    More support for newer colleagues as I felt I was a bit rushed through my training process.

    Maplin Electronics2019-06-28
  2. "Underpaid job, but enjoyable if you like technology and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maplin attracted a wide variety of people, so it was good working with others. Quite regular hours, started a 09:00 and finished at 18:00, with one hour break. Getting to learn and use the latest equipment that was coming out was fun.

    Cons

    Underpaid for the level of customer service and technical knowledge that was required. Had to do unpaid overtime when we didn't sort the store out before we shut. Had to deal with a lot of difficult customers.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and promote from within to keep a hold of the good members of staff. Go through appraisals and observations more often

    Maplin Electronics2019-07-10
  3. "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was fortunate to have great Managers and Regional Managers throughout my time int he business. I really grew as a person and developed skills to a high calibre.

    Cons

    Rutland sank the company and purpose.

    Advice to Management

    Difficult at the begining but communicate with your peers and you'll be fine.

    Maplin Electronics2019-06-24
  4. "Miss the people and the work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, new tech, fantastic customer service.

    Cons

    Pay could have been better

    Maplin Electronics2019-06-07
  5. "Maplin pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly easy job to undertake whilst studying

    Cons

    pay-customers-price of products and many other things

    Maplin Electronics2019-07-09
  6. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in New Malden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great staff, friendly manager, flexible hours

    Cons

    rude customers, a-lot of theft and no career progression

    Advice to Management

    more career progression

    Maplin Electronics2019-05-28
  7. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Taunton, England

    I worked at Maplin Electronics

    Pros

    Good people, got lots of experience with tech and service

    Cons

    Weird short shifts, very quiet so got boring

    Maplin Electronics2019-05-08
  8. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time

    Pros

    The staff are nice and the work is engaging

    Cons

    The pay is a little low

    Maplin Electronics2019-05-14
  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, nice working environment with helpful and knowledgeable staff.

    Cons

    Not a busy retail environment so stores were very quiet.

    Maplin Electronics2019-05-09
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics part-time

    Pros

    Easy job. customer focused. long breaks

    Cons

    pay isn't great. management

    Maplin Electronics2019-04-03
Found 271 reviews