Maplin Electronics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Maplin Electronics Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Maplin Electronics CEO Oliver Meakin
Oliver Meakin
68 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really good fun loving job for any techie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before coming to Maplin I wanted to pass my technology knowledge on to others and Maplin gave me the best platform to do that. The best thing was having a team that had individual specialities that you could learn off to better yourself and that is one of the best things about it.

    Cons

    Repititve music in the store almost always but O can live with that bit

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2019-06-28
  2. "Old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Rotherham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people working for what once was a great company

    Cons

    bad management with dumb ideas and an ability to spend money like water

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2020-02-12
  3. "Absolute joke of a company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Brilliant team (that are no longer showing up for work!)

    Cons

    Haven't been paid in over a year now, stock isn't coming in anymore, customers think we've closed down!?

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2020-01-27
  4. "Shame they went under"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Hamilton, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great friendly coworkers. Low pressure sales

    Cons

    Out of touch with consumers Organisational nightmare

    Maplin Electronics2019-12-19
  5. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have a job which pays you

    Cons

    management and everything else hence why its closed down

    Maplin Electronics2019-10-02
  6. "Sorry to Go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Manager 

    I have been working at Maplin Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Great store staff Good Staff discount

    Cons

    Like for like sales targets not always achievable middle managers power hungry

    Maplin Electronics2019-08-02
  7. "Great team, terrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Southampton, England

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely loved my time at Maplin because of my team. Everyone got along and became friends including managers.

    Cons

    Upper management (CEO, directors etc) drove the company to the ground with their bad business decisions.

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2019-07-31
  8. "Ok as quick cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Usually allow to choose hours

    Cons

    Managers seem to think their kings, too much power.

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2019-08-02
  9. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being around tech was nice

    Cons

    Not a good work life balance Poorly ran, constantly shoving targets down your throat Minimum wage (would probably pay you less if they could)

    Maplin Electronics2019-08-13
  10. "Underpaid job, but enjoyable if you like technology and customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maplin Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maplin attracted a wide variety of people, so it was good working with others. Quite regular hours, started a 09:00 and finished at 18:00, with one hour break. Getting to learn and use the latest equipment that was coming out was fun.

    Cons

    Underpaid for the level of customer service and technical knowledge that was required. Had to do unpaid overtime when we didn't sort the store out before we shut. Had to deal with a lot of difficult customers.

    Continue reading
    Maplin Electronics2019-07-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 279 reviews