Matalan Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Matalan Retail Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 475 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Matalan Retail CEO Jason Hargreaves
Jason Hargreaves
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% discount from day you start(in 36 reviews)

  • "Friendly atmosphere, salary above minimum wage, staff discount(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Do so much work but only get paid minimum wage(in 64 reviews)

  • "No notice when they update the rota last minute either(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Assistant Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment, modern offices, supportive and focuses on your development.

    Cons

    Salary is quite low compared to competitors.

    Matalan Retail2019-08-16
  2. "The perfect working environment that's ahead of the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Specialist in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - People, people, people. The people at Matalan are fantastic, friendly, intelligent and creative. I adore my colleagues. - Culture: there is a strong family culture that is more than just a word in the values. Everyone is helpful regardless of “title”. I’ve not experienced a place like this before. People hold the door open, they smile at each other and it’s not uncommon to hear laughter. I’ve made some great friends...

    Show More

    Cons

    - In all honesty, I do not have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    - We have an inspiring strategy and I feel confident in our management.

    Matalan Retail2019-08-14
  3. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GSA in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management, nice environment, possibility to have overtime

    Cons

    The hourly payment is the minimum wage

    Matalan Retail2019-08-14
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Bilston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Every shift is different

    Cons

    No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, happy staff work better.

    Matalan Retail2019-08-12
  5. "Friendly staff and customers all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Matalan Retail part-time

    Pros

    Staff are all friendly and there is always something to do

    Cons

    Minimum wage which is only £4.05 for a 16 year old

    Matalan Retail2019-08-10
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sutton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - lovely colleagues - fast-paced environment -there are always things left to do

    Cons

    - rude customers...although you tend to get them everywhere haha - low pay.......£5.94 18+ or £4.20.......17 and below

    Advice to Management

    - prioritize customers - always give 100% - make sure you leave things spotless to encourage increased sales

    Matalan Retail2019-08-04
  7. "Good stepping stone into retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Reasonable shift times, good breaks

    Cons

    Hours started to decrease, wages

    Advice to Management

    If someone is struggling with mental health they need to try and understand the problem better and try make adjustments where necessary.

    Matalan Retail2019-08-17
  8. "Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Matalan Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good short shifts , friendly co workers

    Cons

    Low pay especially if under 20 , lots of overtime

    Matalan Retail2019-08-13
  9. "I miss this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Bedford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Matalan Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly family working environment Always something to do Every day is different

    Cons

    Pay Hours Sometimes boring Music

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice keep doing what you do ❤️

    Matalan Retail2019-07-29
  10. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Matalan Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open to new ways of working, friendly people, great facilities, free onsite car parking, fast paced,

    Cons

    Not much near to head office eg restaurants/shops/gyms

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging cross functional, new ways of working.

    Matalan Retail2019-07-16
Found 475 reviews