MediaMath Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MediaMath Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
MediaMath CEO Joe Zawadzki
Joe Zawadzki
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is also a major draw card; the work environment is very flexible(in 59 reviews)

  • "Amazing collection of smart people, focused on a common goal(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "All good problems - the company is growing so quickly that the dynamic environment can be hard to manage(in 14 reviews)

  • "Growing pains, recent re-organization led to more politics in inter-group relations;(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Mediamath London review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment, experienced colleagues, opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    No cons for the company

    Advice to Management

    -

    MediaMath2019-01-24
  2. "Downward trend in employee growth and retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership is not decentralised and so are the growth opportunities in regions outside the US.

    Cons

    Heavy Top Management and very US-oriented

    MediaMath2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A great cause that is well worth fighting for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities to work supporting top tier clients around the world and live the vision to transform the global media buying industry; giving advertisers global insight into the returns from their money spent across advertising channels; enabling the move away from buying cheap and or buying blind clicks; instead deciding when and where to show an ad only ever based on what is going to drive actual business... results.

    Show More

    Cons

    Difficult and sometimes not profitable for MediaMath (short-term) always doing the right thing for advertisers in the face of market gorillas and the legacy industry players. Conversely, many legacy players perpetuate the disinformation; keeping data siloed and true performance hidden; with the aim of hiding greater margins.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being honest with yourselves and the employees about where we actually are on the journey.

    MediaMath2019-03-08
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great recruitment process and onboarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was approached by a member of the recruitment team who explained the role to me without being salesy. Expectations, responsibilities, and challenges were clear and the role sounded very exciting; so here I was, ready for the interview rounds. Right before the final interview stage, I had to undergo an emergency surgery with an undefined period of recovery ahead. The recruitment team and the hiring manager showed... great compassion and understanding when I decided to put my health first and no longer pursue the opportunity. Little I knew that people at MM are amazing and after a few weeks someone in the recruitment team checked in to see how I was doing and how my recovery was progressing. Long story short I was recovering well and before I knew I had my final interview booked in and got the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    MediaMath is a complex organisation that has grown fast and its communication structure, processes, and procedures are still playing catch up. Not sure this is much of a cons as it’s more an opportunity for everyone to shape the company they are working for.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to make sure that your vision is clear at all levels of the org and your departmental leadership/management drive that vision further across the company

    MediaMath2018-04-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MediaMath full-time

    Pros

    - free food in kitchens - bread, milk, eggs, snacks, free drinks vending machine - yearly bonus after review -paid phone bill and health care -free bar in ofice

    Cons

    - very casual environment - dress code

    MediaMath2018-03-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with clear vision of the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning curve on programmatic world. Colleagues very supportive and helpful. Nice atmosphere and culture.

    Cons

    Salary could be better, Team resourcing should be taken in consideration as well, as sometimes teams are going strength to strength to deliver.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep to good talents in house and not just let them go.

    MediaMath2018-02-28
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Get in and get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President, Strategy Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free Lunches on Fridays - Free breakfast and an abundance of milk - Massages (if you have no work on and can respond to the email fast enough) - Monthly Free drinks at the Phoenix - You will be thrown in the deep end so you will get exposed to a wide range of clients - If you want a trip to New York or another office you can go there with a limp excuse - Very loose and carefree attitude amongst all employees

    Cons

    - Terrible pay and raises - Waves of people leaving the company / restructuring - No clear career progression, you'll probably report into someone in New York who will come into the office at 10-11am local time - Top heavy organisation , the list of VP's are endless here. - Low employee retention resulting in low morale for the office overall - Very poor HR Team overall

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the employees and sort out the morale

    MediaMath2017-03-10

    MediaMath Response

    March 23, 2017Managing Director, EMEA

    I’m sorry to hear you feel this way – the criticisms that you make are indicative of a bad individual experience with your team and supervisors, but do not reflect the values, culture, or actual practices of the company today. Concerning team organization, most of our teams in the UK (or anywhere) have local leaders that are accountable for projects, so each member has the ability to make decisions quickly and move on them as well as the collegiality and resources of a globally scaled company. We have twice annual review and promotion cycles, a career planning programme, management training and culture club. Like a lot of companies in our space, we need to be ready to shift priorities and projects quickly as the conditions in our industry evolve. It is a style not suited to everyone, but is a great place for someone that is bright, creative and assertive in any situation. - Dave

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Still a fan of MediaMath"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, people, flexibility, small company yet huge clients, leader in the market

    Cons

    pay below market, management not always on top of everything

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees; especially from the teams with the higher turnover; prevent them from leaving offering an actually competitive salary

    MediaMath2016-10-05
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MediaMath

    Pros

    Great team and work-life balance

    Cons

    Restructuring may have impacted morales.

    Advice to Management

    At a risk of losing talents

    MediaMath2016-09-25
  10. Helpful (6)

    "A fair place to work with local ability to overcome immediate challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MediaMath full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An excellent work-life balance for those that want it - advocacy of working remotely truly encouraged via accountability. Local management are doing so well in view of a prescribed framework and should be commended for dealing with challenges not of their own making.

    Cons

    IMO, some priorities need to be shifted around for the greater good. Often felt that (only in some cases!) those with a trans-atlantic reporting line could be accused of letting local colleagues down.

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting the good fight for greater autonomy and responsibility. Some truly talented people have left through frustrations and more are sure to follow - but I have every confidence in the skilled local senior management to make things work.

    MediaMath2016-06-16
Found 302 reviews