Merlin Entertainments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
156 Ratings
Pros
  • "20 free tickets to attractions globally(in 25 reviews)

  • "Convenient location, good benefits, always helpful when unsure what to do(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet & a little cliquey(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    An excellent global company with a strong vision and values. There are so many opportunities to develop a career at Merlin and make a difference. The company cares for its employees and is focused on developing their employees, increasing diversity and inclusiveness and creating memorable experiences for their guests. There are also great perks, such as free tickets to the attractions worldwide!

    Cons

    Merlin needs to fast track its technology advancements and embrace change on a global level.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-02-26

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    March 20, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi! Thanks so much for this lovely review, it's great to see that our employees feel appreciated and allowed to grow and develop as professionals. It's true the world around us is changing so rapidly, keeping up with new technological trends is high on our agenda moving forward!

  2. "Happy but poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    Great people, nice benefits in regards to tickets and discounts, good atmosphere

    Cons

    Low wages, hard for entry level to move up

    Advice to Management

    Make management courses open to all pay grades so people get opportunity to move up

    Merlin Entertainments2019-05-09

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi! Thanks for recommending Merlin as a great place to work :) Your suggestion about management courses will be passed on to our L&D team - thanks!

  3. "Merlin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time

    Pros

    Lots of people from all walks of life

    Cons

    More like a rrality tv show than place of work

    Merlin Entertainments2019-05-15

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    We're glad you met so many different people during your time with us - hope to see you again!

  4. "Fine at the mid ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ride Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

    Pros

    Lovely working at the midways (the dungeons, shrek) but the theme parks aren’t great. If your not friends with the managers you will suffer.

    Cons

    The theme parks are very clicky

    Merlin Entertainments2019-04-30

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi there! Thanks for recommending Merlin. Great to hear you had a good experience with our Midway attractions, I'm sure they loved having you too!

  5. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time

      Pros

      Convenient location, good benefits, always helpful when unsure what to do

      Cons

      Just ok pay but not great, and lunch is short

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-22

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thanks for recommending us! It means a lot. We're really glad you feel supported in your position, and benefits are always a nice bonus!

    • "Good starter role but glass ceiling for those with ambition"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      20 free tickets to attractions globally Bonus annually Good socialising opportunities with staff Interesting days at work

      Cons

      Poor pay for the amount of hours and work Poor progression opportunities Lack of investment in staff to see them stay in the company would rather them leave and recruit externally

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the middle management team more instead of dismissing issues easily. Invest in management not just operations managers but those lower level and actively show interest in their development. Discontent is the main cause of a person leaving and the attraction was rife with it.

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-25

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with Merlin! Your advice will be taken forward into the next review: we know we aren't perfect, but we're working on it! Hope to see you again soon, as a customer or a staff member!

    • "Not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Windsor, South East England, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great people, Great fun, everyday different!

      Cons

      Long hours, Sometimes difficult people

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-06

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      April 10, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Hi there, Thanks for the review! We do it all for the love of fun so it's great to hear that you're having your fair share :D We really appreciate all that you do so thank you.

    • "Great company - but run on a tight budget"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Very creative company with amazing brands - with the customer truly at heart of the business.

      Cons

      Times are tough right now and everything is run on a shoe string budget

      Advice to Management

      Need to truly invest in the brands and in attractions - as well as in good people in order to retain the best ones!

      Merlin Entertainments2019-03-25

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      April 10, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Hi there, It's great to see that our staff members recognise the efforts we put in to make sure that everything we do is for the love of fun, and for the enjoyment of our customers. Thanks for continuing to play an important role in bringing that fun to people of all ages, you're ...

      Show More
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Global opportunities, strong and positive culture, engaged leaders

      Cons

      Quick growth can mean systems struggle to keep pace

      Merlin Entertainments2019-03-13

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      March 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Hi there, Thanks for your review and for recommending us as a great place to work! We hope that you enjoy working for us as much as we enjoy having you in the team :)

    • "Rides"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Amazing colleagues and team spirit

      Cons

      Horrendous management and disgusting work life balance

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-15
    Found 332 reviews