Merlin Entertainments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free Tickets and other discounts(in 34 reviews)

  • "Its a nice place to work friendly good benefits and a good corporate culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes given to us(in 32 reviews)

  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loving the Magic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - H R Administrator in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoying working with merlin and making a difference!!

    Cons

    Salary could be a slightly better.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-10-31
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work colleagues - a lot of fun

    Cons

    Sometimes not enough staff available

    Merlin Entertainments2020-01-18
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fastrack Host 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very fun nice people flexible hours

    Cons

    Bad pay, sometimes lack of hours

    Merlin Entertainments2020-01-16
  4. "Good place short term or for students / not as full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun Good breaks Social hours Merlin pass and benefits

    Cons

    Busy Put under pressure frequently

    Merlin Entertainments2020-01-19
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people /employees are great to work with

    Cons

    Work benefits are not the most rewarding from a personal perspective

    Merlin Entertainments2020-01-03
  6. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience Host in Birmingham, England

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and fun environment.

    Cons

    low pay and not paid extra for being a ride operator.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-12-20
  7. "For the love of fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Team Leader in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team Supportive Team Career Progression Free Tickets and other discounts Lots of fun Positive environment Low staff turnover in the department so team like a family Staff and family events Staff recognition Staff incentives

    Cons

    Hourly rate not great in comparison to similar jobs ( but I’m not there for the money )

    Advice to Management

    Whilst I love my job and love working here, sometimes the nights team don’t get recognised so much and we miss out on a lot of the staff offers / incentives due them being in the day etc.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-26
  8. "Magical escapism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Host in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with an exciting company with so many different job roles I can choose if I decide the role I'm currently in isn't for me. Meeting new people everyday from all over the world. Seeing regular guests and makes friends with them.

    Cons

    0 hour contract Closes 3 weeks in January so don't have many hours which makes me need to get another job. Only does guest obsessed when peak when we should do it everyday especially when we are quite in the hotels. Should do team obsessed more to motivate the staff considering we are either working 6 days weeks or 1/2 days a week so struggling to make ends meet. Should offer free buses or taxis to work considering we are always hiring and needing staff, at the end of the day if you have no staff or short staffed due to staff unable to get to work it is affecting our guests which is affecting our business. When receiving feedback from staff actually listen to it and try to act upon it! Don't just say, do as well. Feed the staff, allow the staff to eat the leftover food that is going to get binned at the end of service even if it's for a cost, that way staff wouldn't feel the need to steal the food or beverage ( let us have drinks e.g hot drinks, soft drinks like juice cheap things)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speak to the staff the way you would like to be spoken to. Without us the business will fail!

    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-26
  9. "Amazing time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment Positive atmosphere Fun

    Cons

    A lot of standing Late finishes sometimes

    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-18
  10. "Whats missing from you?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great connections, wide knowledge on invoicing and working with internal and external companies.

    Cons

    no one to really show you, learn on the job, experience on the job (not really a con but when promised you feel conned)

    Advice to Management

    Get you're hands more dirty, and i promise you will see results. some of the best advice's start on the floor experiment a lot more then you do and don't get stuck in you're ways

    Merlin Entertainments2019-11-14
Found 395 reviews