Merlin Entertainments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Merlin Entertainments Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 347 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "20 free tickets to attractions globally(in 25 reviews)

  • "Convenient location, good benefits, always helpful when unsure what to do(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often attractions are deemed too expensive by the guests(in 27 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet & a little cliquey(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free passes for theme parks and commission based sales

    Cons

    No cons found it a positive experience

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-16

    Merlin Entertainments Response

    June 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Thanks for this! Happy employees make happy customers :)

  2. "Shocking managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ride Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lovely people - good environment - discounts & free tickets - lots of breaks

    Cons

    - Management are awful, they speak down to you and have favourites - no organisation - long hours that are constantly changing (8:30 - 6/7:00)

    Advice to Management

    Value employees who have been there a while just as much as new employees

    Merlin Entertainments2019-07-11
  3. "Working At Merlin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team work, Career progression, Magic Pass, Sharesave, Varied Workload

    Cons

    Corporate, impersonal, clicky, salary, worklife balance

    Merlin Entertainments2019-07-01
  4. "Bad pay, long hours,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Presentations in Wimbledon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people, make good friends

    Cons

    Long hours, short staffed, minimum breaks, under paid regularly having to chase them up

    Advice to Management

    If you treat staff with respect and give us more than the minimum break when you are expecting us to do maximum work, then we will feel more valued.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-06-29
  5. "Great employer for young staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - IT Project Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Bug focus on staff retention and development for young full time staff

      Cons

      Long hours and disconnected company

      Merlin Entertainments2019-06-14

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      June 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      So glad you are enjoying working with us! Thanks for leaving this review, hopefully we can hold on to you for a long time to come!

    • "Good for part time students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Decent benefits free passes to any other merlin place like alton towers and Thorpe park

      Cons

      Not great money and 0 hours contracts

      Merlin Entertainments2019-06-24
    • "Merlin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Excellent company, great experience and fantastic team.

      Cons

      No negatives, great company to work for.

      Merlin Entertainments2019-05-30

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      June 19, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      So glad you've found working with Merlin to be such a positive experience!Hope to have you back again in the future!

    • "Happy but poor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Great people, nice benefits in regards to tickets and discounts, good atmosphere

      Cons

      Low wages, hard for entry level to move up

      Advice to Management

      Make management courses open to all pay grades so people get opportunity to move up

      Merlin Entertainments2019-05-09

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Hi! Thanks for recommending Merlin as a great place to work :) Your suggestion about management courses will be passed on to our L&D team - thanks!

    • "Merlin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments part-time

      Pros

      Lots of people from all walks of life

      Cons

      More like a rrality tv show than place of work

      Merlin Entertainments2019-05-15

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      We're glad you met so many different people during your time with us - hope to see you again!

    • "Fine at the mid ways"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Ride Operator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Merlin Entertainments full-time

      Pros

      Lovely working at the midways (the dungeons, shrek) but the theme parks aren’t great. If your not friends with the managers you will suffer.

      Cons

      The theme parks are very clicky

      Merlin Entertainments2019-04-30

      Merlin Entertainments Response

      May 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

      Hi there! Thanks for recommending Merlin. Great to hear you had a good experience with our Midway attractions, I'm sure they loved having you too!

    Found 347 reviews