MetLife Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MetLife Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
MetLife President and CEO Michel Khalaf
Michel Khalaf
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance policies are not implemented effectively, as stated by executive management(in 105 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication with upper management(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Stable Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investments in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Quite stable. Stong ambition to grow Investments business which means lots of career and learning opportunities. Strong corporate focus on innovation these days. Dynamic new CEO running the company.

    Cons

    Huge Insurance company, so some things can invariably be a bit slower than they would be in a smaller company.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on innovation and harnessing the latest technology. This will help you attract and retain great talent.

    MetLife2020-01-09
  2. "Overall positive - employment experience depends on area as global company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Global support Good training options Pay at least competitive

    Cons

    Experience can depend on which area of the business you end up in

    MetLife2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits good in Brighton shame about the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good working 37.5hrs a week Mondays to Fridays. Free fruit, tea, coffee and mile regularly provided.

    Cons

    Everything is about volumes and not about the person. You are monitored and for your work accuracy but no thanks given. The team I was in micro managed everything. Also you are seen as a risk to the business if you do not actively show you are into their culture.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing and thinking only you are important, with a do as I say but not as I do attitude.

    MetLife2019-07-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Need a regulatory wake up call and visit from the regulator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely friendly people in the London office.

    Cons

    Too much interaction and control from the US with little understanding or acceptance of UK and EU regulatory issues. UK regulation has moved on from just a tick box exercise.

    Advice to Management

    Act whilst you can to be proactive not relative before its too late . One shoe does not fit all and you should move away from your tick box mentality and understand that US regulation is very different to UK regulation.

    MetLife2019-06-07
  5. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to grow your career and learn

    Cons

    Everything is very much driven from the states

    MetLife2019-02-19
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Design & Artwork Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun, friendly and focused team

    Cons

    Team changes and structure reshuffle were a constant factor

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. Worked in the UK, in marketing, split between London and Brighton, there for nine years, unfortunately made redundant, would never have left otherwise...

    MetLife2019-01-29
  7. "Recruitment assisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetLife

    Pros

    A good platform, a professional life insurance service

    Cons

    The system is not so mature in China.

    MetLife2019-01-11
  8. "Financial Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MetLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great and inclusive culture and good opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Going through transformation, which can actually be a rare pro too

    MetLife2018-11-11
  9. "Great experience early on in career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time

    Pros

    Good support from senior management

    Cons

    Lots of politics in sales teams

    MetLife2018-09-30
  10. "Fantastic place to work with great experienced people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wealth Management Internal Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great easy going office environment built around good people. Dominic Grinstead is one of the best Managing Directors I have had the pleasure to work for,he always rewards his staff kindly. All the field based staff were a joy to work alongside. You are able to get your ideas and opinions across and you will be listened to.

    Cons

    Only left due to the team being made redundant or would of built a career here. The salary could of been higher with a higher bonus and more defined bonus structure.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and continue to help and build from the inside as you currently do.

    MetLife2018-09-11
Found 3528 reviews