Michelmores Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 of over 89 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "From what I have seen so far Michelmores is one of the stand out firms to really offer flexible working that works(in 27 reviews)

  • "The quality of work is of a high level(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The only con I can think of is that I wish the gym was bigger and the brilliant PT was full time(in 4 reviews)

  • "There are drawbacks for working at Michelmores(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Law

    Join the conversation on

    Law

    6m

    an 

    Associate Attorney

    It seems partners are much more flexible with associates who have kids than with those who don’t. If it’s okay for my colleague with a kid to leave at 5 pm and log on later, why isn’t that the same for me (no kids)? My obligations might be different, but I still have a life and want to be able to do certain things, like catch that evening workout class or cook dinner for my partner. As you can probably tell, my firm is operating 100% in person. There is no point here — I’m just whining.

    3,346

    405 Comments

    Law

    51.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/law/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Michelmores~766308
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great law firm

      Jan 13, 2022 - Trainee Solicitor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly and helpful colleagues and interesting and engaging work

      Cons

      It is still an Exeter focused firm and more expansion is needed in London and Bristol

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New

      Nov 3, 2021 - Human Resources Advisor in Exeter, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been here for just over 3 months and the induction process was really smooth, I feel very supported in my role and I am really enjoying being part of the firm!

      Cons

      Hasn’t been any so far!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Oct 27, 2021 - Solicitor in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly people, good level of work and exposure, good salary, broad variety of work and clients, supportive employer. Great location for the Bristol office. Very "one-firm" approach across the offices so have the opportunity to do work in all different areas and can travel between the offices

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say - they're a great firm

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Diverse role

      Aug 12, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Exeter, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team morale, varied role which is always busy. Good supportive manager.

      Cons

      Sometimes expectations are too high, sometimes clear instructions not always received.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Michelmores Response

      Lead Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are really pleased to see such a positive review on your team, manager and position and will of course take note of your points raised around expectations and instructions. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      You can do whatever you want, if you're a lawyer

      Aug 11, 2021 - Team Leader in Exeter, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary and no expense spared in terms of office furniture and equipment.

      Cons

      The equity partners are allowed to treat staff however they want - there is no reprimand. This meant that I was screamed at, ignored, and generally mistreated by them, frequently and told that I would "never win the fight" if I raised a grievance against them. It also took at least a year for any projects to be signed off because of the amount of stakeholders involved in any decision. No development or progression.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Michelmores Response

      Lead Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. As a Firm, we value our inclusive culture, and do our best to protect and promote this. Good behaviors form the bedrock of our values, and our aspiration is that all of our Partners lead by example. This ethos forms one of the key measures of how we evaluate the individual contribution of our Partners. We take all feedback seriously, particularly where it is suggesting inappropriate behaviors are not being addressed, and will continue to strive to make Michelmores an even better place to work.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Top 100 Firm

      May 7, 2021 - Personal Assistant in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good home / work life balance.

      Cons

      Too top heavy with management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Michelmores Response

      Lead Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, its much appreciated. We are pleased to see your positive comments around home/work life balance, as this is an area we are very proud to promote. Note re your comments on top heavy management, thank you again for providing feedback on this.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Much better than other local firms

      Feb 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Exeter, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Forward thinking, freedom to work how it suits and great people.

      Cons

      None. I love working at Michelmores.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lovely place to work

      Jan 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people Good pay Good progression opportunities

      Cons

      Staff undervalued Clear separation between management and employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Poor pay

      Jan 24, 2021 - Junior Paralegal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good benefits as a larger company

      Cons

      Poorly paid and working with stroppy solicitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love my job

      Oct 15, 2020 - Solicitor in Exeter, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The firm is friendly, ambitious and motivating.

      Cons

      None. I love working at Michelmores.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Michelmores Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Michelmores? Share Your Experiences

    or