NFU Mutual Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NFU Mutual Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
NFU Mutual CEO Lindsay Sinclair
Lindsay Sinclair
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pension scheme - you pay in 8%, company pays in 12%(in 13 reviews)

  • "Nice people and the managers are really nice(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor Management - not very good at staff selection - too many people in the wrong job/position(in 8 reviews)

  • "No succession planning or career opportunity unless you move to Stratford where the head office is(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere- great opportunities and people

    Cons

    none- all great in my opinion

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-07-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great company, with a few pockets of concern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Handler in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generous bonus system for all staff Great Pension Decent healthcare package Gym subsidy (£20 a month) Free Fruit Proud and mostly engaged workforce Good central location (Bristol Office) Fantastic and visible Board (customer service director in particular)

    Cons

    Poor base salaries Lack of industry / technical experience at more senior levels Poor Management / Leadership Team (Bristol) compared to other areas of the business Lack of central oversight - management able act without reprimand

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-09-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a terrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great manager, he was really supportive and had a great working relationship with him. Feels like he would be much better of somewhere else.

    Cons

    I knew about NFU before working there and knew of the company values, so thought it would be a great career move. NO. What was sold to me, was not my experience. Over the course of training (which was 10 weeks) we had 6 different trainers. Now, that's not a massive problem...if they each knew what the other had done with the group and stopped moving the goal posts. I can completely appreciate that everyone has their own style of training, however, the principles should remain the same. This was not the case - this left me (and others in my group) feeling completely incompetent, incapable, and felt that there was no support emotionally, or professionally. Even when it came to sitting tests, we had no idea what was expected of us which was incredibly frustrating. The culture: I met some fantastic people whilst i was there, and I don't want to take away from them, but, the rest of the people were two-faced and were always gossiping. I have found myself overhearing several conversations between trainers, and managers speaking about individuals. How is that meant to make someone feel when they are new into the business? Management have no idea what it is like to live/work in 2019 and need to be trained on mental health. I'm not willing to go into detail, but don't apply if you hope to have an open minded business. (Again, this is not true of my own manager who I was incredibly lucky to have).

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-10-07
  4. "Company is changing for the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Advisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits Continuous development initiative

    Cons

    Do not pay tenured and more skilled staff enough Bonus scheme not achievable Changed into very much a typical call centre

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great if you wear a dress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor does not allow discriminatory language, so I cannot tell the whole truth. Unfortunately, real life is discriminatory. So, if you are young and wear a dress then you have a good career, if you wear trousers you don't. There is a bus service into the centre of Stratford upon Avon. Flexi time is offered in some areas (it was in mine). Pension is OK. They put in up to 12% (I think) and you put in about half.

    Cons

    If you wear trousers then forget it. There is little point in applying for a job here as you will be put into a dead end job. However if you wear a bra, then you will have training in almost anything you desire and you get career 'boosts. This ideology is supported by the management. It's very odd. Mental health is seen as a bit of a joke. My manager says she cares about it and then at the same time gives me impossible deadlines!! Go figure. The six monthly appraisals - you seem to spend more time justifying your job than actually doing it. During my appraisals, any of my mistakes were brought up in detail along with times and dates (most of which was so long ago I could not remember), wereas the good work which I had done was ignored. It is the sort of place whereby if your manager tells you to smile then you smile for fear of losing your job. It's a very odd place to work.

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-10-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overall an excellent place to work - just a few things to iron out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Excellent package overall - Supportive personal development - Local, personal service, which gives a community feel to the work, which is rewarding

    Cons

    - People often promoted on tenure, rather than ability - Management not always able or willing to tackle historical personalities in an office - Lack of understanding at HO about the challenges and inner workings at agency level

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wont recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Handler in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus, Flexi time, free drinks

    Cons

    Not supportive of staff Low salary Low progression , you have to be in good books to be promoted

    NFU Mutual2019-08-31
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Worst company I’ve had the misfortune to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None - awful behaviour from such a well known firm

    Cons

    Tunnel vision, left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing. Winner of employer of the year due to people voting for an extra days holiday. People who worked there for way beyond their sell by date. Level 5 and above need a big review. No succession planning or career opportunity unless you move to Stratford where the head office is. HR are completely incompetent and can’t work out tax applied to company cars, leaving you with huge tax bills. A commercial sales team of 26 run into the ground & very badly treated. If there was shareholders this would never of been allowed to happen. Shambolic. Avoid like the plague. Elephant grave yard for the insurance industry!

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-09-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FNOL Claims Handler in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time

    Pros

    wages are ok for the induatry but not for the work load

    Cons

    middle management bully their staff training is a joke and given by a back stabbing gossip. no room for promotion unless you blow your way to the top

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-09-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "‘Great place to work’"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues Bonus scheme You can buy ice lollies in the canteen

    Cons

    Flexi time taken away Impacting mental health of staff Call centre environment Unbearable temperatures within the office Not bothered about the amount of staff leaving

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2019-08-05
Found 146 reviews