NFU Mutual Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
NFU Mutual Group Chief Executive Lindsay Sinclair
Lindsay Sinclair
54 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor Management / Leadership Team (Bristol) compared to other areas of the business(in 8 reviews)

  • "No succession planning or career opportunity unless you move to Stratford where the head office is(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work with lots of opportunity to develop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Resourcing Consultant in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is without doubt one of the most supportive and collaborative environments that I have ever worked in. All of my colleagues across the business have been welcoming and always have time to give their advice or expertise. If you are the kind of person that enjoys professional development, then there is the opportunity to volunteer for projects and to get involved in things that take you outside of your comfort zone. Looking across the business I see multiple examples of colleagues who have progressed their careers into other areas of the business from that which they originally started. The training and development is exemplary. There are online platforms that have support on virtually any topic you can think of, supported by a large learning and development function for face to face courses. Communication has been strong. I never feel like I don't know what is happening in the business and there are good internal comms at both a function and corporate level. The Head Office in Stratford is an amazing space, with lots of room to walk amongst the grounds at lunchtime and get away from your desk. Not to mentione a subsidised canteen with Costa Coffee. You are well looked after here with strong benefits and a pension of upto 20%. Well Done NFU Mutual, you make us feel valued and the work we do important.

    Cons

    As you can imagine, in a business of this size and scale, it can be difficult to make changes happen straight away. There is alot of decision making hierarchy to navigate. But once you adapt to this and realise that it's there for a reason, you can absolutely come to terms with it and still make amazing things happen.

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-04-22
  2. "Good working environment - challenging for middle managers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for employee level jobs (below first tier of management) Supportive and caring environment Employee well fair is paramount Friendly atmosphere Great offices and locations (esp. HQ) High pay (relative) V good pension Private healthcare - limited reimbursement scheme

    Cons

    Due to very soft HR and management steer the company accures poor quality staff as its virtually impossible to remove sub standard staff due to very restrictive and super conservative HR guidelines. Strict and widespread adherence to Gallup (engagement) scores for all managers and teams across the company annually, means managers have a very difficult and stressful task of having to manage without ever making an unpopular decision - even when its the right decision. The company puts the Gallup score for all teams as one of its highest standards, and all managers and their annual reviews and thus pay are judged on this number. This leads to a ruling by consensus approach across most of the company which is an ongoing and counter productive factor in all work.

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-05-23
  3. "Fine"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Claims Handler in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at NFU Mutual part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts and good training

    Cons

    Not enough staff, would recommend work main office not for agency

    NFU Mutual2020-05-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resourcing Consultant in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Absolutely great on-boarding and very employee centric

    Cons

    WFH could be better, it's improving.

    NFU Mutual2020-04-14
  5. "Bristol claims- toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pension and bonus scheme.

    Cons

    Culture and values used to be great but after a rapid expansion at Bristol, it is a totally nasty place. Toxic. Trust is a problem in all levels of management. Lower management has a culture of gossiping about each other and making jokes at expense of handlers. I was a manager and I was frequently appalled at way managers would talk about handlers openly in meetings eg calling women sluts, spreading rumours of sex in office, calling people ‘crazy’, making jokes about dead employee, doing impressions of people behind their backs to the amusement of other managers. Managers are so unprofessional and #MeToo- forget it! Paranoia is common place. Teams bully their managers whose pay is based on their teams rating of them- unbelievably true.

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-05-23
  6. "Good to get some experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do put customers first. They do treat employees well. Good work life balance. Office in good location. Good place to start in terms of getting experience in a big company.

    Cons

    There is a culture of moaning about mediocre issues. They pigeon hole you if your face doesnt fit. Let graduates have opportunities and by pass other who didnt go on the scheme. Slow and lack of ambition to change issues. Lots of bureaucracy due to company processes which mean things take a lot longer than they should.

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-04-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Staff first"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales Agent in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company looks after their customers, then their staff, then aim to try grow the business. They really care about the people they employ

    Cons

    Money could arguably be better, systems and processes could do with an overhaul

    NFU Mutual2020-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Direct & Agency Partnerships"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFU Mutual full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with shifts-especially parents Bonus-always achieving if mind is in the game Development opps- company wide A company that always get awarded with industry recognised awards! I could easily speak to any person in this company regardless of thier role/authority without being judged !

    Cons

    Being truly honest I would say none as long as you are upfront about problems you may be facing the company will always accommodate! Speaking from experience here! I have been in the company for almost 2 years and with everything that is going on(covid19) they have done everything to keep us on full pay and propose a bonus that would benefit us workers! Also went out thier way to provide laptops to this that are high risk and self isolating! Fantastic from higher... They always look out for their staff!

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-03-21
  9. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Stratford-upon-Avon, England

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Seemed to genuinely care about the welfare of its people

    Cons

    Don't expect anything to happen quickly

    NFU Mutual2020-02-29
  10. "They actually do care"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NFU Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly good work/life balance Stunning surroundings They practice the things they talk about Compared to anywhere else I have worked, this place is the best. The staff really don’t have much to complain about.

    Cons

    Little bit staid in certain parts Some pockets of coasters who are seeing it through to retirement and not delivering a lot

    Continue reading
    NFU Mutual2020-02-10
Found 102 reviews