Nuance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nuance Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1838 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
139 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging at times(in 50 reviews)

  • "Why then, do you essentially break the law by classing your transcriptionists as independent contractors and pay them way less than minimum wage(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best jobs I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here are the positives. Well rewarded. Life/work balance. Flexibility. Independence. Homeworking.

    Cons

    I have had none to date. I've enjoyed my time here so far.

    Nuance2018-11-20

    Nuance Response

    December 3, 2018

    Thank you for your comment on us! You seem to be thoroughly enjoying your role as Pre-Sales Consultant and the amenities Nuance has to offer.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganised and suffering from poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home work life balance, but this is being phased out. Great place to learn how not to run a large software services company

    Cons

    Senior leadership lacks clear vision of where the company is going, let alone how to implement it. Mid-management lack the experience or desire to drive improvements or set clear objectives. Poor planning is the normal operating mode. Utter disregard for the need to set clear objectives for employees drives poor productivity and engagement from all areas in the business. Technical debt is created at every turn... and is never addressed due to product priorities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start from scratch

    Nuance2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Careful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, interesting technology, great coworkers.

    Cons

    Where to start? A new boss means there is a cleaning out process throughout the whole company, which in fairness is long overdue as the previous CEO just bought companies. It now feels like the company is being broken down for selloff. Highly skilled people being let go, without thought to what they added to the business. The company has always operated as distinct silos, with little interaction and more than a... little aggression between divisions. Career progression and promotion - forget it. After aggressive know it all sales management? Got it in spades. Worth spending a few years here to enhance your CV - definitely, but tread carefully.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start listening, stop talking, be honest....

    Nuance2019-02-25
  4. "just joined nuance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Healthcare Account Diriector in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    large corporate with opportunities worldwide

    Cons

    impersonal and difficult to navigate

    Advice to Management

    deal with hr issues quickly, don't drag them out.

    Nuance2018-08-20

    Nuance Response

    August 30, 2018

    Thank you for your advice on Nuance and HR. We’ll be sure to provide this feedback to them. We’re happy to see you have experienced worldwide opportunities with us!

  5. "Good R&D department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Research Scientist in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging problems to tackle, great colleagues, work-life balance with flexible working hours, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    More work than people. So sometimes interesting projects put on hold.

    Advice to Management

    Invest resources into long term research goals and product innovations, engage more with universities and participate in conferences/publishing our work. We need to improve our image in the research community.

    Nuance2018-06-19

    Nuance Response

    June 27, 2018

    Thank you for your review on Nuance. It’s great to see you enjoy creating solutions for the challenges you are working on, your work-life balance and your peers! The Talent Acquisition team has been working with more universities and colleges, specifically in Montreal and Germany ...

    Show More
  6. "Focus on Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, location, people, location, compensation

    Cons

    Lack of progression, lack of development opportunity

    Nuance2018-02-03

    Nuance Response

    February 20, 2018

    Thank you for your review. This year one of our big company goals surrounds employee development. There will be trainings for different groups to ensure development is taking place. We're glad to see you enjoy the compensation as a whole.

  7. "Could be so so much better with focus and learning from the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Sales Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company pays well and is flexible as an employer. There is a home working policy for sales. There is a good pension scheme health care dental care and well being programmes plus share options.

    Cons

    Management strategy and direction is very much at odds with the market. Instead of incorporating solutions once acquired into a far superior product offering combined the business has ploughed its own furrow with minimum consultation with partners.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the field it is a rudderless ship at the minute

    Nuance2017-09-11
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Great team of talented people from all over the world - State-of-the-art technology - Flexible working hours - Competitve salaries

    Cons

    - Sometimes too burocratic - Should get more perks

    Advice to Management

    Should facilitate agile development and promote ideas.

    Nuance2017-04-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Horrific place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Horrific place to work there is no pros !

    Cons

    No career Bonus is crap No salary review or promotions

    Nuance2017-05-04
  10. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, very dynamic, good work benefits.

    Cons

    Too many disperse and remote teams.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the goal setting process to make sure all employees are aligned to the business goals.

    Nuance2017-02-05
Found 1838 reviews