Nuance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nuance Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work-life balance can be difficult at times(in 55 reviews)

  • "I heard later that Nuance fired all its California-based transcriptionists because that state instituted a higher minimum wage ((in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Distributor Development Director in Uxbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work had play hard atmosphere, great people, remuneration is excellent, recognition and advancement, fun place to work

    Cons

    lots of acquisitions, lots of cultural turmoil during acquisition

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Nuance2014-02-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Disorganised and suffering from poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home work life balance, but this is being phased out. Great place to learn how not to run a large software services company

    Cons

    Senior leadership lacks clear vision of where the company is going, let alone how to implement it. Mid-management lack the experience or desire to drive improvements or set clear objectives. Poor planning is the normal operating mode. Utter disregard for the need to set clear objectives for employees drives poor productivity and engagement from all areas in the business. Technical debt is created at every turn and is never addressed due to product priorities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start from scratch

    Nuance2019-07-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Careful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, interesting technology, great coworkers.

    Cons

    Where to start? A new boss means there is a cleaning out process throughout the whole company, which in fairness is long overdue as the previous CEO just bought companies. It now feels like the company is being broken down for selloff. Highly skilled people being let go, without thought to what they added to the business. The company has always operated as distinct silos, with little interaction and more than a little aggression between divisions. Career progression and promotion - forget it. After aggressive know it all sales management? Got it in spades. Worth spending a few years here to enhance your CV - definitely, but tread carefully.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start listening, stop talking, be honest....

    Nuance2019-02-25
  4. "One of the best jobs I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Here are the positives. Well rewarded. Life/work balance. Flexibility. Independence. Homeworking.

    Cons

    I have had none to date. I've enjoyed my time here so far.

    Nuance2018-11-20
  5. "just joined nuance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Healthcare Account Diriector in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    large corporate with opportunities worldwide

    Cons

    impersonal and difficult to navigate

    Advice to Management

    deal with hr issues quickly, don't drag them out.

    Nuance2018-08-20
  6. "Good R&D department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Research Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Challenging problems to tackle, great colleagues, work-life balance with flexible working hours, good pay and benefits

    Cons

    More work than people. So sometimes interesting projects put on hold.

    Advice to Management

    Invest resources into long term research goals and product innovations, engage more with universities and participate in conferences/publishing our work. We need to improve our image in the research community.

    Nuance2018-06-19
  7. "Focus on Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, location, people, location, compensation

    Cons

    Lack of progression, lack of development opportunity

    Nuance2018-02-03
  8. "Could be so so much better with focus and learning from the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Sales Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company pays well and is flexible as an employer. There is a home working policy for sales. There is a good pension scheme health care dental care and well being programmes plus share options.

    Cons

    Management strategy and direction is very much at odds with the market. Instead of incorporating solutions once acquired into a far superior product offering combined the business has ploughed its own furrow with minimum consultation with partners.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the field it is a rudderless ship at the minute

    Nuance2017-09-11
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Great team of talented people from all over the world - State-of-the-art technology - Flexible working hours - Competitve salaries

    Cons

    - Sometimes too burocratic - Should get more perks

    Advice to Management

    Should facilitate agile development and promote ideas.

    Nuance2017-04-20
  10. "Strategic Planning Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues and learning environment

    Cons

    Low visibility on parent company strategy

    Nuance2017-04-18
Found 1951 reviews