OLIVER Agency Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OLIVER Agency Reviews

Updated 23 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
38%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
OLIVER Agency CEO Sharon Whale (no image)
Sharon Whale
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Genuinely nice people to work for which understand in the digital age companies need to flexible around your life(in 11 reviews)

  • "The business model allows for a lot of flexibility in the range of opportunities within Oliver(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very Hierarchal approach at OLIVER(in 31 reviews)

  • "Senior management does not understand the real working difficulties(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    opportunities for development, Great team culture, powerful leadership, exposure to a variety of HR elements, fast paced environment. This company is growing at a very rapid pace and the People Team is an amazing group that with the help of the Director are making strides to provide first class service to its employees. There are plenty opportunities for development and training offered to employees, the benefits... are generous and everyone is welcoming and kind truly a lovely place to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    I really enjoyed working here so I did not have any cons in relation to the business

    OLIVER Agency2019-11-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic, arrogant and ignorant - TRY TO AVOID THIS PLACE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Business model is unique Salary is ok Good Benefits

    Cons

    People who bragged themselves to director positions i.e. account directors, project directors are arrogant, toxic people who try to bully other colleagues out who think differently. I have seen people leaving because they couldn't stand the daily drama, arguments, discussions. Everyone points the finger at each other when something isn't going right instead of working collectively. HR can't be trusted either due to... constant leaks...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen, trust and value your staff. Get rid of toxic people who are bullies!!!!!!!!!

    OLIVER Agency2019-10-12
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Poor management, no support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bunch of talented people.

    Cons

    They do not value their staff. Lack of work/life balance, and mentorship. Extremely Hierarchal and political. Lack of team integration. HR don't take matters seriously. Poor company culture. The reality is that Senior management don't seem to understand or know what is going on within their on-site teams, putting them out of touch of what is really required. There are talented people who are treated... like a resource and who can be replaced at any moment or will burn out before it happens – No career progression whatsoever if you're based onsite.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to and trust your on-site employees and treat them as real people – They live and breathe the client's world and need more support and respect.

    OLIVER Agency2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Disconnected Senior Management team & no career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some fantastic people in both onsite teams and head office. If you have ambitious people in your team the onsite experience really is what you make of it, I’ve met some life long friends through Oliver and I bet on other accounts the issues I have come upon perhaps don’t occur

    Cons

    The below cons are based on my opinion of the onsite team I was in and not the wider Oliver group - Formal review process not followed based on my experience leading to challenges when you question why there is no career progression - Promotions and payrises given to individuals who threaten to leave/formally resign from the company - Unprofessional senior management who do not listen to their onsite... teams, decisions made at a high level without any thought of talking to the individuals whom it may effect - Unpleasant culture when you speak up and ask questions about why there is no career progression/ why I wasn’t given a opportunity of it - Lack of any empathy from onsite senior leadership team and negative attitude. For example, when I once vocalised how I feel about my team and achievements the answer I was given from a very senior member of staff was ‘actually it’s my studio’ - Peakon feedback no listened to - Lack of onsite support and mentorship - The HR individuals I have worked with show a concerning lack of empathy - Only dialogue between senior management is around cash collection - Absolutely no regard or respect shown for achievements

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read Peakon and don’t always trust what you are being fed upwards from your SMT who are running each account. If a culture is seriously affecting people it’s time to listen

    OLIVER Agency2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - New Business Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OLIVER Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Oliver just two weeks and could not be more impressed. Having worked for huge corporates before Oliver is incredible how although we are 2000+ staff strong they really make a point of recogising everybody and takes huge interest in self-development and ensuring everybody is happy and comfortable. Oliver really has an entrepreneurial flare and this is because everybody matters to them. Everyone, not... just my team, has been exceptionally welcoming and gone above and beyond to help me and make me feel welcome. I couldn't recommend it more. To top it off as well they have gladly enrolled me onto the MBA programme fully paid. Absolutely awesome company. Very mature and couldn't have made a better decision to join!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing so far in terms of cons,

    OLIVER Agency2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Terrible agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Terrible agency to work for

    Cons

    Absolutely horrendous experience of employment

    Advice to Management

    None could help

    OLIVER Agency2019-07-23
  7. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Farringdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company vibe and nice environment

    Cons

    not enough work life balance

    OLIVER Agency2019-06-12
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family culture, Growth opportunities, Recognition

    Cons

    long hours, lack of mentorship

    OLIVER Agency2019-05-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social event, Opportunity to move to different clients. Great training.

    Cons

    No cons at this point

    OLIVER Agency2019-05-03
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Great People but terrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OLIVER Agency full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing People, Office in a great location

    Cons

    There is no structure and it is very political. The Senior Management team don't seem to understand what they are doing and scramble every 5 minutes which is affecting the teams. HR are not taking complaints seriously, and it doesn't seem like they care about the staff.

    OLIVER Agency2019-03-28
Found 178 reviews