OpenBet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OpenBet Reviews

Updated 10 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
OpenBet CEO Jordan Levin (no image)
Jordan Levin
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "One might get stuck working on old legacy systems/languages (TCL)(in 26 reviews)

  • "Very disorganized - constant reorganization and low retention on senior management positions(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, great office, really good work life balance. Free fruit is a big plus. Exciting to grow at such a quick pace.

    Cons

    One might get stuck working on old legacy systems/languages (TCL). Other than that I can't think of any cons

    OpenBet2018-05-23
  2. "Great working conditions but poor working content"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chiswick, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great multicultural colleagues - Great working conditions - Good Benefits

    Cons

    - Outdated technologies and methodologies - Tasks set from external "customer" companies could end up being dull - Strict hierarchy could block new members from being involved in more interesting tasks

    OpenBet2019-03-01
  3. "Graduate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Software Engineer in Chiswick, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet for less than a year

    Pros

    + Really nice people in the company + Very flexible working hours + Very nice office + Training + Fun working enviroment + Nice location in Chiswick park

    Cons

    - Legacy tech stack (TCL, informix) - Customer focus

    Advice to Management

    My suggestion is to limitize the work in TCL only to the old developers and to try move quickly in Java.

    OpenBet2018-11-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Tech's equivalent of a time capsule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    - Sugary treats once a month - Nice offices - Free coffee - Free fruit - Generous holidays - Free canned soda, while supplies last - Nice location

    Cons

    - Little room for career progression - Very corporate (much red-tape) - Poor salary - Occasionally uncivil management - Big on micromanagement - No certifications offered - Tech stack very niche and out-dated - Feels like a factory - Doesn't acknowledge individual contributions - Very little useful training - Doesn't seem to care about investing in its staff - TCL

    Advice to Management

    Do everything differently.

    OpenBet2018-11-28
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked in Openbet for over 7 years. There are many opportunities within the organisation to grow. Chiswick business park is great place to work in.

    Cons

    Salary is considerably low as compared to other technology companies in London. Most of the technology is out dated but I think Openbet has made good effort in last few years to incorporate new technology.

    OpenBet2018-09-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "No words really..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    If you can go do this, you can pretty much do anything!

    Cons

    Chaos! Chaos! Chaos! Never ever have a I worked in such a chaotic place where senior managers fight each other for resources but you get the blame for not delivering when they take all your resources away! Zero listening from management, and lots and lots and lots of blaming! Steer clear..

    Advice to Management

    Go work somewhere else ...

    OpenBet2018-05-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ordinary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    Nothing to talk about really

    Cons

    Chaos and no direction at all

    OpenBet2018-04-23
  8. "Sucesss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Proffesional Young enviroment. Good career oportunities. Good salaries and ok benefits including insurances n pension plan, and other benefits like nursery vouchers

    Cons

    No cons yet. Friendly welcome, well planned training period. All the team members help new recruits. Nice Office and in House services

    Advice to Management

    NA

    OpenBet2018-03-22
  9. "First job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer L1 in Elephant & Castle, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very casual and friendly work environment. - Highly intelligent team to learn from. - Aljay, a true genius. I would hire that man for £100k to lead my team. - Decent benefits.

    Cons

    - Variable workload as it is dependent on clients.

    OpenBet2018-03-15
  10. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    Very diverse culture, great benefits, great remuneration overall. I am actually surprised by some of the negative reviews. Completely undeserved. It's set in a really lovely and peaceful business park which also has some enjoyable perks. Food stalls, events etc More perk: Ping pong room, Pool room, PS4, library resting area, free coffee, free fizzy drinks, discounted tier 1 virgin gym, flexible working hours,... canteen with sandwiches and hot food, freebie fridays, excellent pension

    Show More

    Cons

    Very big a spacious office, so parts can get quiet. Other than that I can not think of anything else bad to say.

    Advice to Management

    None

    OpenBet2018-03-09
Found 144 reviews