PagerDuty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PagerDuty Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
PagerDuty CEO Jennifer Tejada
Jennifer Tejada
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/Life balance is 100% there, for me at least(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good management who are always open to new ideas, catered lunch, great people with lots of enthusiasm, helpful mentorship(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains as the company scales(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is growing quickly and we're far past the point of being able to know all the people and what they're working on(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Company going places!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant change as the company is expanding brings new opportunities to learn new things. Great team spirit and culture. Opinions are valued.

    Cons

    Adjusting traditional working style as company is global, so re-align job behaviours.

    Advice to Management

    More engagement with troops on the ground to get a better grasp of morale and performance.

    PagerDuty2019-10-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Software Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere Nice central London offices Great onboarding Good perks (Insurance, computer,...)

    Cons

    A lot of the team is still in the US but they try to communicate as much as possible during the limited time.

    PagerDuty2019-03-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work, excellent team and fantastic vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Consultant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent industry leading product, great teams across the company with everyone happy to help.

    Cons

    Everything associated with a fast growing company, but that's a big part of the fun

    PagerDuty2018-06-08
  4. "Such a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A wonderful culture where you get supported and are expected to do the same. They seem to be very willing to try and fail, and if it's a failure they try to learn from the experience. They're also incredibly diverse and very modern in their thinking. I love the fact that they follow they've given 1% of their equity, 1% of their employees time and 1% of their product to charitable causes. They also really do put the customer first which is what most organizations say but PD really does. I also really do appreciate the fact that they're willing to have remote employees and allow folks who are working at an office turn to remote working as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    Their tendency to run fast can create some interesting snarls to unkink but they ack and own and really do try to learn from their mistakes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the course I really love working at PD and I believe we're going places.

    PagerDuty2020-01-26
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company to Small in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People, Great Product, and a good comp plan

    Cons

    High growth, lots of moving parts and process changes

    PagerDuty2020-01-08
  6. "Great experience at PagerDuty loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at PagerDuty part-time

    Pros

    flexibility, support, thought leadership, and great company culture

    Cons

    no compensation for commute for interns

    PagerDuty2019-11-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Struggling to evolve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly culture, good ERGs, benefits, and volunteering events

    Cons

    High risk of burnout, build fast and sell product mandate, more sales driven initiatives then innovation

    Advice to Management

    Invest in design management to evolve the product, not just sell more new addons

    PagerDuty2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great, merit-based culture; fantastic people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Hands down, the people - Flexibility regarding your schedule - Hard work is recognized and rewarded - Amazing work-life balance I'm working with some of the most down-to-earth, smartest people I've ever worked with in my career. I learn from everyone daily, including my peers, my manager, and the executive team. This is probably team-dependent, but we have a lot of flexibility with regard to our schedule. As long as we're available for meetings and get our work done, no one cares what time you get to or leave the office, or whether you decide to work from home that day because you don't feel well or just don't feel like commuting to the office. Do I have to work weekends sometimes? Sure, but they don't happen often, and it's worth it for the overall flexibility. Which leads me to...sick days. HR and the exec team actually _encourages_ people to stay home and take sick days to rest up and heal when they're sick. They send out multiple reminders to ask people to stay home when sick. I've never worked at any other place where leadership actually encourages this sick policy. Best part is that your team will likely step in to cover for you and tell you to sign off and stop working while sick. Employees are recognized for their contributions here. There's an internal program where employees can publicly give thanks to other employees for their help or work, and it fosters a great culture. Reviews are 360, so it's not just employees being reviewed—managers are also given feedback on where they're doing well and where they can improve.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some underperformers are allowed to stay too long without being called out - Office location is a little inconvenient (but I suppose that's nitpicking) There needs to be a better system to recognize underperformers to help them improve. Otherwise, it places the burden on others on the team, potentially creating resentment and preventing the team overall from running on all cylinders. Nothing can be done about office location, but that's more the fault of public transportation being unreliable. But it's nice having schedule flexibility because that means there's rarely such a thing as being late to work.

    Show More
    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "An empathic and fast-paced company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Like every company, PagerDuty has its issues, but it does its best to listen to feedback from employees and quickly implement changes. In my opinion, the people who work at PagerDuty are genuinely kind, empathic, and do their best. In engineering and product, at least, there really are no tech bros which is saying a lot for being a tech company. Jenn, the CEO, is wonderful. She is constantly iterating on how best to share information with us and her energy always makes me more excited to work at the company. Work/Life balance is 100% there, for me at least. I'm never asked to work outside of working hours unless I'm on-call, and if I have a particularly busy on-call week my coworkers or manager are quick to acknowledge it and give me time off to rest. The company also does a good job of showing us how our work is impacting the lives of other people. Whether that's big, profitable customers using PagerDuty to add technology to their older business models, or small non-profits using PagerDuty for life-saving actions like suicide hotlines, PagerDuty makes sure we know how our work impacts our customers. I've been at PagerDuty for over 2.5 years and am so proud to be a Dutonian. Instead of letting people leave when they no longer want to stay in their original role, I've noticed PagerDuty works with employees to find a better fit for them within the organization. The company recognizes talent and wants to keep it and help it grow rather than let us move on to other companies with open roles that are more suited to our new interests. That, to me, is the sign of a company that cares about its people.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing quickly and we're far past the point of being able to know all the people and what they're working on. This can lead to duplicate work being done and a general feeling of siloing if you don't make an effort to talk to other teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the feedback of PagerDuty's people. We share it because we care, not because we want to start drama!

    PagerDuty2019-10-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PagerDuty full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Love the values we have and are encouraged to embody such as taking the lead. - Lots of autonomy and great opportunities for growth. - Great Work/Life Balance. - Great supportive culture. No finger pointing or blaming. Truly feel like I work in a team. - Amazing place to get experience with proper engineering practices - PagerDuty has become an industry leader when it comes to that. - Down to earth CEO with great energy and passion. - Free catered lunches everyday (+ breakfast on Wednesday) and lots of snacks!

    Show More

    Cons

    No clear cons that are noteworthy

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in making sure there are no communication gaps as the company grows further.

    PagerDuty2019-10-26
Found 164 reviews