Paychex Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,059 of over 3K reviews

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Paychex President and CEO Martin Mucci
Martin Mucci
1,617 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits even for part-timers(in 264 reviews)

  • "Great work/life balance and benefits(in 209 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance is not the best(in 83 reviews)

  • "Sometimes sales reps fight over accounts(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company to work for

      27 Feb 2021 - Channel Executive in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -base salary, benefits, health insurance -career mobility. Vertical and lateral -recognized industry leader -family culture -management gets into the trenches with you and will provide structure to be most productive -autonomy for those who earn it -can make a ton of money. Upwards to six figures or more -reasonable sales goals -not a lot of turn over

      Cons

      -lots of different initiatives on who to target, can get overwhelming or repetitive

      2 people found this review helpful

      Paychex Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      It's great to hear this feedback. Thank you for sharing it with us!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A company worth working for!

      20 Jun 2021 - Sales Assistant II in Folsom, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting pay, great benefits, room to advance.

      Cons

      Repetitive and evolving at the same time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      An Eastcoast Corporation

      20 May 2021 - Software Engineer I in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A strong work culture focused on individual growth. Paychex is actively looking to improve their QoL and legacy product innovation, albeit slowly. There is a positive attitude towards workers, and a lot of respect for diversity. Very knowledgeable and capable developers in a very complicated product. A lot of upward opportunities, but in management rather than technical.

      Cons

      There are 6 company holidays. A few more floating depending on your benefits. Very slow vacation time accrual until you are there for a long time. Management and organization really need some work. A lot of agile based positions filled by employees without a technical background, which hinders the team. Not a lot of say in how to improve QoL or the products. Software Engineers have a lot of support work, some very urgent, and no real way to improve this situation or innovate on the product to prevent these. Decisions come from top down only, and in my view is a very poor use of resources and talent readily available. I really feel like there is positive momentum in improving these issues, but progress is very, very slow where it feels more like a gesture than a goal.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture

      17 Jun 2021 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and team environment, management really wants you to succeed.

      Cons

      Base pay is low compared to competitors, can be long hours but flexibility working from home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The Nashville Officer is horrible!! RUN!!!

      30 Apr 2021 - Account Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous Time off Work from home temporarily during the pandemic

      Cons

      Manager knows NOTHING about what account managers do. She’s run the ENTIRE Nashville office into the ground. The office at one point was a dead zone, one employee got involved sans motivated the ENTIRE OFFICE to participate. That particular employee and other qualified starting to try and branch out and were held back and even given FALSE bad employee reviews after speaking out to senior management about the culture at the Nashville office. Nothing was done to address this and as a result SEVERAL good employees left the Nashville office, leaving it a wasteland of under achievers who gripe and complain or go on ‘sick’ leave at every opportunity. Do NOT waster your time with this company. You will be over worked, stressed, underpaid and never appreciated until you walk out of the door permanently.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Glad for the Experience

      5 Apr 2021 - Dedicated Service Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was a great way to start my career, as I was given a lot of responsibility and experience that I can speak to for future roles. I got along with everyone on my team, there were quite a few freebies, and the pay and benefits were good for someone starting their career. Pay scaled with your years at the company pretty well and there was a lot of opportunity for internal promotion.

      Cons

      The workload was absolutely insane and managers/supervisors were either oblivious or willfully ignorant to it. When we moved to work from home, the workload also increased greatly, maybe not in sheer number of client interactions, but in the complexity of their requests and how long it took to resolve the interaction. I was working my tail off all day, every day, and still being told that if my stats didn't improve, I'd be in danger for disciplinary action. Problem is, the stats were calibrated to a much different level of workload than what we were experiencing. Newer employees or employees still learning the Paychex system were set up for failure. They provided opportunity for upward movement, but by the time I left them, I wouldn't have been interested anyway.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Paychex Response

      Thank you for sharing this candid feedback with us. We're disappointed to hear that this was your experience and will ensure your feedback is shared internally.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great but not the GOAT

      9 Jun 2021 - Human Capital Management Consultant in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fast paced. excellent tech and services for clients. 50+ years in the industry. Great price for larger businesses

      Cons

      product and services are almost a commodity now. Expensive services/tech for smaller businesses

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So far so good

      29 Apr 2021 - SMB Service Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I will admit that I was skeptical at first and still am to an extent since I am still in the training period but here is what I can tell you: - everyone I have talked to so far has been very friendly and helpful - it really seems like everyone wants to work here and see the company do well - they have a big focus on company culture which is pretty nice - it seems like they want you to succeed and advance in your career

      Cons

      The training can get kinda boring sometimes because a lot of it is self taught meaning you have to go through each module on your own, but it is very comprehensive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Paychex Response

      Thank you for your review! We're glad you're enjoying your time at Paychex so far and we're also excited to be together again soon!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company great culture

      12 Jun 2021 - Health and Benefits Broker in Renton, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, mentorship, leadership, money, free weekends

      Cons

      How to master your own schedule and time, many find it difficult

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Started out great until I was forced to quit.

      9 Apr 2021 - Compliance Analyst in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people work here Great benefits Diverse Family-like atmosphere

      Cons

      Not paying employees based on their education and experience properly. This company pays less than the average for similar companies that offer the same services. I worked in another department where everyone had a master's degree but the job description stated GED / HS Diploma as the requirement and we were getting paid as if all we had were HS diplomas/GEDs - Not cool. Disjointed (Different parts of the company seem to read the company policies as though they are different companies within themselves) Some departments are great with reasonable accommodations and others completely ignore their policies or understand them to the benefit of the employer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,059 Reviews

    Work at Paychex? Share Your Experiences

    Paychex logo
    or