Paychex Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Paychex Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2164 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Paychex CEO Martin Mucci
Martin Mucci
1201 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Community is everything!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PAY in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone in the office is friendly and extremely helpful. It really feels like a family. Management is understanding of many different situations. I love it here.

    Cons

    The pay is not so great.

    Paychex2019-07-12

    Paychex Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - we're glad you love it here.

  2. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working conditions and schedules, great to step back from internal HR, get to know a lot of interesting small to mid-sized businesses in the area, truly feel your value as an HR professional when you are helping owners and managers get it right. The retention in this role is great too, many HRG's have already hit their 10, 20 and 30 years here!

    Cons

    While it doesn't bother me too much, this is a service job and can definitely feel like it sometimes. There are times where you feel like an account manager (IT problems, fixing service gaps...etc)- but the company is addressing this and introducing new teams to help with the issues so you can focus on your area of expertise: HR.

    Advice to Management

    Quickly address the feedback through all these changes. Clients feel the shift and are looking for a quick resolution.

    Paychex2019-07-12

    Paychex Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review - our HRGs play such an important role in delivering our service promise to our customers. We will continue to address ways we can improve your employee (and our client) experience and appreciate your feedback!

  3. "Best choice I’ve made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay, culture, recognition

    Cons

    I would say consistent quarterly trips instead of annual.

    Advice to Management

    Love the culture and genuinely like my peers and colleagues.

    Paychex2019-07-12

    Paychex Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for your review!

  4. "Learn B2B quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training at Paychex is great for people just learning how to sell in a B2B world. They really want you to win.

    Cons

    Lots of moving parts. Too much to learn all at once.

    Paychex2019-07-12

    Paychex Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Ramping up into a sales role can be daunting, but we're glad to hear you feel supported and feel our training is great. We appreciate your feedback!

  5. "I've been here for more than 19 years and am not going anywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Feels like a family and they like to promote within.

    Cons

    They are shrinking the offices in some areas while growing them in others which is hard for those in the smaller offices.

    Paychex2019-07-12

    Paychex Response

    July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review and for spending 19 years with Paychex!

  6. "Good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Representative 

      I have been working at Paychex full-time

      Pros

      Benefits and commission are worth it

      Cons

      There really are no cons

      Paychex2019-07-11

      Paychex Response

      July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review! We're glad you're happy here.

    • "What a GREAT Company and Local Team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Award winning company with recognition in areas such as IT, Training, Most Ethical Companies just to name a few. The training is outstanding and it is great to see the company invest in the most important asset - their people. Supporting payroll and related HR products is both challenging and rewarding. Career opportunities continue to grow. Benefit package is great! Senior Management is extremely engaging, approachable...

      Show More

      Cons

      Workloads at year end tend to increase and there is limited time off allowed. However this is getting better each year as the company invests more and more in automated processes to reduce task oriented workloads.

      Advice to Management

      Keep investing in future enhancements and acquisition opportunities.

      Paychex2019-07-11

      Paychex Response

      July 15, 2019Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for this feedback! We're happy when our employees are happy. Our values and culture make us #PaychexProud, too!

    • "Culture of coaching"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      You have the opportunity to advance in your career if you work hard and have a supportive manager, which I’ve had for the majority of my 15 years with the company, with the exception of one who came from outside of the company and never embraced our culture. Working under him was the only time I ever thought about leaving the company. I instead set a goal for myself to get a new role. It took hard work and tenacity,...

      Show More

      Cons

      I work in a role that can be done remotely (most of my team does as they are not in Rochester), yet I am not allowed to because of being based in Rochester. My peers (and manager) have the advantage of saving time and money by not having a commute, not having to purchase work attire, as well as quiet work environment without distractions. I sit in a very loud area, and my position requires me to be on the phone. I...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Employees in the same role should have the same flexibility regardless of geographical location. Work life balance is essential for attracting and keeping talent, and though you won’t lose me, you are losing employees to companies that allow working from home. Please use these reviews to take us from a great company to an AMAZING company.

      Paychex2019-07-07

      Paychex Response

      July 9, 2019Employer Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your 15+ years with Paychex. You’ve shared some constructive feedback that we’ll be sharing internally.

    • "i dont have any at the moment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Online Technical Support Representative 

        I worked at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        i dont have any at the moment

        Cons

        i dont have any at the moment thank you

        Paychex2019-07-16
      • "Phenomenal company to work for!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Family atmosphere No competition internally Sales reps are compensated when referring Safe Harbor 401k which allows anyone even HCE’s to max out contributions at IRS limits

        Cons

        None that I can think of.

        Paychex2019-06-30

        Paychex Response

        July 8, 2019Employer Brand Manager

        Hello and thanks for taking the time to let us know your experience here at Paychex! We’re so happy to hear that you see so many pros to working here and can’t think of any cons. We’d love to chat with you about why you aren’t confident recommending Paychex to a friend, though. ...

        Show More
      Found 2164 reviews