Poundland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Poundland Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 357 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Poundland CEO Barry Williams
Barry Williams
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, no thanks and no help or support as the support centre know very little(in 15 reviews)

  • "Stop converting to self service tills - customers hate them(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Poundland part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work as long as the people that you work with are nice.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Poundland2019-07-03
  2. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

      I worked at Poundland part-time

      Pros

      Easy to get the job

      Cons

      There are only part time contracts

      Poundland2019-07-15
    • "Fantasic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Retail Supervisor in Banbridge, Northern Ireland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Poundland full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There training is fantasic, they let you get in with it. And there is always over time.

      Cons

      Long hours including holidays, short staffed,

      Poundland2019-07-08
    • "Job at Poundland"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Clothing Manager in Streatham, England

        I have been working at Poundland full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good team work enjoying atmosphere

        Cons

        Bad pay far distance from home

        Advice to Management

        Nothing

        Poundland2019-06-28
      • "Working as Sales Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

          I have been working at Poundland part-time

          Pros

          Part-time work on weekends not bad

          Cons

          Not much to say about

          Poundland2019-07-08
        • "Poor pay and excessive working hours"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Poundland full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Simple and requires very little actual management from yourself

          Cons

          The workload is excessive so be prepared to be stocking shelves for 75% of your day. You're contracted to 40 hours per week however they expect a 9 hour day of which they say you have an hour lunch but you will be very lucky to get the full hour. Most managers work about 50-60 hours per week. Good staff is hard to find a min wage is paid and supervisors get 30p extra so staff don't really want progression. You are...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Work-life balance is very important and having a lack of this will get managers unengaged and hate the job. Managers bonus is a joke and they get very little for a very hard physical job.

          Poundland2019-07-06
        • "Had worse jobs"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland

            I have been working at Poundland full-time for less than a year

            Pros

            Plenty of hours, free uniform, easy to get into, above NMW

            Cons

            Unpaid breaks, short shifts, no staff discount (only on clothes)

            Advice to Management

            Give staff longer hours and less shifts.

            Poundland2019-06-21
          • "Friendly staff and decent place"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Customer Advocate in London, England
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            No Opinion of CEO

            I worked at Poundland part-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Decent place to work part time. Friendly staff and good environment to work in

            Cons

            Can be frustrating but expected from retail job

            Advice to Management

            listen to your employees

            Poundland2019-06-18
          • "Hi I don’t know"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Sales Associate 

              I worked at Poundland part-time

              Pros

              Good fun experience Good people

              Cons

              It was early shifts I didn’t enjoy

              Poundland2019-06-18
            • "Supportive line management and a good atmosphere on the shop floor."

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Store Assistant in Barnsley, South West England, England
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I worked at Poundland full-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Good variation of work and a buddy system was in place to support me when I first started.

              Cons

              During busy periods, the management didn't always support me.

              Advice to Management

              Listen to your employees as they are on the shop floor they have a greater understanding of the customers needs.

              Poundland2019-06-13
            Found 357 reviews