Poundland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Poundland Reviews

Updated 6 November 2017
252 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Andy Bond
19 Ratings

252 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Friendly staff, great store manager, lots of hors available (in 12 reviews)

  • Great team members quality work good experience (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Some long hours but they have to be done but as your working as a team amd work close together they go though what your going though and help you along (in 10 reviews)

  • Bullying senior management, no fairness or equality in the HR processes (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Poundland part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shift and very Good Pension

    Cons

    not the best of Pay for the Job been done

    Poundland Response

    10 Nov 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review


  2. "In transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Store teams
    Job security
    Customers
    Fun and freindly
    Fast paced
     challenging
    Direction the business is now going
    Positivity

    Cons

    Not enough support to retail from csc but it is improving
    Sometimes comunications come across patronizing

    Advice to Management

    Live the values
    Keep the communication flowing


  3. "Manager position in Poundland store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great area managers, good salary, good job if you enjoy merchandising, hands on and fun place to work

    Cons

    Very physical job, staffs hours being reduced but tasking increasing, too much double jobbing and senior management store visits and expectations are becoming a bit much

    Advice to Management

    Reduce tasking if reducing wage budgets, store visits are now too frequent and becoming counter productive to prep for when theres so much else to be busy with

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for your comments. As you mention, everyone in the business works hard and the people are great! If you have any concerns whilst working for the company we urge you to discuss these internally... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I'd like to be part of this time because I can develop myself and work with a people. This one help me to know how to deal with them.

    Cons

    I don't have at the moment.

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you are enjoying your job with Poundland and good luck for your future career with us!


  6. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Every new initiative is just another stick with which to beat you, at every level they demonstrate a lack of faith in their people.

    Cons

    Some of the employees care but it's a minority

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and if you want a job doing right make sure you communicate it right first time... Don't keep moving your goal posts and have realistic expectations based on the resources at your disposal

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Most companies experience change at one time or another, however, we are confident that any changes being implemented are for the better, and important... More


  7. "employee at poundland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Bangor, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    you get to interact a lot with the customers, it is a very relaxing environment and you are always given something to do.

    Cons

    the management of the company is appalling, the supervisors are rude to other staff and holidays are never right which is very frustrating.


  8. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Newcastle, England
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    None any more and won't be in the future

    Cons

    Everything about the job from a CEO that thinks he's still running a supermarket to a hr dept that can't run a marathon let alone a dept to area managers that just kiss ur backside to save there own jobs

    Advice to Management

    Restructuring at the top is needed bring back jim

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Most companies experience change at one time or another, however, we are confident that any changes being implemented are for the better, and important... More


  9. "Management issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant - Checkouts in Salisbury, England
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant - Checkouts in Salisbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Poundland part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some really friendly and chatty customers.

    Cons

    Two faced members of staff and under trained management.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your staff and encourage customer relations.

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We review and cascade all comments on a regular basis.


  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    There is little to speak about that is good in Poundland. A business that was great fun and knew exactly what it was a couple of years ago has become deluded and poisoned by its new senior management from within the company. The senior retail leadership - if we can call it this, have systematically destroyed a great and unique business - turning it into a mish-mash of confused and conflicting messages trying to be a core discounter but also wanting the standards of the big four, with slim, non existent wage budgets.

    Cons

    A fear culture, where repeated and targeted visits dish out bile and anger in equal portion. Directors of sales are unrealistic and have little connection with what is really going on within their stores. Area managers spend their time bouncing from one crisis to another preparing the red carpet for directors, steinhoff and any other visitors we have to schmooze. Everything needs fixing in 48hours and it's expected the area and store manager work 24 hrs a day if necessary. The business is an utter shambles and it breaks my heart. Days off are regularly destroyed by emails and phone calls. I am never allowed to switch off. I feel exhausted with the drone of non-communication this business spews out. People within Poundland will know exactly what I am talking about, but we are all trapped. Having joined a lovely dynamic business - now finding ourselves tainted with the stigma of Poundland. No one wants us now.

    Advice to Management

    Remove everyone senior from willenhall and start again.

    Poundland Response

    6 Oct 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Most companies experience change at one time or another, however, we are confident that any changes being implemented are for the better, and important... More


  11. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst - IT in Darlaston, England
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst - IT in Darlaston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Poundland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Greate people to work with in my department
    Interesting job
    Something new to learn and fix every day

    Cons

    Long hours
    Underpaid
    Lack of progression
    Job can be mundane. Fix the same issues for the same stores day in and day out when you advise store staff what causes the issue and how not to repeat it they continue causing the same issue over and over

    Advice to Management

    Provide better pay and progression for a team that works incredibly hard with staff losses
    Provide better work life balance
    Listen to your staff

    Poundland Response

    13 Sep 2017 – Head of Talent & Engagement

    Thanks for your comments. As you mention, everyone in the business works hard and the people are great! If you have any concerns whilst working for the company we urge you to discuss these... More


Showing 252 of 268 reviews
Reset Filters