Rightmove Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Rightmove CEO Peter Brooks-Johnson (no image)
Peter Brooks-Johnson
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people, team ethic, nice bonuses, two parties a year, positive spirit(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people and a great company who put you first(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "My plan was to stay 3 years take the shares and go. 5 years on I'm still there."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rightmove full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment. Fast paced, agile and warming.

    Cons

    This one's a bit difficult to fill in. I hear salaries aren't as competitive as other companies, but I'm happy with mine.

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Great to read your experience and to have you a part of the team 5 years on. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  2. "Quite relaxed place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good onboarding program, they really invest in training and developing people, flat hierarchy

    Cons

    Specifically in my BU there was not a lot of growth opportunities, after a while the day to day turns a bit monotonous.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Nice place but New management "too busy" to care."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * I worked for Rightmove for over 2 years. * It is a good company with a lot of good tech and principles in place. * Some teams have good team leads and they put their heart in the work they do. * Some good modern stack in places and ambitious plans. * A lot of very lovely and honest people. * Nice relaxed atmosphere with very understanding team leads who try to help people. * CEO actually cares and its a very approachable guy.

    Cons

    * Some people who care only about themselves and their career prospects. * A lot of great people left after changes by newly hired senior management. * The new senior management ignored the company values and without much consultation proposed changes in a disrespectful way to developers showing they have zero heart. * Generally quite isolating experience socially. * Some people on their phones during meetings being disrespectful to others.

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 20, 2020

    I am sorry to read this is how you felt when leaving Rightmove. Changes to how we are structured to deliver were shared in December. I do recognise and appreciate these did not feel right for you. I am sorry your experience felt like lots of "management terms" we fell short of ourselves to you, as this is not a way we set ourselves out to be. I understand and am thankful that people do care. This is what we set out to be as a company, we do care, but have clearly fallen short for how you feel. I and others have sought out to understand frustrations. Sadly, this hasn't changed how you feel. Again, I am sorry you felt like this when you left. Zoe Martin - Head of People

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly, exciting and fun company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rightmove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are lots of friendly faces at Rightmove, and the majority of co-workers are easy to get along with. Offices in Soho are nice. Great culture and also really great parties in the summer and at Christmas!! Working on a portal used by millions of people a day is rewarding.

    Cons

    They seem to struggle with hiring talented senior engineers. Shame, because I want to be surrounded by interesting, experienced and talented people in my job role. Senior management are also not particularly transparent or approachable.

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Its great to read you are enjoying being part of team and the opportunity to impact the experience of the millions using Rightmove daily. There are many employment opportunities for talented engineers in the marketplace at the moment. We are working on ensuring we stand out amongst these. It is important to us that you feel you can approach anyone at Rightmove. If I can help in anyway with this, please reach out. Zoe Martin - Head of People & Development

  5. Helpful (6)

    "This place sucked balls"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time

    Pros

    There is none. Everything is fake

    Cons

    Everything. People are nice to begin with but then then true colours show. All smoke and mirrors and most people are fake. Avoid like the plague.

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    I am sorry to read you feel this way about your time working with us. We do place a lot of focus on listening to what people say. In response to your advice to management comment, we do listen. In our employee sentiment survey for 2019, 77% of employees shared that they could approach there manger to share thoughts and ideas. I am sorry it didn't feel this way to you. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work but can be very cliquey"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busineess Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great opportunity to work on one of the biggest websites in the country * Other BAs / POs were fab to work with and we were starting to build a community * Dev teams were good

    Cons

    * Very cliquey and this is from the management down. If you aren't in the clique you aren't included in decision making and opportunities pass you by. It's hard to get into the clique * Changes are presented as a final decision rather than allowing people to feed in their own thoughts - this is especially difficult when it impacts teams and individuals * Management can be very hard to get hold of and aren't always very supportive

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Pro's and Con's. It is regrettable that you have felt it is cliquey. We will be working with your feedback. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Don’t be misled by the positive reviews – they are put there by managers/HR to try and attract staff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time

    Pros

    Good brand to have on your CV. The company is worth £££££ – you get free shares (you have to stay working there 3 years to qualify), sharesave, nice lakeside setting. Free fruit and free water/tea/coffee. People at non-management level are great, some genuinely good people who tend not to last very long. If you are fresh out of school/college/university, it might be worth spending a year or so there to see how a company of that size operates.

    Cons

    As many of the reviews have pointed out – the mid/senior managers are truly, truly awful. They form a clique with other managers, so feel immune from criticism/blame, some of them genuinely believe they are superior ‘people’, simply due to their job title . Watch out for the ridiculously huge ego’s. Many of them have no prior experience in the roles they are asked to do. Do you really want to work for a team leader/manager who's never managed people before? The workloads are huge, systems poor bordering on prehistoric and customers really don’t like you. People seem to be promoted on if they are ‘liked’ rather than talent in their role. Managers seem dangerously out of touch with everyday concerns from the rank and file and more concerned about how they will look to those above them in the food chain, especially the ‘heads of’ or directors. If you point out a better, more efficient way of performing a task, you will be labelled ‘negative’ or your idea will be stolen by management who will take the credit. Every small thing you do will be criticised to the point where your motivation will be drained away and you’ll end up doing the bare minimum just to get by. A cult like feeling permeates throughout the company. Admit you have friends outside Rightmove, if you are not keen on spending all your free time, including weekends, with your new colleagues, be prepared be labelled ‘not a team player’ and passed over, your thoughts/ideas will be dismissed and you’ll be ignored. They keep on telling the staff what a ‘great place to work’ Rightmove is, but they have no awards or outside recognition to prove it, just a survey where you have to choose yes or no to the question ‘Do you think Rightmove is a great place to work’! Just look at some of the other reviews! Most of the HR team seem to be in relationships with other managers from within the business, they are more interested in covering mistakes from their pals rather than making the company a better fairer place to work. Relationships between colleagues are actively encouraged and bullying/discrimination is rife. Parking is a nightmare also.

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. I am really sorry that your experience at Rightmove did not match our intention of being a great place to work. We take your feedback seriously. To address a few of your points , none of the positive reviews are written by members of the HR team or all Managers. If you would like to share more about your experience which has left you with such a negative sentiment about your time with us, please contact me by emailing zoe.martin@rightmove.co.uk so that we can set up a time to talk. If you are reading this review and it has promoted concerns for you please do not hesitate to get in touch. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed feelings"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feeling of camaraderie in our team, we all kept each other going. Nice modern offices Opportunities to learn and progress - very good training. Fantastic parties Good communication between teams Great name to get on CV

    Cons

    I mainly enjoyed my time at Rightmove but over time it became a very negative working environment. The customers couldn't stand us, and we were never able to just end the call even if someone was being verbally abusive, it was very 'stick to the script'. I also felt like the Senior Managers were very out of touch with the day to day running of things. My manager never wanted to take escalation calls so we were just left to deal with it. A really Senior manager (no longer there) was completely erratic and behaved very inappropriately. It was 'just how he is' and management never batted an eyelid. Parking is also a nightmare.

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do value your feedback and take on board your advice shared. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desktop Support Analyst in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, team ethic, nice bonuses, two parties a year, positive spirit

    Cons

    Sudden changes without proper planning, promises not kept, (unfortunately) some individuals make it frustrating

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I hope your new role is working out for you. If we do have the right role come up for you, please get in touch. We do have a number of people who have left and returned to us over the years. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Cult like place to work"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TAM in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rightmove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be a fun office to work in

    Cons

    The more senior people are the stranger they are. If you aren't in their cult they cut you off.

    Continue reading

    Rightmove Response

    March 3, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take your advice seriously and do listen and take positive steps of action wherever possible. Zoe Martin - Head of People and Development

Found 102 reviews