Royal Mail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal Mail Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Royal Mail CEO Rico Back
Rico Back
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay Early starts/early finish(in 151 reviews)

  • "Early finish active role with some control(in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "No full time positions for the first 3 years(in 42 reviews)

  • "You don't finish your day until your run is complete, making it difficult just to work part time if that's why you applied(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Extremely nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Engineering Apprenticeship in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full time available, and great salary depending on your age

    Cons

    Requirement process is quiet difficult

    Royal Mail2020-01-24
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with kind of get to be your own boss

    Cons

    long working hours over christmas

    Royal Mail2020-01-22
  3. "great way to get fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great way to get fit. finish work when you are done not at a set time

    Cons

    it can be quite stressful

    Royal Mail2020-01-16
  4. "Christmas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual 

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with and great environment

    Cons

    The shift times were a little difficult

    Royal Mail2020-01-16
  5. "Opportunities to develop were second to none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Sales Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture, flexibility, development opportunities, benefits, people, support, diversity and inclusion. I've always maintained that working inside a large company such as RM can made individuals complacent. Never underestimate what you learn - it can be a truly valuable asset for roles outside of the business

    Cons

    Process and bureaucracy can be frustrating but it goes with the territory of such a large business

    Advice to Management

    Keep valuing and developing your employees

    Royal Mail2020-01-14
  6. "Great job for those who like the outdoors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Royal Mail is a great place to work for those who like being outside and for the most part working independently.

    Cons

    As a new starter, you can get moved from round to round quite a lot which can make it hard to learn the job. Some of the management can also be less than helpful at times.

    Royal Mail2020-01-10
  7. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving in Romsey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work with a great team and good management. Family friendly working hours

    Cons

    Early starts British weather lapsing and Company uncertainty

    Advice to Management

    More information on how company is changing

    Royal Mail2020-01-09
  8. "Great Company to grow in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Solutions Analyst 

    I have been working at Royal Mail full-time

    Pros

    I've been here 6 years, since my teens, if you come in with drive and work hard you there are the opportunities to do well here. The pay, people and work is great if you look in the right corners and the opportunities to move around are endless and quite open.

    Cons

    Senior management, at times, lack in cascading messages on the business vision and when they do, sometimes they are confused. This can sometimes lead us to be misguided about the work we are doing and lacking in motivation. Leaders of past were much better at communicating with their colleagues at all levels.

    Advice to Management

    Cascade and spend time with staff at all levels, from my experience here it makes a big big difference.

    Royal Mail2020-01-07
  9. "Good company, friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postman in Stockton-on-Tees, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits Not too challenging Always overtime available

    Cons

    Pressure British weather can be difficult

    Royal Mail2020-01-07
  10. "Excellent pay, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and sick policies are excellent. Plenty of free time and a relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    Poor career progression, seniority valued over talent. Money is not being spent on investment.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more money on new technologies, and stop excessive cost cutting.

    Royal Mail2020-01-21
Found 1123 reviews