Royal Mail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Royal Mail Reviews

Updated 4 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Royal Mail CEO Rico Back
Rico Back
159 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay Early starts/early finish(in 160 reviews)

  • "Early finish active role with some control(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "No full time positions for the first 3 years(in 43 reviews)

  • "Management and working 19 years on a part time contract(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postman in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Team & Good exercise

    Cons

    You get wet sometimes

    Continue reading
    Royal Mail2020-03-27
  2. "Burslem Depo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dominos Delivery Driver in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time

    Pros

    Out doors, customer service job, good rates of pay.

    Cons

    Long drive into work from Creww

    Continue reading
    Royal Mail2020-04-04
  3. "Real honest review needed for 2020"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postman in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, Great banter, Become part of the family, Get to know locals and customers like friends.

    Cons

    Part Time contract needs to be scrapped, Not fair how part timers get treated compared to full timers. If candidate A who picks up all the overtime is treated worse than Candidate B who is full time contract as been with the company 10 years. Why cant we all be treated the same? On same contract and same hours. When part timers go on holiday they are only getting paid 25 hours basic?? When there really working 35 to 40 hours per week on overtime.

    Continue reading
    Royal Mail2020-04-03
  4. "Standard Big Company - Not setting the world on fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of PMO in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is above average Invest in professional development/subscriptions

    Cons

    24/7 operation and expectation is that you give blood for the above average pay Lip service paid to work/life balance and diversity (the people/culture does not respond well to any change) Gets bogged down by office politics - very command and control culture, compounded by being heavily union-centric

    Continue reading
    Royal Mail2020-04-01
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Mail Sorter in Hounslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly and comfortable environment to work in

    Cons

    Can get really busy during the Christmas period.

    Continue reading
    Royal Mail2020-03-17
  6. "Hard work Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postman/Woman With Driving 

    I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early starts and early finish Good pay

    Cons

    Work almost every weekend If you don’t have your own walk which is unlikely unless your with the company 5yrs* then it’s extremely stressful Unorganised Management do not care for personal problem such as childcare sickness etc

    Royal Mail2020-03-29
  7. "royal mail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time

    Pros

    good colleagues nice canteen prayer room

    Cons

    long hours poor pay hard work all the time

    Royal Mail2020-03-15
  8. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Casual in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Good hours Good pay

    Cons

    No cons for this company, can’t fault them at all

    Royal Mail2020-03-14
  9. "Good place to work, very active, tiring as a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postwoman 
    Recommends

    I worked at Royal Mail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally really nice people your working with Great pay which makes the tiring days much better Stable company Overtime paid for

    Cons

    Heavy loads, especially big parcels Worked as a 'spare' so had no clue what I was doing day to day until I got in The weather..... Tight time schedules normally finishing late at least 1 day a week Job Seemed almost full-time

    Royal Mail2020-03-12
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Mail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the uniform

    Cons

    Early starts can sometimes leave me too tired for her in doors

    Royal Mail2020-03-09
Found 1172 reviews