SMRS Reviews

Updated 7 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 19 reviews

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
SMRS Managing Partners Toby Windsor and Richard Lewis (no image)
Toby Windsor and Richard Lewis
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Really welcoming

    19 Feb 2021 - Digital Operations in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredibly friendly and inclusive workplace

    Cons

    Nothing major from my side

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for such a positive review!

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst place I've ever worked

    7 Jun 2021 - Copywriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free fruit? That's literally all I can think of.

    Cons

    There are many. I actually left in 2016 and it was the best decision I ever made. I received barely any training, just micro-management of my work for months on end. It was almost impossible to progress my career and learn new skills. The only people who did see my potential either left or were frozen out of the Leadership team (and I use the term 'Leadership' very loosely). My line manager's idea of a performance review would be a (one-sided) shouting match, whenever it felt convenient for them to let off some steam. I'd then be encouraged not to be so downtrodden after being shouted at and ridiculed for an hour. I was expected to come in every day with a smile on my face, act professional and stay until at least 7.30 for no reason other than 'that's what you do here'. Certain members of the Leadership team felt that the best way to get their point across was to stomp over to the Studio team, scream at their chosen victim, and then walk off crying because THEY were clearly the one hard done by. Other times, we'd get passive-aggressive emails or menacing phone calls on their days off. I see some of the reviews on here are from 2016, around the same time I left, and I wonder whether they saw the same things I did or were encouraged not to mention them. Let's talk about attrition, shall we? When I left I was the 31st person in 15 months to leave, meaning that attrition that year was almost 50%. Not surprising, given that the tasks we were asked to do were mind-numbing at best and near-impossible at worst. All in all, it's the worst place I've ever worked. I'm glad I left and I have no positive things to say.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Tight-knit agency that punches above its weight

    16 Aug 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great place to work.

    Cons

    HQ in Manchester takes some getting used to.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for a great review and for all your work during all these years!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Positive and nurturing environment

    25 Nov 2019 - Social Media Executive in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and Great people

    Cons

    nothing at al really to be honest

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your positive feedback, we're glad to hear it!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Client Partner

    21 Jan 2019 - Client Partner in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, friendly, no-nonsense northern sensibility but some really smart people, never content to settle. Really happy to let people develop their careers in ways they want and try to accommodate ambitions and to back this up with training. They have worked hard to transform the agency into delivery of cutting edge work and doing interesting, profitable work for a wide range of clients.

    Cons

    Sometimes communication is not all it could be.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you very much for sharing your honest thoughts and for highlighting what could be improved.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great open friendly place to work

    25 Apr 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of energy, creativity, curiosity and great ideas. Really friendly, very down to earth people who know how to have fun!

    Cons

    None I have found yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    We're very happy to hear this, thanks for your opinion!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    SMRS

    19 Mar 2019 - Client Partner in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People Culture Flexibility Support Exciting new areas of development Sector leading expertise and products It’s enjoyable going to work!

    Cons

    It can get very busy so managing that is a challenge

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for your feedback and sharing not only the pros but cons as well. We appreciate your honesty.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Family

    3 Jul 2016 - Digital Operations Specialist in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are many great reasons to work at SMRS. Apart from getting Pizza, cakes and fresh fruit, the people here are a varied and diverse bunch and you will enjoy working with them. Everybody will help each other if required and you feel you can talk to anyone. I have some great memories here and it was a difficult decision to leave...Honestly, I hope I can return some day and be part of the family once again.

    Cons

    Like any job, you will feel the pressure and stress. That's why it's called work. I don't think there is any one thing that I could say that would reflect negatively on the company as a whole. I felt trusted, respected and a great ambassador of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for your honest review! We are glad you enjoyed all the aspects of SMRS! Good luck with your next phase in your career.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Many happy years at SMRS

    11 Feb 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at SMRS for many years and always loved the fast paced, ever changing, dynamic environment. There are lots of really hard working, talented and fun people. Both of our offices are spacious, nice environments with great tech and facilities, in central locations. The benefits are very good in terms of 30 days' holiday, flexible working, pension and training opportunities. In some roles you get car allowances if you need to travel to see clients.

    Cons

    As our jobs are to deliver high quality services to our clients, this can mean that we sometimes have to go that extra mile for a client and stay late, work over a lunch or get in early. It's a high pressured environment so its not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    HR Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are glad you are enjoying all the aspects of SMRS!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Family

    12 Jul 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    3 months in and feel like I have been here for such a long time. Welcomed and respected by all. As an expert in your role you are trusted to get on with your job. You walk a way each day knowing you can make a difference. Thoroughly enjoyed the summer event and cant wait for the Christmas Party . The ridiculous amounts of cake and pizza I have eaten in 3 months . I look forward to the daily fruit basket LOL.

    Cons

    Great environment but always busy . If you thrive off being busy you will love working here . I do my day goes so quick.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SMRS Response

    HR Manager

    Welcome to the family. Thank you for your positive review! We are glad you are enjoying all the aspects of SMRS!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with SMRS Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SMRS? Share Your Experiences

SMRS logo
or