Safran Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Safran Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Safran CEO & Director Philippe Petitcolin
Philippe Petitcolin
214 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "ographique difficile et beaucoup d'inertie(in 29 reviews)

  • "Trop de regard sur les heures de travail (on ne peut pas passer au dessus 35 h)(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Aerospace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in Braintree, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    World wide group with robust processes

    Cons

    I can't see any cons

    Safran2019-11-21
  2. "High Stress, High Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, Technology, Interesting, Travel, Rewards

    Cons

    Stress, Pressure, Expectation, Work/life balance, Values

    Safran2019-11-22
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Pitstone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and scheme at Safran

    Cons

    Location is not great, in the Midlands

    Safran2019-10-11
  4. "the company is france based so expect alot of french speaking people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Energy Efficiency Engineer in Tring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    money good for the duration i was working

    Cons

    bad management, more contractors then actually employees

    Advice to Management

    impove their attitude towards contractors

    Safran2019-11-05
  5. "Just Terrible all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It Pays at the end of the month

    Cons

    Lack of communication from shop foremans or as they call it (Flow leaders) not leading by working alongside their own blokes but would rather sink them in very shady ways. These same flow Leaders do not have any knowledge of what work goes on in their sections and choose to ignore them unless they come under the firing line from upper Management. Managers making horrible remarks on employees, shift adjustments every... year to suit 'the business needs' but actually ends up doing more damage to the company and messing the empolyees about. Poor health and safety on site and choose to block off certain fire exits, machines break on a weekly basis rather than investing in new machines. Hand tools that go missing every other shift and have a bizarre process on ordering new kit. No career progression unless your in the click or have family friends here or I recommend playing Golf in your spare time as you will go very far in this company. one rule for one person but different for another person. And last but not least this company hates valid criticism. Please avoid MRO at all cost as this company will not value your skillset or beliefs, there are many other engineering companies out there that are doing much more to benefit your life in and out of work. A shame really as the work in general is quite interesting but ruined by petty little things.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually treat your staff with respect and not as little kids. We are not a number but a human being.

    Safran2019-10-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Extreamly bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitter Mro in Pitstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay a wage at the end of the month

    Cons

    Over all a poor company to work for. One rule for one one rule for another. Extreamly unsympathetic to personal problems, staff are treated like kids, stupid parking rules, to much red tape, to many hoops to jump through and a two hour strip down can take up to 3 days due to red tape and waiting on other people. The director is more of a dictator!

    Advice to Management

    Get some respect for your staff and treat everyone fairly!

    Safran2019-10-08
  7. "Avoid MRO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Not Even A Number 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Safran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy money, but only if job satisfaction is not important, being treated with respect is something you do not require to feel valued at work and you are in no way quality focused. Plenty of opportunities to progress... If you have a family member or close friend within management, if not, get comfortable exactly where you are.

    Cons

    The environment is toxic, petty and very unfriendly.

    Safran2019-09-21
  8. "Still undervaluing engineers and technical staff using non-starter excuses."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer 

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Since taking over Zodiac Aerospace, Safran is bringing fresh air into the company culture, value system and finally holding some accountability on neglectful, contentious middle to upper management behaviour.

    Cons

    Middle management culture still taking time to change, still politically compromised by certain senior individuals holding back the technical and engineering staff for personal credit and gain.

    Advice to Management

    Read the appraisals.

    Safran2019-08-03
  9. "Great People - Great Technology - Great Heritage - Not so great Directors & Politics wins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Luton, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safran full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People - passionate & motivated Great Technology Great Heritage Innovative Technology

    Cons

    Directors have no clue how to manage employees Micromanagement Directors unable to prioritise Teams overworked Senior & Mid-Managers under-valued and unappreciated Poor communication

    Advice to Management

    Trust your management teams Do not micromanage Learn to change Learn to communicate

    Safran2019-08-01
  10. "People are just amazing and Management need to focus on improving the processes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Pitstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are really friendly and always ready to help. Whenever I requested a training I was sent to the preferred training. I have progressed in my career since going Safran. Really good benefits i.e. Shares Scheme, Employee benefit website, pension scheme.

    Cons

    Senior management focused more on 6S and other non-critical guidelines. Scrapping dress down Friday and naming the stairs after the MD is highly unnecessary. Some departments do a lot of micro management.

    Advice to Management

    Lack of communication needs to be address. All the project leads before promoting needs to be trained. Experienced Engineer should mentor junior engineer on their start day. Focus needs to be shifted from things like 6s, stairs, carpark and clothing to things like process improvement and production line.

    Safran2019-07-10
Found 825 reviews