Sahara Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

4.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sahara Founder Suzy Coppersmith-Heaven (no image)
Suzy Coppersmith-Heaven
5 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great experience

    Jul 22, 2021 - Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, fantastic culture, rewarding work.

    Cons

    I don't really have any cons to be honest. It's a good time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Supervisor review

    Mar 6, 2020 - Supervisor in Bury St Edmunds, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for. Every member of staff I worked with was very approachable, professional and lovely. Always felt supported by both my team and head office.

    Cons

    No extra pay for overtime.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Oct 5, 2016 - Human Resources Assistant in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Sahara for a year in Head Office, but worked closely with Senior Management across all of Sahara stores. The best thing about working at Sahara is definitely working with passionate and talented individuals who are all incredibly dedicated in driving the business forward. It's a relatively small company so you get the benefits of working in small teams, having your voice heard, and getting lots of support.

    Cons

    One of the only cons to Sahara is that due to the size of the company, particularly in the shops that only tend to have 5/6 employees per store, promotions don't come as quickly as they would in a much larger chain/bigger stores - however, during my time I always felt that management were keen to develop those that were hungry for it and moves from the shops to Head Office were always considered where it was possible.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Wonderful company to work for- caring, fun, and they treat you like family

    Oct 12, 2016 - Manager in Bristol, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sahara is a great company to work for no matter your age. In our store we have had a mix of different age groups all willing to spread the word to the local area about the brand. The company is a professionally run family business and they really care about their staff and customers. I have worked for some big brand labels throughout my career and I have never felt as valued as I did at Sahara. You are not just a number as some of these big companies treat you, you are a valued member of the team. The owners are lovely and very approachable and genuinely interested on knowing about you and your thoughts about the business. They listen to you and your needs, they help you develop your skills, they train you very well in my opinion. You can always ring the area manager (who is firm but fair and a great sense of humour!) head office, any store and they all help you. It's a team effort we are all there for each other and to help each other out. If you are a manger you get to go to fashion shows to see the new collection and they want YOUR feedback they want to know what you think, what your customers want. They LISTEN. They do store visits and give constructive criticism they are there to guide you. They listen to the staff and have regular appraisals to make sure you are happy. Customer service is important to them as you are the forefront of the business so you have to know the label and the fabrics well- they train you on this. They are not in the dark ages, very much the opposite they have computer scanning POS systems in place and you are trained on all of this and monitored to check that you know what you are doing. Our team in our store (as are the other stores) are all there for a common goal- to achieve sale results because we love who we work for because they treat us well. They are not a hard sell company, they would like repeat business so they ask that you sell to the public buy guiding them to try a different fit of clothing or a different style. A much more gentle listening approach with customers which is why we become good friends with some of our customers because we know their needs and have repeat business. The stores radiate a happy atmosphere. Of course you can't make everyone happy and I guess those people leave for their own reasons. What company have you ever worked for that send your Easter eggs for all your staff, play fun target based games to play against other stores with great rewards for all the staff if you win, Christmas dinner allowance with your team, thoughtful helpful emails if you are having a difficult time In your store and how to problem solve, a weekly biscuit allowance?.. !!!! I could go on. The company does value all individuals that work there whether you are management or not. They have always helped to develop individuals where they can. I never regretted a day working there. It was a privilege to work for them and I would not hesitate in going back (I left for personal reasons)

    Cons

    Had to really think about this! There is a lot to learn with the training on the labels and barcodes so that you can correspond with other stores over the telephone. It may seem daunting to start with but the training is good and each season it gets easier as you remember from the season before. There are quiet times in store i.e like half term can be quiet but if you have a good team leader .. There is always something to do! Pay is relative to the size of the company but the company is growing yearly. You are told about the pay when you start and it's certainly in line with other stores of a similar size. Annual reviews are given and they reward you for your loyalty and how well your store is doing, so if you acheive target you get rewarded. If you stay with them for years they reward you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Copywriter at Sahara

    Jun 13, 2017 - Copywriter in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sahara is a family run business that started small but is experiencing a massive growth spurt. This makes it an exciting environment, which still maintains its own unique culture. The fairly small team works very closely together so that everyone feels involved in all aspects of the business, which is great. As the company is growing, there is a lot of exciting opportunities and projects. Overall, a wonderful work environment.

    Cons

    Work hours are typically 10 am - 6 pm, so there isn't much of an opportunity for flex hours. This isn't a problem for most, as many of us like a later start.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company inter est ing

    Apr 10, 2021 - Chauffeur/Tourist Guide in Algiers
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company interesting company benifict

    Cons

    Good company benefic nice very good

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good executive director

    May 17, 2021 - Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Linguistically specific services for south Asian victims

    Cons

    The Work culture was ok

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Cool

    May 8, 2020 - Slot Shift Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice place to work at

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say at all

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Executive Assistant

    May 15, 2018 - Executive Assistant in Lagos
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working here. New things daily,challenging and rewarding. Keeps Me on my toes and I am constantly innovation and evolving.

    Cons

    Very time consuming, impromptu schedules. Long hours.no extra pay for over time. It could be better and more professional

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    designer

    Jul 18, 2018 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am passionate designer .

    Cons

    Work for five years in sahara company .

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Work at Sahara? Share Your Experiences

Sahara logo
or