Sephora Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sephora Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Sephora CEO Chris de Lapuente
Chris de Lapuente
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is good but sometimes this means they offer less hours(in 243 reviews)

  • "No work life balance if you are a full time employee(in 118 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Makeup pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist 

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was great hours and friends

    Cons

    None at all loved it

    Sephora2019-06-26
  2. "I came in with the right skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sephora Girl in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great access to cosmetics and other luxury products at discounted staff price. Good opportunity to grow and move within the company when showing the right skills. I love the samples, I can take them weekly. Amazing customers.

    Cons

    I didn't receive specific training for the role. Most of it involved face to face and communication skills. I was put on certain targets that I had to hit. The reason I got really good was because of a past work experience and training with Mr Boyd Parker focusing the team work and customer facing skills. Once I showed the same results with Sephora, I was then given more credit.

    Sephora2019-08-02
  3. "CRM Project Manager Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time

    Pros

    Amazing team, new projects everyday

    Cons

    Long hours, work and life time balance not always respected

    Sephora2017-12-02
  4. "beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora part-time

    Pros

    good discounts good environment good hours

    Cons

    petty workers discrimination sometimes hard to schedule off

    Sephora2017-10-10
  5. "Great place to learn & grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    •Strong company culture & values •Career advancement opportunities if you’re willing to work hard & apply feedback •Store teams feel like family •It’s an equal balance of having fun & working hard •Benefits & 401k matching options •Getting to work with clients and helping them feel their best is very rewarding •You’re allowed to be yourself & look however you want.. makeup/no makeup/tattoos/piercings

    Cons

    •”Work life balance” is not a real thing when it comes to retail •Favoritism and politics are becoming more frequent •Decreased focus on training employees •Kinda sorta turning into Ulta

    Advice to Management

    Integrity & honesty are really important when it comes to strengthening or weakening a company culture. Everything you do trickles down to the store level. Don’t be a robot, talk to us like we’re people & try to get to know the people working in your stores. Also, celebrate successes.

    Sephora2019-11-14
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid Level Management in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brand training, growth, development

    Cons

    Hours aren’t always conducive to having a family work life balance

    Sephora2019-11-11
  7. "Nice job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fragrance Consultant in Beachwood, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sephora part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked in different worlds at Sephora! Fragrance is one of my favorite worlds to work in. You get great fragrance training you learn about new fragrances plus you get free fragrance gratis.

    Cons

    Sometimes doing fragrance samples especially men's cologne can be a little annoying! But I understand that clients want to try the fragments before they buy it

    Advice to Management

    Try to develop cast members who have been with the company for a long time. Sometimes it seems like those who have been working for only 3-4 months get promoted faster than those who already been loyal with the company for years.

    Sephora2019-11-11
  8. "ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sephora full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, Fast paced, great team, really encouraged great work life balance values /management was great in the beginning

    Cons

    management at my store location did not develop you unless you were a favorite

    Advice to Management

    please look at the numbers your employees are pulling in and their customer satisfaction reviews when they are looking to grow in the company and don't play favorites

    Sephora2019-11-09
  9. "one of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Color Consultant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    loved working here. free makeup, fun environment, the discount, the friends - such a great job for someone who is in school and loves makeup!

    Cons

    the hours we tough because i worked at a location that didn’t close until midnight. retail in general is a hard lifestyle to maintain as an adult, so that’s something to keep in mind.

    Sephora2019-11-06
  10. "Fun Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Color Consultant 

    I worked at Sephora part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Getting the customer what they need and want!

    Cons

    No hours and seemed to be always understaffed?

    Advice to Management

    Not everyone is trying to steal. Allow your employees to make judgement calls.

    Sephora2019-11-06
Found 3800 reviews