Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner Chief Executive  Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
70 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some squads don't even need to exist at this point(in 11 reviews)

  • "Career progression is impossible unless you're not Brit working at the HQ or with many friends in the organization(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "The best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to build products, a very product centric organisation and culture. Building and shipping stuff here is very easy. Mission driven company, truly customer centric, all decisions are made in a data driven way with customers at the heart of how we operate Great team mates, people here are smart, ambitious and very humble. Interesting problems to work on, when you get to a certain level of scale, interesting problem spaces emerge that you wouldn't necessarily get to work on in small startups.

    Cons

    Working across circa 9 offices can sometimes cause communications challenges, but this would be the same in any global tech company and not specific to Skyscanner, it's really up to people to decide what scale of company makes sense for how they like to operate.

    Skyscanner2019-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best workplace I’ve worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with an amazing team where the vast majority of people get along with each other. Having the ability to work with new emerging technologies and having a world class workplace to do it in. The pay and benefits are good in my experience.

    Cons

    Progressing up a grade is extremely difficult unless you play the visibility game and saying the right things to the right people

    Skyscanner2020-02-07
  3. "Best place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working, Inspiring leaders, Ambitious, Autonomy, Trust

    Cons

    Can be tough to get promoted Salaries could be better

    Skyscanner2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "HR Games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing mindset, bright people and great mission. Respect and collaboration is key value in day to day interactions.

    Cons

    After many hours of demanding interviews, I got the job. Lots of talk of how the company respects people and that’s why the interviews are so hard! If you get through, you surely be rewarded. I was congratulated I did really well! Comes negotiation with HR, and yes, salary goes down but no one forced me to accept it (after all the trust talk... oh well). And then comes the email, they are actually offering a lower position than I applied for (and interviewed, passed the tests, and just accepted on the phone). Brilliant, great first impression, great way to break trust. Talked with some friends, and they went through exactly the same episode, some didn’t accept a lower position than they applied for (and went on to get a job at other company where got offered above their expectations), some did accept and end up frustrated (wondering why they negotiate so badly). Does HR gets bonus out of this or is it company policy to undervalue candidates after making them prove themselves worthy?

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-02-11
  5. "A nice environment and interesting problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * The people are generally nice and friendly * Operating at scale provides interesting challenges * Engineering is invested in, with good kit and good software * A lot of teams do truly practice continuous delivery, unlike elsewhere in the industry

    Cons

    * Technical direction tends to be top-down with a very opinionated technical leadership not leaving much room for autonomy or invention lower down in the organisation. The primary forum for company-wide technical direction is only open to engineers of principal rank and above. * In part as a result of the above things can be fairly slow to move and various sub-par internal tools are forced on developers. * Over the past couple of years seems to be becoming increasingly process-heavy in a way that is a distraction from actually getting the job done * Annual company meeting is getting increasingly cultish, last one featured chanting in unison

    Skyscanner2020-02-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skyscanner is a fantastic place to work - people and culture are its' greatest assets. I've been working in engineering for more than 15 years and I've never come across another place where almost everyone I encounter is positive, engaged and highly skilled at their job. There's no shortage of engineering challenges to take on and learn from but the company clearly values and invests in making it easy to do the right thing. Again, different to everywhere else I've worked, this company really lives and breathes it's values. At first, this can come across as almost cult like but you come to realise that everyone is genuinely committed to doing right by their customers and that's not a bad thing. It certainly beats working for a soulless corporate. Work/life balance is also a strong selling point - working from home policies are very flexible and there's no expectation to work long hours.

    Cons

    There are a number of reviews on here that talk about how hard it is to progress in engineering careers and how disconnected senior management are. Speaking personally, I genuinely don't recognise that description of the place so YMMV.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-01-30
  7. "Organisational mayhem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work in and get stuff done at your level.

    Cons

    Things get tricky when you need to collaborate. And given the way the company is organised, you need to collaborate a lot. There aren't a lot of independent teams here.. Which creates a lot of coordination overhead..

    Skyscanner2020-02-17
  8. "Excellent workplace, talented and helpful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All of the people that I met in Skyscanner were carefully selected so that to be co-operative and this is what made my life easier while working there.

    Cons

    Due to the huge growth in terms of people, the company ended up with a lot of people taking over people-management positions without having the required skills.

    Skyscanner2020-01-31
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company culture where you can truly speak your opinions to anyone regardless of hierarchy.

    Cons

    Not much meaty engineering work in the Edinburgh office.

    Skyscanner2020-02-13
  10. "Amazing company that deeply cares about it's stuff and costomers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely brilliant place with lots of world-class specialists and a deep care of it's core values. The company is on the route to change the world of travel for good with the scientific approach and huge focus on sustainability and modernisation. I'm incredibly proud to be par't of this journey.

    Cons

    Not much really. Lots of teams which can sow down the process, but it comes with every company that has crossed the 300 headcount :)

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-01-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 231 reviews