Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner CEO Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Agile, work-life balance, growth opportunities(in 29 reviews)

  • "There are many inspiring and great leaderships to learn from, flexible working environment as they put trust in each people to be productive(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some squads don't even need to exist at this point(in 11 reviews)

  • "No way for career progression even if you are doing your job well, as knowing the right people is the only way forward(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Skyscanner really cares abouts its staff, its customers and its partners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most engaged and available exec team I have ever worked with - Teams are truly empowered to deliver impact and adapt how they work

    Cons

    - facing the typical challenges of a company going through this stage of growth

    Skyscanner2019-08-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Friendly, intelligent colleagues who really work together to get things done. * Lots of change, always a new challenge to to work on. * Good work-life balance and flexible working hours. Skyscanner respects employees.

    Cons

    * The rate of change can be quick, which may not suit everyone.

    Skyscanner2019-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company is transparent with us on strategy and revenue - Work/life balance is second-to-none, remote working/working from abroad and flexible hours are the best I've experienced anywhere - Even though we're getting big, it's still relatively flat and easy to make an impact

    Cons

    - Tribe structure setup isn't great, especially for mobile engineers who are concentrated mostly in a single tribe but with others spread around the busines - We're getting better at delivering quickly but progress can feel slow at times

    Advice to Management

    - Set mobile engineers up for success with a cross-tribe chapter rather than a half-hearted single tribe

    Skyscanner2019-09-25
  4. "Good place for grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good onboarding process - easy to get integrated into team

    Cons

    Going for lunch and all cafes & shops are full of students

    Skyscanner2019-09-26
  5. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning culture, autonomy and help from Senior leadership team.

    Cons

    Can be more transparent on future plans

    Skyscanner2019-09-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Remains staggeringly ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked in Skyscanner for several years and it amazes me how ambitious the company is. Very little complacency, big ideas and a culture second to none. I've never worked somewhere where the culture is so profoundly important.

    Cons

    Big ideas brings big complexity, which causes stresses and strains

    Skyscanner2019-09-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Really enjoying work at Skyscanner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has given me a number of opportunities to continue learn & grow alongside similarly motivated and enthusiastic colleagues. I feel my managers have listened to my feedback over my first 12 months and that is appreciated.

    Cons

    Continued growth brings organisational and technical debt and things that worked yesterday may not work today. Not really a con - just flagging that there is a degree of ongoing change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening, keep supporting / encouraging and keep developing opportunities to learn and grow. Thanks.

    Skyscanner2019-08-23
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Enterprise thinking is causing engineering rot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work life balance 2. Striving hard for diversity

    Cons

    1. No clear way to grow 2. Too much enterprise thinking 3. Too much change ( every 6 month ) when it comes to Goals 4. Some squads don't even need to exist at this point

    Skyscanner2019-09-27
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Bulling and manipulative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most people are friendly, open and well meaning. - Comp and benefits are excellent. - Great work-life balance and work from home arrangements.

    Cons

    - Skyscanner wants to look open and inclusive, but I have found the middle management to be bulling and manipulative. - Nothing ever gets done: it's all talking, meetings and Confluence pages... not a place if you are an engineer and like doing rather than talking. - Skyscanner is very conservative and very afraid of trying anything new in terms of product or technology. They are much more like a bank or a big... corporate than a tech company. - Office politics is rampant. - The product is going from bad to worse, and nobody cares. - They don't know what they are doing and have no clue about how to go forward. If nothing changes very soon, Skyscanner will disappear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please, you need to stop the bulling at all levels.

    Skyscanner2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Bullying Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Free snacks Coffee machine Fruits & snacks

    Cons

    Extreme toxic work culture Management hasn't got a clue how to run the business People resign on a daily basis Only 4 black people work in the London office and a similar number in the Edinburgh head office - lack of diversity and management doesn't seem to want to do anything to rectify this lack of diversity You are expected to accept any feedback given to you regardless of if it is true or not. If you try to... explain/defend or give any feedback you will immediately be fired. I was told nothing that I had to say was important. As a new starter, you are expected to know how their system works on day one and if you make a mistake on day one that will follow you in month 3 even if you are no longer making that one simple mistake that you made on day one of starting with the company Bullying environment Management sit around in meetings all day wondering why so many staff are handing in their notice even though these leavers feedback the exact same things I am describing here to them in their so-called ambushed leavers exit interview and on Glassdoor, they still don't accept these reasons and act oblivious to it Worst company I have ever worked for in my 15 years of working in this field The engineering management team don't have a clue about what they are doing. The manager I supported doesn't seem to know how to open a word document when I was asked to create an end of the day task list in order to micromanage me even though they preach that they are an open inclusive culture where you manage your workload with no micromanagement. He's afraid of making any decisions, hides behind his management team to make key decisions for him If you do join this company be sure to keep your mouth shut and not give any feedback even if they encourage you to do so and say they are open to feedback - this is a trap The company’s future is questionable when compared to their other top competitors who treat staff with respect and value. At Skyscanner, they have a high turnover with staff and are constantly recruiting because people are constantly leaving Their onboarding is extremely poor for new members of staff

    Show More
    Skyscanner2019-08-19
Found 195 reviews