Swarovski Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Swarovski Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Swarovski Executive Board Members Robert Buchbauer, Nadja Swarovski, Mathias Margreiter, Markus Langes-Swarovski (no image)
Robert Buchbauer, Nadja Swarovski, Mathias Margreiter, Markus Langes-Swarovski
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pressure from reaching the sales goals(in 35 reviews)

  • "Starts with upper management but you know they usually suck anyway(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Atelier Swarovski"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    State of the art Mayfair office, creative environment, healthy snacks, half Friday once a month, unique opportunity to interact with Board Member, product discount and sample sales. Family owned and profitable. Very impressive organisation with a lot of truly exciting projects. Great place to work for driven, dynamic and flexible individuals. Depending on the role - opportunities to travel to other beautiful... Swarovski offices and collaborate on common initiatives.

    Show More

    Cons

    Reactive environment. Many activities and events can be better pre-planned to avoid constant reprioritising and associated extra cost.

    Advice to Management

    Nurture, support and appreciate your high performers, which you have in abundance. London job market constantly presents opportunities to good people even if they are not actively looking. Your talent must be able to see possible growth paths and envision themselves in the organisation long term to be willing to reject short term gains elsewhere.

    Swarovski2019-11-22
  2. "Sell goods to consumers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, team rewards

    Cons

    Work isn't flexible, staff weren't great

    Swarovski2019-12-08
  3. "Finally found a job I love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swarovski part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am currently a Christmas temp at a store in East Sussex. After working in two previous retail jobs where management have bullied me and created an awful work environment, working at Swarovski has restored my faith in retail work. I am the youngest in the store (18 when I joined) however I have never been made to feel inferior or inexperienced because of this - whereas in my previous job in a well known jewellery... store I was constantly belittled. Both managers in store have been more than willing to accommodate my university timetable and I have been welcomed into the store with open arms. Everyone has been very ready to help me finding items in the stockroom or assisting me with general customer questions while I get the hang of everything. The team goes above and beyond to make sure that everyone is doing well. Training consisted of a series of interactive online activities which took me about 3 shifts to complete. Swarovski also sends its employees to their Chiswick head office for a training day which was great fun and I feel like I have learnt a lot. I hope that they are able to offer me a permanent contract after Christmas as this is a job I would love to continue with through university.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t have anything bad to say.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you’re doing!

    Swarovski2019-11-08
  4. "It was an alright experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    60% staff discount Kind co workers

    Cons

    Not really exciting, doing the same thing everyday

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be racist.

    Swarovski2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Just as terrible in head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A coffee machine with about 6 different coffee selections, flavoured squash - and the very nice beautiful scenery when walking home :)

    Cons

    Generally: Hawkish and fearing team office culture. Very basic market pay-rate Sorry but excessive workloads with "huge expectation standards" HR/management hawkish behaviour to lower/mid levels 'Look-after their own' and a very weak want to be socialite pretentious style culture

    Advice to Management

    I now am employed at a competitor in a senior role. Firstly, Sorry but I must point out, I see Swarovski's HR team on Glassdoor surprisingly make each 'personal' reply on here with a clearly ready made copy/paste paragraph. May I politely highlight to quote "we make employees feel that they are valued, as they are an integral part of adding sparkle to everyday life" - seriously where is this valued approach?... Welcome to their culture...! *If you're willing to respond to this review, please don't start mine off like that :) Cheers babe xx Felt interviews were fairly good, standard, and was really excited to start. Noticed, inductions to staff/office/my work was not adequate enough and was really fending for myself a lot at the start. Felt my team knew our personalities wouldn't match as 'they'd' like, as I wasn't 'one of them' and was made really uncomfortable throughout the years to be honest :( Honestly, work loads were abnormally high for our minimum pay-rate, management of these projects were always chaotic and staff being uncontactable when you have an immediate spontaneous deadline. I understand, sometimes it's like this everywhere and in retail but when it really doesn't have to be, and when illogically 'No' isn't an answer... sorry that's unacceptable being shouted at by Directors after hours whilst I'm still slaving away, and obviously without a thank you. It's widely known that people would join, and leave/be fired after a just few months here - I can confirm I too saw it for myself which was very sad, un-motivating and made me scared. I always saw they knew themselves they deserved better and obviously found better growth opportunities elsewhere, and they always were nice to be around, making the office a very lonely place. I feared my role at the end of my time, felt there was some elements of collusion with my mangers impacting it which was by far too obvious but it was un-reportable with HR as we found out :( The company vision from the inside, is all about being the best and making the best experience for customers in every presentation, that's why I joined to make a difference as I've done elsewhere in my career but, they don't do anything. They ignore customers and feel they know the answers to everything? Why employ talent and outside skills when it's not used, or freedom to express ideas? The go to answer when it doesn't make sense? - "It's just how Swarovski does it" I jus felt so angry and stressed when I had other staff I purposely made good working relationships with over months, suddenly hate me because I couldn't facilitate their work/projects forward at no fault of my own. I felt I had to focus and care more about my excuses, twisting reports or covering myself rather than doing productive output work. There's a lot and more going that was on here, and this isn't a rant; I'm expressing truths. It never needed to be like this at all as I've worked in so many places before, and I know it won't change here. The MD was 'approachable' in writing, but I feared her everyday yet aimed to please. There are some, be it very few really nice staff that work here in the very lower-tier roles respectfully, and they were fairly nice. I must state, that when I did provide my advice from years of my professional career directly to management, it wasn't never really taken on board, so don't reply to me with we'll advise our Global HR as with everyone else's replies, we both know you won't :) xx

    Show More
    Swarovski2019-11-28
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swarovski full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work place, good pay for retail, bonus if targets met

    Cons

    no commison on big sales, Sales consultants get paid nearly same.

    Swarovski2019-10-21
  7. "Improvement needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swarovski part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company values Great collection of accessories Great team members Great for sales consultants

    Cons

    My manager is very good and has been in the company a while but zero progression. The people who are being promoted look right they can’t really do the job. I definitely will look to other brands for progression. You won’t any progression In Swarovski once you get to store management but that’s if a place actually comes up. Store teams are very diverse. But area manager upwards isn’t which is strange especially... since the headoffice is based on London. Progression and clear job roles for senior sales as well doesn’t make sense.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Use your store to to strengthen your headoffice. Senior management needs to be diverse.

    Swarovski2019-10-21
  8. "Avoid Avoid Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount. Bonus structure. Air conditioning.

    Cons

    Poor upper management structure. Matey matey culture. Incompetent.

    Swarovski2019-09-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "only join if you don't mind the possibility of being fired at random"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good staff discount, nice office, interesting international projects

    Cons

    people are pulled into HR for meetings and never seen again without warning or explanation, everyone works in fear/to the whims of one person

    Advice to Management

    When people join the company, jokes are made as to the fact they'll only last a few months, or that certain offices are cursed. It is a revolving door at Swarovski - when certain people come into the office, jokes are made that people will be fired by the end of the week, with no explanation provided to the teams - which gets particularly frustrating when so many projects within the company are interwoven.... Whether people stay or go is based on who is favoured by senior management - and this is common knowledge throughout all levels of the company. All decisions, business and otherwise, are based on the whims of this person - often with no logic or facts behind them. Because of this employees aren't comfortable voicing their concerns to HR, as they're worried it may get reported back to senior level. Regardless of this, the majority of people working there are absolutely lovely, with no politics involved. It seems the higher up you climb, the more at risk you are.

    Show More
    Swarovski2019-08-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Bicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swarovski part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the girls were amazing amazing pay made great friends, fast paced environment and bonus schemes encourage you

    Cons

    draining sometimes and no staff room for lunch

    Advice to Management

    The boss only hired women...

    Swarovski2019-07-15
Found 724 reviews