Symetra Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Symetra Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 261 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Margaret Meister
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management can be scattered and varies from team to team(in 15 reviews)

  • "Also, work/life balance does take a toll during busy season, but that is to be expected in accounting/finance(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Via con dios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Long Term Disability Case Manager in Enfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Symetra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They started out brand new in disability and were growing very quickly. I worked with a lot of knowledgeable coworkers and had some good friends there.

    Cons

    Their software was not the most user friendly, even after six years. It took them a long time to hire vital resources, such a Clinical Specialists and Vocational Rehab people. When management changed, they let go a lot of very experienced case managers so that they could replace them with their own people.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate the people who have worked hard for the company for years and were very loyal.

    Symetra2019-07-08

    Symetra Response

    July 16, 2019Kevin Sheridan, VP, Life & Disability Claims

    Thank you for providing feedback about your experience, even though you aren’t with Symetra anymore. We agree our claim system could be more user friendly so that our case managers can better serve our customers. We have made a number of smaller improvements this year and we have ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Low sales desk morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Symetra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were good income years

    Cons

    Micromanaged, if they just set goals, people rise to meet them

    Advice to Management

    Build morale please, spend some time with employees

    Symetra2019-07-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company With Some Mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company that does seem to try and do right by their employees and community.

    Cons

    Some managers show a clear amount of favoritism to some employees and this leads to coddling and unearned promotions while other managers turn the other cheek.

    Advice to Management

    When bias is reported, make an effort to change the behavior and not just sweep it under the rug.

    Symetra2019-06-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Ousted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Symetra full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to be part of the bigger picture

    Cons

    If in a field location, you are on an island by yourself. Management bands together and when situations require you take it to a higher level, you are quickly ousted with no support from management. They create their own version of what happens and then you are left with no support.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees!!!! If they are coming to you with the same issue, do your job to thoroughly investigate. And do NOT side with management for an easy way out.

    Symetra2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Like a dumpster fire, but with more fire."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Pay is “ok” depending on what department you are in, although lower than other Seattle companies. - Flexible work environment, however this can be detrimental as a lot of employees take advantage of it. - The location in Bellevue isn’t the worst place in the Puget Sound.

    Cons

    This is the weirdest, most secretive and political environment I’ve ever worked in. Nothing feels merit based, as incompetent managers are looking to insulate themselves or doling out favors for more insidious reasons. Anyone who speaks up is “Symetracized” (this is a well known term for someone being pushed out). Despite a new female CEO, this culture seems strongly anti-female. A lot of female leaders who show any...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pick a strategy, think it through and then stick to it. For example, notice how for a brief time they were responding to reviews? But then suddenly stopped. Perfect example of how someone decides to do something and then it fizzles out after a few weeks. This happens with every initiative at Symetra. There is a joke among employees that if you don’t like something, don’t worry, we’ll give up on it in a few weeks. Also,...

    Show More
    Symetra2019-07-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Most unprofessional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra

    Pros

    Good location but you need to pay parking.

    Cons

    Chaotic management that changes course constantly. The relationship between two executives is the biggest elephant in the room. We all know about it and we all pretend we don’t. For those with guts it’s a great leverage to get ahead. It’s unbelievable that completely unqualified people could be promoted to important positions.

    Advice to Management

    Have some decency and integrity.

    Symetra2019-07-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Measure Twice, Cut Once"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Symetra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good compensation and solid benefits

    Cons

    Constant state of emergency within many positions. You can see it on the faces of too many employees.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down and plan the work. Work is frenetic and disorganized because this company is making it up as it goes. Role clarity and the caliber of the work suffer due to a lack of a coherent vision for actually getting the work done.

    Symetra2019-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday thru Friday 7 to 3

    Cons

    Management style was not good

    Symetra2019-06-19
  9. "Good culture well on the way to a GREAT culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Symetra has some of the best people around! My experience is that most people are friendly, helpful and collaborate very well. (Certainly, there are a few exceptions, but they are few and far between as compared to other organizations.) There is a big focus on innovation, and diversity and inclusion, with our CEO, Margaret Meister, at the helm, and it's a very exciting time to be here. I have seen more change in the past...

    Show More

    Cons

    Can be challenging to have so many areas of urgency - can get distracted with so many important initiatives. Commute can be a challenge and parking is not cheap, but several alternatives are subsidized. Downtown Bellevue is booming and the traffic continues to worsen, but that's a Bellevue issue, not a Symetra issue.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused, keep communicating, keep building on the foundation of this great culture. Symetra has a lot of special people who really care and want to help contribute to making this a great company.

    Symetra2019-05-10
  10. "Flexible Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symetra full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexible schedules and environment - not micro managed

    Cons

    seems to be quite a bit of turnover

    Symetra2019-04-26
Found 261 reviews