THG Reviews

Updated 13 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
THG CEO Matthew Moulding (no image)
Matthew Moulding
503 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice working environment to work in(in 40 reviews)

  • "Fast paced exciting environment(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long working hours, managers sometimes too young for their positions(in 50 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours and also unsociable hours(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for!

      13 May 2021 - Social Media Customer Service Advisor in Northwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Salary -Amazing work colleagues -Internal progression -Bonus schemes -Savings club -Staff discounts

      Cons

      -Busy hours during Christmas & Black Friday

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Dynamic role and great environment

      30 Apr 2021 - Customer Operations Advisor in Northwich, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, support and engagement from the management and team. The team become like a family and support each other. Working hours are great and you really get to see a big overview of the business and you can create a clear target in your head of where you want to be in the future within THG. The WTF made me very nervous to begin with, but that was quickly set aside by the warm welcoming you receive from the teams at THG. There is lots of communication between everyone which makes life much easier. I am a film believer that a job is what you make of it, if you're willing to work hard and you're a team player, this is the place for you.

      Cons

      I have not experienced anything negative

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      working for THG from home

      5 May 2021 - Customer Advisor in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent training and excellent support system. My team and I are very supportive towards each other and they have been always willing to help since day one. The Team Leaders have always made time for me weather it was something new I needed explanation or something I had to go over again. Communicating with HR and other departments as well is very easy and the response is really quick

      Cons

      Unfortunately, working from home, I am not able to have a full understanding of the company. At this stage I can not really point out much as Cons.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Gives North Korea a run for its money

      18 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Salford, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You with some nice people

      Cons

      Choose The Hut Group. Choose a regime not a company. Choose a 21st century juggernaught with 18th century workers rights. Choose working the equivalent of 6 days a week for the salary of 5. Choose a sterile office at the airport, miles away from anywhere with all the working atmosphere of the moon. Choose working for a miser who gives himself a £940 million bonus and charges you to park on his land making almost £1 million per year from it. Choose no benefits. No healthcare. No sick pay for the first year and choose to bring your own tea and coffee in because they won’t provide it. Choose working round the clock on cyber weekend for zero pay while the company rakes in over £800 million in sales and laughs at you for not having to pay you a penny for it. Choose a backstabbing, bullying and blaming culture. Choose working in fear that they will terminate your contract whenever they feel like it. Choose working for a team so understaffed you’ll have to work 10 hours a day just to keep your head above water. Choose bad mental health. Choose a whole 30 minutes for your lunch break. Choose a 26 year old boss who has no clue what he/she is doing. Choose a company that prides itself in not giving a toss about you. Choose wisely. Choose to stick pins in your eyes. Choose moving to North Korea. Choose any other place in the world to work. Choose life.

      Continue reading
      32 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice company to Work

      7 May 2021 - Customer Service Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Management, Team and support. The Team is amazing and the managers like Petr, Laura, Nadia, Emily, Omaer, Pasquale are always there to help you, specially now working from home, they have been great and super supportive and just really helpful, always explaining the processes and just making you feel great about the job you are doing. I really do like working with these people, and they are really great at what they ae doing.

      Cons

      Couldn't find any cons at the moment of my employment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great opportunities & varied work.

      11 May 2021 - Commercial Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Varied workload and lots of opportunities for increased responsibility. Novel ideas are looked well upon, and you will be given the platform to drive new initiatives if the data supports.

      Cons

      Due to the fast paced nature, increasing workload will often outpace team growth, regularly driving up teams workloads, provides opportunities but with added pressure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      29 Apr 2021 - Customer Service in Wirral, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great training and support for newbie -Lovely team members I current work with this company since 2020, they are always giving great support. It's not only management, team members are very lovely, you may enjoy work with us.

      Cons

      -on busy term might do over time. -You may some time need to professional for sort out customer issues. Our business is EC commerce, selling lots of products. For example Black Friday, Cyber Monday are most busy term, you might need to over time. Also you need to learn product information for customer questions, must need to learn lots of basic items information.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too corporate to be creative

      9 May 2021 - Creative LEad in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people in my particular team and pretty good salary.

      Cons

      Just a cog in the machine. Too much admin. Not geared towards creatives at all - constantly doing KPI sheets which are in no way tailored for creatives. We fill out the same sheets as someone in finance which is ridiculous. Don’t even supply basics like tea and coffee or milk... Or even cutlery?! Half an hour for lunch. 42.5 hour weeks. They think they’re creative. They’re not, is corporate through and through.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Verging on slave labour

      4 Apr 2021 - ECommerce Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good opportunity for graduates - you’ll be given a lot of responsibility quickly because they’re chronically understaffed. As long as you’re prepared to put the hours in.

      Cons

      All I can say is ‘chaos’, not a normal company. Contracted hours already well above the normal, 30 minute lunch, no sick pay for the first year, and you’ll be expected to work upwards of 50 hours a week. A lot of management promoted from within so no experience of the real world or of other companies. Such a basic level of understanding of e-commerce from what’s supposed to be a market leader. From day 1 you’ll be told of ‘the THG way’, which roughly translates to spending as little money as possible to maximise profits, which just means ‘churn and burn’ of staff. They don’t care about the people they employ because there will always be more graduates desperate to fill your place when you leave. Be sceptical of any high reviews as it seems they’ve had a ‘review drive’ recently to get their ratings up. After reading their poor reviews I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt before I joined. All turned out to be true, what a shambles. If you have other options steer clear, if you don’t then join and get experience, but don’t get trapped.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Opportunity For Apprentices

      4 Mar 2021 - Marketing Apprentice in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Endless opportunities for apprentices as there are so many different divisions and I work in Lifestyle and everyone is so lovely and very supportive, which is amazing as an apprentice you want to feel at ease starting a new job (usually for the first time). You can always speak to people in other roles/divisions to help each other out or to get more experience. Also there is always support from the academy and also they offer training alongside your college work which helps you within the workplace and general life. Annual THG Apprentice awards which gets all the apprentices together and also lots of opportunity to meet other people in the business through coffee networking set up by the academy.

      Cons

      I haven't had any bad experiences therefore I have no cons, sadly to do covid-19 we are working from home but that can't be helped but I look forward to meeting the rest of my team when I get back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 857 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with THG Job Seekers

    Graduate Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at THG? Share Your Experiences

    THG logo
    or