TPP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TPP Reviews

Updated 28 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
TPP CEO Frank Hester
Frank Hester
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "As well as the work the pay is great, good holidays including Xmas, sailing trips and travel to places I never thought I would(in 16 reviews)

  • "There is a genuinely flat hierarchy, although more experienced people's opinions tend to be more respected than others(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "flat hierarchy’ they preach about is a joke(in 15 reviews)

  • "No one really has a good grasp on projects as a whole, everything is rushed short-term jerk reactions to individual issues(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting, challenging, enjoyable work, with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Horsforth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at TPP is an immensely enjoyable, rewarding experience. Everyone is extremely bright and hard-working and there's a great collaborative feel with the flat hierarchy and the fact that there's always someone willing to stop what they're doing and help you out, regardless of how long you (or they) have worked at the company. The work we do has a tremendous positive impact on healthcare and provides a constant... stream of interesting and complex (but never overwhelming) challenges. The benefits (birthday meals, company-wide trips, pub tabs etc) are great and the pay is very competitive (especially for the region).

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasional out of hours work - due to the nature of the business (real-time electronic healthcare records and decision support for thousands of clinicians and millions of patients) you can't guarantee that you'll be going home on time every day or that your evenings/weekends will go completely uninterrupted. I've still given five stars for work/life balance because the interruptions are genuinely rare and... well-compensated, but for some people it could be a deal-breaker.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A more relaxed attitude to hobby programming outside work (allowing e.g. app publishing and open-source development as long as it doesn't stray too close to TPP IP) would give developers more opportunity to practice and improve their skills at no cost to the company. It might also help to prevent the occasional loss of coders we get because they want to work on the latest cool framework or they worry their skill-set... isn't diverse enough.

    Show More
    TPP2019-10-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great for personal and professional development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    When I started working at TPP I had no coding experience at all and now, over 8 years later, I have industry-leading skills and abilities which open loads of doors. It sounds trite, but my time at TPP really grew me as a person, which is something I'm immensely grateful for. The work that TPP does really makes a difference to patients and clinicians, something I've been lucky enough to see first hand, and during... your time here you will almost certainly complete a piece of work which saves someone's life. There aren't many companies where you can say that, and it was all the motivation I ever needed to get out of bed in the morning. My colleagues were incredibly intelligent, personable and decent people who treated you like an adult. If you'd made a mistake then they would tell you simply, and to your face. Not in order to embarrass you, but so that everyone could collectively learn how we could avoid making the same mistake again. Mistakes were not buried, not talked about behind your back, and you were expected to deal with them in a mature and professional way. It's alluded to in many other reviews, but this is an environment which expects strong results. TPP is a company with huge ambition in a sector which demands constant precision and attention, so you won't get £45,000 as a starting salary for turning up and not putting in 100%. There's no real way to sugar coat this: if you want to avoid pressure in your job, then working on a global scale with patients' medical records, and therefore their health and safety, is not for you. Be realistic with yourself before you apply.

    Show More

    Cons

    TPP have to support the NHS during its most active times, so the hours for the job are always going to be (roughly) 9-5, Monday to Friday. This was ultimately the reason I left the company, and give them 4 stars rather than 5, as there is currently no option for flexitime, home working or part time work. Again, assess whether this is a dealbreaker for you or not.

    Advice to Management

    Great product, great people. Best of luck for the future!

    TPP2019-11-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Company. Fake 5* Reviews by HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TPP full-time

    Pros

    Literally none. The good salary isn't good 'value' for what you have to put up with

    Cons

    Stress, Overtime, Abuse, Threats - they have it all. Work life balance is great provided you dont have a life. Amazingly they must have some Recruitment/HR person writing a 5* review every few days to try to get the ratings up - it just sums up how crooked this company is. Software engineers do not write sentences like that people, they get to the point - like this :) Life is too short to work for a company... like this. Avoid!

    Show More
    TPP2019-11-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Highly Rewarding Work with Amazing Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love my colleagues and I find the work I do incredibly interesting and varied. I get great satisfaction from knowing that as a company we are driving positive change in the healthcare industry. There are fantastic international opportunities and the career progression is excellent.

    Cons

    There are elements of the culture that some people wouldn't enjoy (e.g. being direct, shouting up to a full room of people). Because of this, I've seen a high staff turnover so some of my friends have left over the last few years.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the company-wide meetings. It's been really beneficial for everyone to have a idea of what the company goals are and what we're achieving.

    TPP2019-10-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Specialist in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The work is extremely varied and the job role has changed massively over the 10 years I have been here. Everyone is bright and like-minded which makes for a nice working atmosphere. A lot is expected of you but you are rewarded for your hard work. The days are busy and the work can be challenging but the pay is excellent, we get fantastic holiday entitlement (a whopping 8 weeks plus bank holidays) and there are lots... of perks; fresh fruit, yoga, pub Fridays, sailing/skiing trips to name just a few.

    Show More

    Cons

    As there is so much variety, sometimes it can be difficult to manage your workload. The flip side of this is that everyone is very willing to help each other.

    TPP2019-09-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Genuinely interesting and rewarding work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Every day is different and brings up new, interesting problems to get stuck into. - You can get help with what you're working on at any time, there's a culture of working together to solve problems. - Great perks including plenty of holiday, great pay, a tab at the pub, plenty of social events and free fruit and snacks. - You're contributing to something that genuinely improves healthcare both in the UK and... abroad. - You're encouraged to give your opinion and make your voice heard.

    Show More

    Cons

    - When problems arise it can feel quite pressured, but this doesn't happen all the time and the pressure is on the team rather than an individual.

    TPP2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable and interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My favourite things about working at TPP are that the work is enjoyable and interesting and my colleagues are great. There is always something new to learn. It’s great to have a job where there is so much variety and the opportunity to get involved in different things. The work is so engaging that the days seem to fly by. The staff are all so involved and helpful; willing to share their knowledge and help you grow... and improve. I really enjoy the culture and the atmosphere. I have met some really amazing people at TPP. I still can’t believe how good some of the benefits are. The salary and holiday entitlement are great. The annual sailing trips, regular events and parties and the birthday meals are amongst some of my favourite benefits. I’m really thankful that this job has given me the opportunity to experience so many nice things and visit some great places and I look forward to more great experiences in the future.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really don’t have many cons. The job can be quite stressful at times but so can most jobs where the work is demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the meetings with the whole company where people share what they’ve been working on. It’s really interesting to know what’s going on and exciting to see where the company is heading.

    TPP2019-09-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As a Product Specialist I’ve lived a dream in travelling all over the world. The pay is great - work hard and you get rewarded. My job is different every day, the work is varied and very fulfilling! Our team is hardworking and dedicated which makes for a great team.

    Cons

    Working away can be hard at times but the job and rewards make it all worthwhile.

    TPP2019-09-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A quick but honest summary..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the main reasons I love working for TPP: - I'm trusted and respected. - My thoughts and opinions are valued. - The work we do is interesting and enjoyable. - The work we do benefits the NHS - both staff and patients. - I'm given autonomy and real responsibility. That isn't scary because I'm surrounded by friendly and supportive people who will always help if I need it. - There's a 'no overtime'... culture and you're encouraged to not take any work home. This means I have a life outside the office without having to worry about work! I can really switch off and enjoy my free time. - I'm treated as a real person, not a workhorse or a cog in a big machine. I can make a real difference. - The perks are great. We're treated as valued employees!

    Show More

    Cons

    Only a couple: - We do some amazing work and create some amazing products, but we don't market ourselves well enough, so people don't hear about the great things we're doing. It can be disheartening to see competitors with worse products than ours doing well just because of their marketing. (This is being addressed though!) - Working in such an agile and efficient manner means it can be frustrating waiting on... third party dependencies. You can be working on a project and getting lots done, and then have to wait because of delays caused by other organisations. Unfortunately, that's out of TPP's control!

    Show More
    TPP2019-09-20
  10. "Varied, interesting role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Specialist in Leeds, England

    I have been working at TPP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging, always learning new things, every day is different, very social company with great pay and a lot of perks

    Cons

    Can sometimes be quite stressful with the amount of projects and different things you are working on, but everyone is there to help and it makes the day fly by.

    TPP2019-09-21
Found 166 reviews
</>Embed