TeacherActive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TeacherActive Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
TeacherActive CEO Rob Browett (no image)
Rob Browett
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "I would have no hesitation in recommending Teacher Active(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hard work is definitely rewarded(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "I cannot fault Teacher Active they are great(in 12 reviews)

  • "There are no cons that I can think of(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TeacherActive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training and staff benefits (if proactive) Endless earning potential

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    Continue reading
    TeacherActive2019-09-10
  2. "Keen to get you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TeacherActive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are a reliable company who were always keep to get work for me. I would be inundated with offers from schools.

    Cons

    Communication not always effective which means there was a few mix up with some schools

    TeacherActive2019-07-25
  3. "Proactive staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TeacherActive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Keep work coming in regularly

    Cons

    Holiday times can be slower

    TeacherActive2019-07-10
  4. "Over worked and under valued."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TeacherActive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management within office. Got on well with team. Average job for newbies as workload is so large with such little reward that when you move company you will be totally prepared for a vast amount of work (feeling very rewarded at my new job!)

    Cons

    Not allowed to take holiday during term time (school holidays only) promised a “life changing” salary which is total rubbish! It’s merely average even if you are doing well. Staff retention is AWFUL due to lack of care over current employees, once consultants start doing well they just leave for a better offer! Get given “incentives” such as finishing early during holidays but only if you reach unrealistic/high targets every day. Directors do not listen to consultants or managers!!!! Very in denial of what is going on around them and not prepared to make changes.

    Continue reading
    TeacherActive2019-08-14
  5. "Good Way to get teaching Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at TeacherActive part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours when on Standby

    Cons

    Inconsistent work when not on a placement

    TeacherActive2019-06-09
  6. "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TeacherActive full-time

    Pros

    Great training, very support manager

    Cons

    Work life balance, unable to take holidays in term time

    TeacherActive2019-02-14
  7. "Teacher Active- Bristol"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TeacherActive full-time

    Pros

    Consistent work Hard working and devoted staff Good communication with staff Flexible

    Cons

    None that come to mind!

    Continue reading
    TeacherActive2019-01-24
  8. "AWFULLLLL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TeacherActive

    Pros

    ZERO ZERO Zero zero zero

    Cons

    The specific internal recruiter I had dealt with was initially “nice” however this was soon exposed as a front , following interview fazes they were highly unprofessional and when finally getting back regarding positions/feedback ; abruptly said “ok bye bye bye” before words could even leave my mouth. I clearly dodged a bullet as it seems to be a reoccurring theme that staff are unhappy being employed by this firm due to Teacher Active being focused on monetary success for themselves as an oppose to being of aid to employees . AVOID.

    Continue reading
    TeacherActive2019-02-21

    TeacherActive Response

    April 5, 2019Managing Director

    Hi, thank you for your feedback I'm sorry to hear that your interview experience at TeacherActive was not a positive one. It is our normal practice to give constructive feedback following an unsuccessful interview. It looks like in this circumstance something has fallen down. If you would like to contact me personally on feedback@teacheractive.com we can discuss it further and if I can improve the situation I will. Kind regards Robin Browett CEO

    Continue reading
  9. "Never out of work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Shepton Mallet, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TeacherActive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff are friendly and helpful and are always positive. They work hard to make sure I have work everyday. They get to know you as a person. Charlotte, Kat and Jason obviously communicate well within the office and always have a moment to sort out any problems that might have occurred. I can not recommend this branch highly enough.

    Cons

    None that I can think of - all problems are always resolved and handled in a professional manner.

    TeacherActive2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best agency ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEN Teaching Assistant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TeacherActive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Daily work friendly, considerate staff The agency called me up after every job to check on me and got me daily work. Even when I took jobs on with other agencies they called me up and checked on me when the agency I took the work on would not. Abbye and Neelam are lovely

    Cons

    none fantastic agency would not change a thing

    Continue reading
    TeacherActive2018-11-05
Found 101 reviews