The AA Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
41%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
The AA Chief Executive Officer Simon J. Breakwell
Simon J. Breakwell
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people on the teams and some decent managers(in 11 reviews)

  • "Working hours are fairly flexible and you can take up to a 2hr lunch if you want and you get free breakdown cover(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "On an exciting journey..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Cheadle, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The AA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the business is going through a huge period of change and as a result there is a lot of opportunity to really make a stamp on an iconic British brand and ensure its continued success. The people are amazing and really are the heart of this business. They are also very customer focused and haven't forgotten how they got to where they are.

    Cons

    this period of change means that it can feel a little disorganised, but that is to be expected during this period

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-01-23

    The AA Response

    February 17, 2020Community Manager

    We're glad you're having such a good time with us - thanks for your review!

  2. "Poor leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Roadside Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The AA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many apart from the freedom of being by yourself in the van and a chance to make your own working decisions for the members.

    Cons

    Recent management change has made alot of "managers" believe they have the power to push and push Patrols to improve performance(even the ones doing well worried they would loose their job) when there is no training available at all from the business apart from stupid online videos! Never get listened to when suggestions made, or if someone comes up with a good idea it is slowly dwindled and ground down to nothing by middle management. No development for any roadside staff. Struggle to get holiday and days off when you want to. Overtime had been cut to nothing do performance affected and more pressure from managers and also large loss of earnings.

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-05-13
  3. "Leaving soon"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recovery Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The AA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really can’t think of anything that is a plus to work for the aa, literally everything positive has been cut or taken away.

    Cons

    The AA is just trading on their good name now, that’s it. It’s a shell of what it was and is riddled with debt. Business rules are constantly changed to screw people out of money and morale is 0% for front line staff.

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-04-27
  4. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The AA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Market leader, respected brand, solid commercial/financial standing.

    Cons

    Junior/mid-management level may not be the best.

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-03-14
  5. "Ok place but dated approach"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at The AA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people were nice enough except higher management. Sales through TCF was non existent.

    Cons

    Sales pressure but kept saying no pressure. Management were poor with little no opportunities for progressions unless you were in with the right people.

    The AA2020-03-28
  6. "Schoolyard"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The AA full-time

    Pros

    Great people on the teams and some decent managers

    Cons

    Very hard to earn decent commission with the structure they have

    The AA2020-03-03
  7. "Coronavirus, vulnerable and forced to come in"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Head Office in Basingstoke, England

    I have been working at The AA full-time

    Pros

    Some but not relevant to this post

    Cons

    Those of us in at risk groups for coronavirus are still not being allowed to work from home, even those whose jobs make it possible. I’m getting desperate, don’t know where else to post. The company won’t act until someone at the AA falls ill!

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-03-14
  8. "Listening and Learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cheadle, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The AA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company wants to understand its short comings and work on these. Investment in staff starting to feel authentic.

    Cons

    IT systems are not great Conflicting Objectives

    Continue reading
    The AA2020-02-13

    The AA Response

    March 10, 2020Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're working really hard to listen and learn from our colleagues and we're glad to see it's having a positive impact!

  9. "Designing and delivering training interventions"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The AA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local, good benefits, good salary

    Cons

    Slow to change. Volatile market

    The AA2020-02-06

    The AA Response

    March 10, 2020Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we’re glad you’re enjoying most aspects of your job. We believe that change is a positive thing, so we are taking the time to listen an adapt appropriately.

  10. "Good people but no development"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at The AA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great group of people and good to serve customers

    Cons

    Poor in people development

    The AA2020-02-01

    The AA Response

    March 10, 2020Community Manager

    We’re glad you enjoyed some aspects of your job and we appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It’s important that we take these comments on board in order to reflect on ways to improve. We take the development of our colleagues seriously, and we wish you all the best with your future career endeavours.

Found 232 reviews