The RealReal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

The RealReal Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
The RealReal CEO Julie Wainwright
Julie Wainwright
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Company Has Consideration Towards The Company By Preparing Free Lunch,Breakfast And Much More(in 28 reviews)

  • "Hands on experience with all different luxury designers(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Similar to the environment of junior year in high school(in 24 reviews)

  • "MANAGEMENT (they always talk about internal promotions but so far I've only seen external hiring for upper management/higher positions i(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn a lot here about PaaS sales. You will use relevant technology that is transferrable to many different jobs. The environment is unique and interesting where you are looking at cool products daily and learning about ROI.

    Cons

    Pay is low for the industry but this is expected with entry-level sales jobs

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-11-11
  2. "just another 'disgruntled' worker here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, free bagels on Fridays (I guess that's a pro?), shuttle bus, $50 Eatclub stipend monthly. The job is not terribly hard, but as all the headlines say, it's quite difficult to take the time to authenticate each and every item with our quotas (but we manage). It's very cool to see all of these products come in that I wouldn't see elsewhere. I will say that our training is getting more intricate and there is an obvious effort to better our practices and authentication process. Ever so often we have higher-ups come and visit the warehouse, but it always feels forced. It's very us and them. They stop by every few months to say hey, we're here for you, and then leave. Don't really know if that's a pro or con, as I know many other large companies hardly ever have their CPOs come to the warehouses as often as they do.

    Cons

    HR and management are god awful. No room for growth. I wonder how many employees end up in their corporate offices after working in their warehouse facilities when they make it so difficult to change positions or move up. You have to be in one role for a year if you want to switch to any other type of role. Management hardly gives you any time off. It's as though keeping your job > living your life. Replacing us with automation goes to show that the copywriting position that once was is really quite a simple task now, and yet we get all the blame when we make mistakes. Furthermore, if you're going to replace much of what we do, why not allow us to take time off?! I enjoy writing and looking at vintage or archival pieces when we receive them, but by allowing automation to replace our copy, I think it undermines the history and thought of designers' works. If this is a fashion company, then you should be highlighting highly-coveted archival pieces. I have seen so many famous pieces sell for much cheaper than market price because copywriters do not have proper training or education on fashion history.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-11-13
  3. "Competitive and laid-back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Business Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the office is quite laid back you are not micro-managed opportunity for bonuses + sales commission

    Cons

    still very much a start-up

    The RealReal2019-10-23
  4. "Your Job is Your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Secaucus, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Subsidized lunches, (mostly) friendly work environment, semi-flexible schedules & management that’s willing to work with you

    Cons

    It’s not an easy job. The quotas can be difficult to make depending on how you feel that day, what items you’re working on and whether or not you took too much time at lunch. Individual copywriters are also held responsible if a fake item gets through, so it can be stressful. However, you can tell the company recognizes this and tries to make up for it with flexible scheduling and lunches. The job also feels a lot like being in school. Getting “assignments” in on time and staying off our cellphones. I’d say it’s just OK. It’s good for a young person just starting out, but if you have a family I’d think seriously before taking the position. There’s a lot of overtime, and sometimes it’s not a choice.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It's Not What It Seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Brisbane, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensive knowledge of brands, textiles, etc.

    Cons

    Unrealistic goals and treatmen tof empolyees

    The RealReal2019-10-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photographer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, leads and managers are nice.

    Cons

    16 bucks an hour is not a living wage in the Bay Area. Get real. Minimum wage for hard work, on your feet all day, keeps the turn over rate high. Must be at current position for a whole year before applying for other positions, that don't seem to pay much more.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-10-24
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Run While You Still Can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The RealReal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people. I stayed 3 years because my co workers were amazing team members who later became amazing friends.

    Cons

    Where should I even start? Should we talk about how employees no longer get any Holidays off? What about the part where employees are paid below a livable wage for the Bay Area while management continue to raise quotas and expectations with NO pay raise. How about the part where people were once forced to work in the warehouse (that had literal SMOKE and hazardous air quality) during the massive paradise fires? Talk to HR? Oh you mean the HR that is constantly rubbing elbows with management? Ha!! I’d have more success talking to a brick wall.... My coworkers and I would laugh all the time and think to ourselves this literally can’t get any worse and yet somehow it always did. It was never surprising when someone put in their 2 weeks or had a mental breakdown and quit on the spot as working conditions continued to worsen over time. A manager said to me once, “eh, everyone is easily replaceable. If they don’t like it here we can just find someone new.” Yup, you read that right... you’re literally just a number at this company. I finally decided i had enough this year and got a new job. I didn’t realize how toxic the environment was until I started my new job and realized there are companies out there willing to celebrate your successes and reward you for your hard work. What a concept huh? DO NOT TRUST THE POSITIVE REVIEWS. They are written by managers and HR to attract applicants because they are getting desperate.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Account Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No pros- You're basically a customer service robot.

    Cons

    Everything in this role is a con.

    The RealReal2019-11-02
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Copywriter in Brisbane, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The friends I've made but thats it

    Cons

    The managers are petty, HR is terrible, our working conditions are even worse. the list goes on.... Please dont waste your time working for this company. Theres been multiple occasions where my paychecks were shorted money, I still dont know if I'm being paid correctly. I thought it'd be worth it to work at TRR but I wake up everyday wishing I didnt have to go to work but unfortunately I need the money. I'll say it again, dont waste your time. This place is TOXIC

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-10-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Run fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The RealReal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seeing the interesting fashion that comes in on consignment! Celebrity clientele

    Cons

    PAY!!! No employee perks or discounts, Work life balance is terrible , communication between recruitment and actually in store leadership are not consistent. So many things you are told/ offered changes when you actually start working. This position does most of the work in the store and the least paid helping every single department with sales, scheduling appointments, even the cafe sometimes, handling returns, ALONG with the actually customer service role. Management is catty and talks to everyone about your performance but you do the whole development thing or feedback doesn’t exist. If you express your concerns about the job you’re actually encouraged to quit so it seems like there’s not changing any of these cons anytime soon. There’s no structure here if you’re like myself used to working in more structured companies this is not the place. It’s a new company obviously and has a lot of work that needs to be done I’m currently in my last two weeks resigning soon. Stylist aren’t actual stylist (sales associate) I would apply there more pay hourly and bonus and less work to do in this role.

    Continue reading
    The RealReal2019-10-16
Found 307 reviews