Tim Hortons Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tim Hortons Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2992 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Tim Hortons CEO Jose Cil
Jose Cil
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours that work with you(in 217 reviews)

  • "Fast paced, you'll enjoy it if you like being busy(in 198 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too much work for a minimum wage job(in 131 reviews)

  • "Have extremely rude customers and we aren't allowed or dont get defended by our managers(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good studd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons

    Pros

    Benefits are generous and such

    Cons

    Hours are longer than expected

    Advice to Management

    Stay on track

    Tim Hortons2019-01-15
  2. "Not worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Manager in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A wage to live on

    Cons

    Too many to list 😏

    Tim Hortons2019-09-12
  3. "awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good food and coffee

    Cons

    Poor management structure, lack of pay, poor hour.

    Tim Hortons2019-09-04
  4. "When full time means 6hour contracts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Member in Linwood, England

    I have been working at Tim Hortons full-time

    Pros

    None, I have a word cap

    Cons

    The company, the job,the management need I say more

    Advice to Management

    Restructure everything and focus on staff as apposed to sales

    Tim Hortons2019-07-11
  5. "A job of nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of the House in Bury, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some amazing work colleagues who help you and learning different skills.

    Cons

    Empty promises of amazing opportunities. The management changed many times and then we ended up with the most useless manager ever. (The other managers were good and they only lasted 2 months). This manager hid from emails and messages many employees sent him and even when he let them go as they employed too many staff he made the area manager do all the work. I only did the minimum shift of 6 hours a week even... when I asked if I could do more. The amount of people that started and left was a joke. It's like they used everyone for open day and when they figured out that they were in no league with McDonald's they cut everyone off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They don't listen so what's the point. The amount of unhappy staff they have shows they don't care. Keep posting ads for new employees.

    Tim Hortons2019-06-30
  6. "No Hours, No Promised Benefits, Low Pay, Decent Discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons part-time

    Pros

    50% Discount even to this day (at managers discretion since left on good terms)

    Cons

    All staff forced to sign 3 hour contract Many promised benefits such as discounts at other companies, monthly reward nights etc none of which were ever delivered People fired on spot for eating food that was literally going in the bin as it couldn't be sold Pay only slightly above £6 for a 18 year old.

    Advice to Management

    Don't promise things if you wont deliver, improve the contracts

    Tim Hortons2019-03-18
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Larbert, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tim Hortons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team there are always supportive. While tasks are repeated daily, you always end up doing a different variety so two days are never really the same. Good discount at workplace

    Cons

    The hours can be a bit rough. In some locations you can start as early as 4.30am and finish as late as 2.30 am Sometimes you don't know your shifts until 2 days before Zero hours contract so no guarantee of hours

    Tim Hortons2019-02-25
  8. "Team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its good if you enjoy a faced paced environment.

    Cons

    Managers are rubbish treat u like crap.

    Advice to Management

    Fix up

    Tim Hortons2019-01-29
  9. "Great team work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Halifax, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked there and actually enjoyed it

    Cons

    Shifts are a little off

    Advice to Management

    Less talking down staff more boosting

    Tim Hortons2018-11-22
  10. "Absolutely Awful.. do NOT recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH Team Member in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tim Hortons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nothing, it was absolutely horrendous.

    Cons

    Where to begin? - No training whatsoever, straight into the job with no experience of how to do anything, what anything is or how to work with the equipment such as coffee machines, tills, drink machines etc. - Management are disgusting. 6 hours per week minimum contract turned into 2 shifts of about 3 hours a time in 3 WEEKS with absolutely no prior warning at all. Rota's would change frequently. -... Overstaffed, too many employees meaning not all of us even got hours we signed for. - Lazy and incompetent senior management, don't care at all about the employees. Would rather employ 70 people for a 10-man store and then ignore the ones they don't give shifts to. Never responded to any of my emails, texts or calls about when I should've been working. Then when I turned up at the store to collect the wages they owed me, the manager had left without any warning to go on a holiday for a month. - When I left after the three weeks of basically no shifts, they withheld the money they owed me for almost a month.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just sack the management completely. Absolutely awful, would never recommend working here to anyone. Attitude towards staff is vile, rude and incompetent. Couldn't run a hot bath, nevermind a store for a major franchise.

    Tim Hortons2018-12-07
Found 2992 reviews