Toolstation Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 of over 399 reviews

3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Enjoyable work; friendly, supportive team; opportunities for advancement; growing national company; Staff discount and myperks(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount as it includes Wickes , Travis Perkins and others(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 19 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours and not alot of time training(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Very Positive

      Oct 3, 2021 - Supply Chain Planner in Doncaster, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Forward Thinking, fair days salary, what you see is what you get, nice people, senior management are approachable, they like to promote from within.

      Cons

      Evolving constantly, growing pains of an expanding company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      N/A

      Oct 16, 2021 - N/A in Alcester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team, good hours, good pay

      Cons

      Understaffed, poor management, lost my job because I couldn’t do overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Sep 29, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people and fun job

      Cons

      Nothing negative about the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Could be a great place to work

      Oct 11, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Gloucester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can be an easy job

      Cons

      No real support Can be expected to do long hours High staff turnover

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      I enjoyed my time

      Sep 6, 2021 - Store Supervisor in Market Harborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They look after their employees and they have a lot of overtime available. They are always opening new stores

      Cons

      Its early mornings and late nights.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hey there, thank you for your 5 star review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Retail is always a mixture of early and late shifts and weekends too but that is the game we are in. Having to be there when our customers needs us most. Thank you so much for your contribution to helping make us a great place for customers and colleagues alike. Emma - Head of Resourcing & Talent

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place

      Aug 25, 2021 - Sale Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at, friendly environment + colleagues. Great flexibility towards shifts

      Cons

      Not a lot of room for free thinking

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hi there, so pleased you think we are a great place to work. Wanted to let you know that you have an opportunity to share your thoughts and ideas on Colleague Voice which can be found on Toolstation Together. Your suggestions are really important to us. After all it is people like you make us the great place we are for customers and colleagues alike. Thanks for doing what you do. Emma - Head of Resourcing & Talent

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Source of income

      Aug 26, 2021 - Customer Representative in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provided a source of income with consistent hours

      Cons

      Understaffed stores, low pay for the level of work required. Easier retail jobs that pay the same with lower expectations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hi there, thanks for taking time out to leave a review. Many employers across retail, leisure, hospitality and logistics are really struggling to find good people right now which is why some of our stores are understaffed. We are working hard to rectify that but unlike some other employers where you mention the expectations are lower, we cannot afford to drop our standards. Our customers are really important to us and so it is vital that we hire people who are passionate, set themselves high expectations and together we will get the job done. We care about our staff too but we believe in them feeling a greater sense of achievement knowing that they work for an organisation that prioritises brilliant service is the best way to achieve job satisfaction. Emma - Head of Resourcing & Talent

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Ideal

      Jul 19, 2021 - Store Assistant in Southampton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place, laid back management, days go quick being busy

      Cons

      Difficult to gain extra hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hey there, thanks so much for your 5 star reviews. I completely agree with you, the days fly by at Toolstation because we work at such a pace and are always busy. I am glad you are finding the role fun. Thanks for all your efforts and keep doing what you are doing! Emma - Head of Talent & Resourcing

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent opportunities

      Jul 18, 2021 - Customer Service Advisor in Telford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rapidly expanding business, if you put in the work there are many opportunities for promotion.

      Cons

      Not necessarily a negative, but you'll be working face to face with the general public, and they're not all angels of course; so be prepared to like most but not all. And for those customers who don't float your boat, you've got to be as polite and professional to as the rest. That's just Customer Service though - if you can deal with that, you'll be fine.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hey thanks so much for the review. You have hit the nail on the head. Work hard and put in the effort, do the right thing by our customers and the opportunities in our fast growth business will open up. Keep up the great work. Emma - Head of Resourcing and Talent

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Work

      Jul 13, 2021 - Manager in Skegness, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Salary is competitive

      Cons

      Lack of direction for exisiting stores

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Thanks for the 5 star review. We are thrilled that you recognise Toolstation as being a great place to work. All great managers need some direction so think about raising any questions, ideas or concerns you have on Colleague Voice if you don't feel you are getting the right level of support. Overall you seem happy though and I want to thank you for your personal contribution to the business. Emma - Head of Resourcing & Talent

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 247 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Toolstation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Toolstation? Share Your Experiences

    Toolstation logo
    or