Toolstation Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 228 of over 363 reviews

3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Enjoyable work; friendly, supportive team; opportunities for advancement; growing national company; Staff discount and myperks(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount as it includes Wickes , Travis Perkins and others(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 19 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours and not alot of time training(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Perfect company for progression

      11 Jun 2021 - Regional Store Training Manager in King's Lynn, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic progression opportunities Great teamwork Growing business

      Cons

      Being a fast growing company sometimes they are slow in funding other such as IT

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hey, thanks so much for your brilliant review. We agree wholeheartedly that owing to our fast paced growth and major success, Toolstation is one of the best places for passionate and talented colleagues to develop their skills and progress through the company. We also agree that growing so fast can have implications on the support infrastructure such as IT, HR, Recruitment and of course our Distribution Network. We are of course working very hard to recruit into those teams and increase our capability so that together we can all provide our customers with the first class service they have come to know and love. Once again, big thanks for your review and for your continued commitment to the business. Emma - Head of Talent & Resourcing

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Store assistant in store

      23 Jun 2021 - Customer Assistant in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good opportunities to progress

      Cons

      None really. iT can be slow

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Exhausting, tiny teams, but great camaraderie

      9 May 2021 - Retail Supervisor in Brighton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Option to take on more hours if you need the money, quite flexible - Your team are usually great to work with, everyone's friendly - Some customers are simply lovely - 20% discount on Travis Perkins Group, nice touch

      Cons

      - Little to no praise for hard work - Store teams are a maximum of 7 or 8 people. A tiny team for a whole store! - Very routine-based and repetitive - Store is filthy because there is NO time to clean at all - Some customers have about 8 total brain cells, but hey, it's retail - RMs have extremely impossible standards. PI (stock) checks, box in box, cleaning, 4 deliveries a week, manning the customer desk, admin, carrying out pointless surveys via email, with only 4 staff in every day (2 in, 2 out) - Cover from other stores is impossible because teams are so small in every store, meaning you have to work ridiculous overtime to cover sickness - The managers never last (had 3 over 3 years) and typically just stand around on their phone while the other colleagues run about doing all the tasks

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hi there, thank you for your candid review, it's appreciated. We've actually just taken on your advice; we really do take the feedback from these channels, along with our other internal colleague voice channels onboard. We've listed to our colleagues and have just made a significant investment in additional hours and headcount to reflect the ongoing success of our business. Now lockdown is easing and we have established a consistent sales pattern we are delighted to be in a position to increase our store's colleague population. By effectively increasing the contract hours allowance for most stores, we have created hundreds of new roles and are recruiting new colleagues across the country, creating jobs and career opportunities in the local communities that we live in. Not only that, this step forward will ease the pressure on existing colleagues continually having to flex up to cover holidays, sickness and unforeseen events and allow a more consistent approach to running our stores even when a colleague is off on holiday. I hope that you'll see some real benefit from this great step forward within your store

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Missed Opportunities

      6 Apr 2021 - Supervisor in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Safe environment, Competitive salary, Holiday entitlement.

      Cons

      Stock supply poor, Small team of colleagues, Opening hours, No training.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hi there and thank you for leaving a review.It is true that like most retailers over the past 12 months there have been issues with supply chain. A combination of Brexit, the pandemic and increased demand has provided supply chain challenges. What is great though is that with the dedication and support of our entire colleague population we are still managing to delight our customers and significantly grow our market share. We are hiring additional people, adding to our buying, supply chain, distribution and retail operations to ensure that we become the number one choice for trade and DIY customers. All of this takes time to achieve but we are definitely making good headway and 2021 is on track to be a fantastic year. Your feedback is really valuable and there are internal forums on Toolstation Together where you can better share your ideas and where a relevant person in the business can pick back up with you. For now though, thanks for sharing this and for your continued support to the business. Emma - Head of Talent & Resourcing.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company offering lots of career opportunities

      2 Jun 2021 - Store Manager/New Store Opening Specialist in Grimsby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer offering increasing year on year. Lots of incentives for colleagues to earn bonus. Increased amount of career opportunities. Great support network for colleagues across whole business.

      Cons

      No downsides. Toolstation continues to become a bigger and better company to work for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hello. Thank you for writing your review, we really are dedicated to ensuring our colleagues have a voice and are listened to. In fact our colleague survey 'Your voice, Our Future' is currently live. We are all part of a truly amazing business and are really ambitious for our future; a future we’ve all got a part to play in. Your views are absolutely crucial in getting us there, and if it’s one thing we’ve learnt in the past year, it's that your input is invaluable in helping us build a better business. Your Voice Our Future gives all of us the opportunity to feed back and help shape the way we think about the business, our customers and colleagues, both now and in the future as we emerge from the pandemic. The questions in this survey cover a lot of ground, including wellbeing and belonging and it really matters what you think and how you’re feeling about all of these issues!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing People, Great Business

      2 Jun 2021 - New Store Opening Manager in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Lots of progression for those that want it. -Great people, family feel. -A rapidly growing business that focuses on colleagues and customers. -No hard sales, creating an environment colleagues and customers want to be in. -Great discounts across the group and more -I feel like I can speak up if needed.

      Cons

      -Due to rapid growth it can be challenging and we are trying to catch ourselves up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Wow what a lovely review! It's great to read through all of your pro's about working with us - that's exactly the culture that we'd describe! You're right, our speed of growth is phenomenal, and being a young business we've got lots of work to do to get our foundations as strong as possible as we continue to scale at pace. We're so focused on providing an environment where our colleagues have a great experience being part of our team. As we grow and evolve, we have to create a working world where you can be your best every day. Where you feel safe and valued for who you are and we know that to thrive, everyone must have a voice so it's great to feel you have a voice here. Thanks again, Emma

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Decent Company

      18 Jun 2021 - Computer Scientist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to work at Simple tasks Fun

      Cons

      Not much recognition given at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Disappointing.

      1 May 2021 - Retail Manager in Merthyr, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. In depth inductions for new managers. 2. Helpful HR Team, always striving to improve. 3. Good teamwork between store managers, always someone you can ask for advice.

      Cons

      1. Managers who come in externally get paid more than the managers who work their way up. 2. Huge, huge disparity between retail managers salaries, actively encouraged not to talk about it. 3. Little to no consideration for long term company loyalty.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not great

      25 May 2021 - Supervisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff and store manger were nice

      Cons

      Long hours, having to do everything while the favourite employees did nothing, unless you include spending all their shift on their phones, and blame you for no work being done, constantly cleaning up after other employees, basically a nanny service, I'm surprised they didn't get me to wipe the employees bums after they went potty. Took over a new store, set up manager was a joke, training manager spent all their time chatting up female memebers of staff, didn't receive any training, despite needing it, then got blamed for things he should have trained me on. Once opened I couldn't fault the new manager, he did his best.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Hello, thank you for the feedback. Great to hear both your manager and your team were nice, that's one of the things we're immensely proud of - how great our people are and how supportive they are of each-other. It sounds as though the start of your journey with us wasn't so positive however. With 70 new stores opening this year we work really hard to provide our new store colleagues with the best experience possible during set up and opening, and we usually get great feedback and great results from our new teams. We'd really value any specific feedback that we could take on board to make this process more successful - glassdoor@toolstation.com Thanks again Emma

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great brand to work for

      4 Jun 2021 - Regional Manager in Milton Keynes, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to progress for every level

      Cons

      The business is growing at a rapid rate so we naturally have growing pains

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Toolstation Response

      Head of Resourcing and Talent

      Thanks for your amazing review. We agree that the pace at which we are growing and particularly now we have launched Toolstation Academy, we can develop our people and create plenty of opportunity for those who are seeking progression. The business is very fast paced and at times I think we all feel the challenge of opening 60 new stores a year, but we are great at pulling together to do the right thing by our customers and one another. It really is a special company and great to be a part of it. Emma - Head of Resourcing & Talent

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 228 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Toolstation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Toolstation? Share Your Experiences

    Toolstation logo
    or