Toolstation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Toolstation Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Toolstation Managing Director James Mackenzie
James Mackenzie
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression(in 9 reviews)

  • "20% discount on there products and in travis perkins companies(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow(in 16 reviews)

  • "Clocking in, which has now has been abolished in Head office(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Bamber Bridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, varied work day, staff discount, progression

    Cons

    As like all retail Weekends and evenings can be a pain.

    Advice to Management

    Having been with Toolstation for 5 months now I am so impressed in the vision and drive the company has, they are really working hard on listening to what the staff have to say, the development programs for sales assistant up are fantastic and the opportunity to progress in the company is limitless. I left Screwfix to come to Toolstation and so far It has been the best decision I made.

    Toolstation2019-03-12
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Supervisor in Tonbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, pay is good, bonuses are good, great benefits, upper management are friendly and approachable and easy to talk too

    Cons

    12.5hour shifts if people are on holiday, open till 8 Monday to Friday now and Tech/IT are an on going issue technology in store needs serious upgrades/improvements

    Toolstation2020-01-19
  3. "Supervisor review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Dagenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay, consistent hours and specific job responsibilities

    Cons

    Constant solo trading, lack of support, high management turnover

    Toolstation2020-01-22
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Bridgwater, England

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security and great , friendly and engagement leadership

    Cons

    Not very much senior development

    Toolstation2020-01-18
  5. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Sales Consultant in Bridgwater, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive team. Fast paced work place.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs at times.

    Toolstation2020-01-08
  6. "Exciting times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Human Resources in Bridgwater, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A business in rapid growth meaning you can have impact and influence on the future and share in the successful journey

    Cons

    It's a fast paced business - this wouldn't necessarily suit everyone but if you enjoy challenge and change then it's fantastic

    Toolstation2020-01-03
  7. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not a lot it’s a job at the end of the day ain’t it.

    Cons

    If someone calls in sick and you gets forced to stay on which is wrong. And if you want to progress in this company they will give it to you if you give what they want if you know what I mean. And a 10p rise of minimum wage wow.

    Advice to Management

    Get staff to help cover and take care of your staff.

    Toolstation2020-01-13
  8. "Unfortunately not there just yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression is quite often available (may also be a bad thing) and the company will help you get there. Good staff discount as it includes Wickes , Travis Perkins and others Quite an easy job all round but a little tedious Slow improvements are being made towards employees and the company is starting to listen to what people want. Most people within the business are genuinely helpful and pleasant to work with and it is not a problem to call other stores, departments or even a regional manager.

    Show More

    Cons

    As progression is often available, this comes down to staff turnover - Its very very high! As said improvements are being made, but there is a long way to go. The company runs on the minimal amount of staff required, if somebody is on holiday and/or sick then someone has to draw the short straw and work unreasonable hours. By this I mean working without a break, working on your day off, getting multiple phone calls or messages on your day off, getting multiple calls or messages whilst on HOLIDAY?! Now that the stores are open until 8pm, this means that many of us will now have to work 13.5 hour shifts and again, quite often, without a break. This is not acceptable! We are not rewarded for this type of work. I personally enjoy a tough and challenging day but I want to be REWARDED for it. I am bored of being expected to "help" out but this is not returned. Why are we expected to cover other stores out of the goodness of our hearts when we lose 2 hours of OUR time travelling. When are you going to "help" us out? Rotas are given 4 weeks in advance but they are likely to change any moment and without notice. I have much more to add but I think this will cover a lot of how I and others feel

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please do the right thing. Listen to your teams and give more control

    Toolstation2020-01-13
  9. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Isleworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good salary for the beggining

    Cons

    nothing to think about yet

    Toolstation2019-11-26
  10. "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Evesham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toolstation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Toolstation really knows how to look after there employees. Very good benefits and salary isn’t that bad.

    Cons

    Can’t think of much. Only thing I disagree with is it only closes one day a year. Christmas Day.

    Toolstation2019-11-23
Found 128 reviews