TransMarket Group Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
TransMarket Group CEO Doug Adams (no image)
Doug Adams
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Team- I knew the team was smart when I joined- but I am in awe of the team TMG has put together(in 11 reviews)

  • "The traders even get taught in a course from the CEO via TMG University(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ideally there would be more communication on firmwide strategy expansion plans so the junior traders can help(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long interview process, sometimes long hours (but not like i-banking)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Garbage"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back dress code and free lunches.

    Cons

    Terrible comp. Firm seems to be filled with very subpar people (many experienced people have a terrible track record, new hires from distinctly average colleges). All the smart people from top colleges seem to be elsewhere. Many managers come in once a week. CEO tries to shove Christianity down your throat at every turn and I'm guessing this will also factor into whether you get made partner or not. Extremely high turnover. Dubious charity work (voluntourism trip to Haiti? seriously? sure let's go over to take pictures of us digging holes at 1/10th the speed of the locals and crash their construction labor market while we're at it). Food not great. I got a job at a (much better) competitor. Avoid like the plague

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2020-05-19
  2. "Not bad place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trader in London, England

    I have been working at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    Get to learn from big traders

    Cons

    Entry level salaries very low

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2010-09-03
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Political Culture; Sexist; Hierarchical"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training for new hires

    Cons

    The firm's either great or awful, depending on which team you end up on. The lucky people who joined early are now managers of the desks, some are great while others have no clue about management, barely shows up to work, and only promote those with glib tongues. The firm also hires high numbers of internationals in need of EB5 and significantly under pay them knowing they are less likely to leave. Very low base salaries compared to the industry. Bonuses are good for those who joined the firm early, but any later joiners are churned after they burn out on overnight shifts. Also, the firm has catered meals so employees work longer, and "unlimited vacation policy" so everyone feels pressured to take none.

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2018-06-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, collaborative culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    Good company and great collaborative culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    TransMarket Group2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Unprofessional organization"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quiet work environment. They order in decent lunches and breakfast for employees. Nice coffee machine. Location across from Union Station is convenient.

    Cons

    Almost no women are employed here. 90% men. Lots of people drink on the job. They dress very casual for an office environment, like they are at home doing laundry. They are disorganized and gossipy, but that is most likely because most employees are recent graduates with no prior professional experience or immigrants trying to stay in the country on work visas. These people have no sense of urgency, and then when things aren’t completed “on time” they blame others and pass the buck. They have high employee turn-over. I guess if you want to spend your life staring at a computer all day and drinking, this could be the job for you. If you’re a professional and seek a professional work environment, this place is not for you. Very immature, lack of standard employee policy and training. Poor internal communications. They have a very depressing work culture overall. No one seems happy at this company.

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2017-11-30
  6. "Trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great technology - Market access

    Cons

    - Monthly expenses above market

    TransMarket Group2017-11-07
  7. "Good firm, structure and management could be improved"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Trader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back environment Many perks Lots of brainstorming

    Cons

    The backoffice often is not efficient

    Continue reading
    TransMarket Group2017-10-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group full-time

    Pros

    solid company, smart people, mobility

    Cons

    none I can think of

    TransMarket Group2017-04-07
  9. "advice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    vacation days, we have a lot

    Cons

    we work a lot but that"s ok

    TransMarket Group2017-01-03
  10. "Software Development Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransMarket Group

    Pros

    Really intelligent people, cool culture, free breakfast, lunch, and dinner, free cereal and soda,

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons.

    TransMarket Group2016-10-23
Found 43 reviews