TranscribeMe Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TranscribeMe Reviews

Updated 12 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Alexei Dunayev
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started with TM in early 2015 as a transcriber(in 21 reviews)

  • "The platform they use: Yammer is quite addictive(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "20/audio hour - it takes about half an hour to an hour to transcribe a 4 minute clip so the pay rate works out to be quite miserable(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hourly wage is low when audio quality is poor(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "transcriber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriber 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe part-time

    Pros

    - active community & support - free work

    Cons

    - unpredictable quality of audio clips - unstable work (periods of no work available) - extremely low pay for time put in - account becomes inactive after 4 weeks of inactivity - steep learning curve (once again, unpaid)

    TranscribeMe2017-11-10
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Lagos
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing executives Good job flow Excellent support system

    Cons

    Not any one at this time. Except the pay is a bit low

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay of workers

    TranscribeMe2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (27)

    "Great Work from Home Job!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Transcriptionist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay, I was definitely hesitant about this at first. I have been looking into different side jobs that I can do from my house or from my college campus and I've found a Lot of scams that try to present themselves as real opportunities. I really like doing transcription work and thought I'd give Transcribeme a chance, and they are actually legit! They don't ask for a lot of personal info unless you want to move up in the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Many times when I have free time and want to do some work there won't actually be anything available. You just have to keep refreshing the page and hope to get something. Sometimes that takes a few minutes, but sometimes can be hours or days long. This job is not super steady when doing general transcription because of this. But you can take exams and move up to other positions that give you more work. Also, the pay...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would love for the pay to be per hour. I love this job so far but having a base rate of even $5/hr would make spending 40 minutes on a single file feel a lot better.

    TranscribeMe2018-11-15
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Qualification exam is completely bogus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriber in Cleveland, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Based off the quality and cohesiveness of the qualification exam, I don't think many exist.

    Cons

    Well for starters, the exam interface was very basic. Some of the grammar questions were kind of gray, meaning the right or wrong answer could be disputed. Also, the exam fails you even if you score a 100 on everything except for ONE SINGLE QUESTION. It would've been nice to know that before wasting an hour and a half of my time on this exam.

    Advice to Management

    Please make your qualification exam somewhat doable. Also, make sure the applicants are aware of what's asked of them, instead of them blindly going into the exam.

    TranscribeMe2019-02-16
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Ridiculous Policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of any honestly

    Cons

    Refused to work with me when I accidentally created a second account five years after creating my first one. Wouldn't even deactivate the first one, just refused to ever work with me again. Their loss, plenty companies pay much more believe me.

    Advice to Management

    Actually work with potential employees that are trying very hard to be a part of your team instead of outright refusing to.

    TranscribeMe2019-02-14
  6. Helpful (9)

    "The "entrance exam" is a scam. It takes hours to complete."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at TranscribeMe

    Pros

    There are no pros to this exam that I can see.

    Cons

    The entrance exam took hours to complete. They find errors in the fix the sentence section that do not exist so then you have to take the ENTIRE test over again. What is their game?? It's really a waste of time. I wouldn't want to work for a company that is deceptive at the very beginning! I find it hard to believe that anyone can truly make money at TranscribeMe.

    Advice to Management

    Make your exam fair and stop being deceptive.

    TranscribeMe2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "too difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TranscribeMe full-time

    Pros

    timings flexibility. I could work anytime I want.

    Cons

    the exams are too difficult and strict. I got blocked for using different accounts, I know using different accounts is prohibited but since the exams were too difficult to pass, that's why I had to use different accounts to work on my transition. If the pay was high, i don't mind if it is strict. when the pay is low, don't expect good quality

    Advice to Management

    Please do not be TOO strict. and the pay is too low as well...

    TranscribeMe2019-01-05
  8. "Good enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TranscribeMe full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay after you pass some exams, money is transferred on time, best community and staff, work never stops.

    Cons

    you don't choose the files you work on they come randomly and they are extremey short, they range from a few secondst o four minutes

    Advice to Management

    Increase your pay rate for transcribers, try to make people choose the files they work on.

    TranscribeMe2018-11-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at TranscribeMe full-time

      Pros

      remote, work at home, flexible

      Cons

      not enough work and pay is low

      TranscribeMe2018-09-27
    • "Transcribe me pays well."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Manila, Manila

        I have been working at TranscribeMe

        Pros

        Transcribe me pays well. They give opportunity for first time workers.

        Cons

        You have to past their exam.

        Advice to Management

        None

        TranscribeMe2018-08-10
      Found 64 reviews