Two Sigma Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Two Sigma Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Two Sigma Co-Chairmen David Siegel and John Overdeck (no image)
David Siegel and John Overdeck
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains were overstated in reviews that I saw on here(in 9 reviews)

  • "There's still some red-tape around getting environmental changes approved(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Still the best hedge fund to work at... for now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and culture; competitive compensation packages

    Cons

    Growing pains injecting previously unseen layers of bureaucracy into the company. Performance has been lagging recently.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2020-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible place to work - best in finance and on par with Google/FB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture: do great work, work with incredibly intelligent and talented people, and importantly, no wall street culture. By that I mean people do not have the delusion that overwork or self-sacrifice is a heroic quality, or source of success for the firm. Hiring the smartest people, and setting very high expectations for them is much more important. You're not expected to work 100 hours per week, but you are expected to have the most intelligent work product in the industry.

    Cons

    Small-ish company - you have to be comfortable being patient when looking for career growth opportunities

    Two Sigma2020-01-06
  3. "A very positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is excellent; you're surrounded by smart people who are willing to teach you; excellent benefits; commitment to learning with speaker series, reimbursement for conferences, tuition, etc.

    Cons

    Transitioning from a small company to a medium-sized company has resulted in some growing pains

    Two Sigma2020-01-06
  4. "Software Engineer Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Hardware Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and employee benefits.

    Cons

    Super competitive environment. Might got under review performance if not catching up with expectation.

    Two Sigma2020-01-17
  5. "Admin Professionals Not Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Two Sigma full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits, lots of food, parties are fun.

    Cons

    Admin professionals are underappreciated; communication is lacking.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2020-01-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collaborative, people genuinely care about you - will stop doing what they are doing to help! Culture focuses on respecting one another and being nice. Very tolerant and accepting company Work is a mix of figuring out how to scale or adjust to growth while keeping the lights on AND building for the future. Managers care and give you the ability to try, fail and try again.

    Cons

    I would say it’s an overall good place to work.

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2019-12-12
  7. "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, lots of interest in launching new businesses and growing current ones. Very motivated and intelligent people.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Two Sigma2019-11-14
  8. Helpful (11)

    "pays well, bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - pays quite well - good work-life balance - depending on team, might work on something very interesting

    Cons

    - extremely secretive culture which makes for both awkward interactions with colleagues (people on your own team won't say hi to you in the hallway) and actually makes your job harder (lots of things don't just lack documentation - they CAN'T be documented, people get thrown out of meetings half way through to preserve secrecy, no one casually talks about what they're working on) - can't interact with open source community or speak at conferences about your work very easily

    Continue reading
    Two Sigma2019-10-31
  9. "Great firm with interesting work and flat organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very flat structure. Everyone is approachable. - Interesting work. - Senior management comes from a place of trust, meaning they trust business and project owners to do what's best. And that culture permeates the organization. I feel like my manager has trust and confidence in me. - Certainly a tech firm in the finance / investment management world. This means casual dress code, great benefits, work-life balance, and workplace perks. - From what I've seen, internal mobility happens often and is encouraged. - Employees are empowered and encouraged to take on additional work / solve problems that aren't currently being worked on.

    Cons

    - Different business units can be compartmentalized so can be difficult to meet others throughout the organization.

    Two Sigma2019-10-08
  10. "About two sigma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher 

    I have been working at Two Sigma full-time

    Pros

    Working with many smart people

    Cons

    The company is too big

    Two Sigma2019-10-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews