Virgin Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Virgin Trains Reviews

Updated 1 October 2017
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Phil Whittingham
19 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Life so Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Crewe, England
    Current Employee - CSA in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Companies work ethic is based on customer interaction and quality of service. This is what matters to me, we both think the same way.
    Colleagues at all locations I have worked couldn't be more enjoyable or fun to work with.

    Cons

    None to speak of. To complain for complaining sake is not what I do. There's been nothing that has arisen that has not been resolved.

    Virgin Trains Response

    9 Oct 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're very pleased to hear that you're enjoying working for us Long may it continue!


  2. "Read your contract thoroughly before you sign."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crewe, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crewe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free Travel, thats about it.

    Cons

    Really unorganised
    Talk the talk but when it comes to giving what they say, they cant.
    READ UR CONTRACTS PROPERLY BEFORE SIGNING!
    FALSE ADVERTISEMENT

    Advice to Management

    Certain managers need their performance evaluated.

    Virgin Trains Response

    9 Oct 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. Very sorry to hear that you're not happy. Employee engagement is very important to us so I would strongly recommend that you talk to someone about this and... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Customer relations case work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Went through a recruitment agency said work could last less time but finished after 3 months. I could come in do my job with ease

    Cons

    Temporary staff isolated. Main staff didn't get involved with us until towards month 3 to say we are not hitting targets. I was placed in a pod away from my team with a manager asking why I didn't complete much on one system one day. Little did I know that this was a warning before deciding to get rid of me. Rude behaviour and unprofessional making me feel uncomfortable by being patronising about this. Then only introducing themselves after 3 months which was strange

    Advice to Management

    Make Temps feel welcome full introduction don't just palm them off onto a member of staff that doesn't have any GCSE'S. Shr made the Temps feel belittled only because she 'knew the system' she would also pass nasty comments about Temps making mistakes or to other Temps to just tell tails and state how she thought she had the power to get people fired. But she was also a temp. So maybe have a manager managing the Temps who actually works directly for Virginia.

    Virgin Trains Response

    9 Oct 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and this will be fed into the Customer Resolutions team for consideration. All the best in your future career.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time

    Pros

    Friendly team. Treated as a full team member from day 1. Good travel benefits.

    Cons

    Prior knowledge of the rail industry is helpful

    Virgin Trains Response

    9 Oct 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for leaving a great review!


  6. "Loving it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment met some amazing people fantastic travel facility's and other benefits

    Cons

    shift work but I knew that before I applied & it doesn't bother me

    Advice to Management

    Do feel like some of the feedback customers and fellow employees give can be overlooked occasionally, think a personal face to face with the customers on board asking for feedback would bring some good outlook on the business rather than the email process a few days after as they can be overlooked.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Manager
    Current Employee - Train Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    + great pay and perks
    + plenty of management genuinely want to listen and take concerns into account
    + 90% of colleagues are great fun and care about making a difference
    + opportunities to get involved in other parts of the business
    + contrary to popular opinion - there is opportunity to progress in the company, but as higher-up jobs come up rarely due to low staff turnover then you need to put in the preparation and effort to get ahead.
    + Train Manager's role is brilliant - the fact you can be your own boss and make decisions that you feel are best, without someone looking over your shoulder.
    + Being a Train Manager involves a lot of safety critical responsibilities which is good for your development and leadership skills

    Cons

    - uncertainty and insecurity in the TM role due to the end of the franchise approaching and national debate about DOO. Uncertain messages being sent from leadership whether role will continue in current form and if safety critical responsibilities will be removed.

    - you need to be able to deal with conflict especially regarding ticketing issues. This is the primary source of potential conflict with the public in the day-to-day job.

    Advice to Management

    Please clarify what the situation is for the Train Manager's role heading into the new franchise and what the vision is for the role.

    Virgin Trains Response

    26 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review. I will feed your advice into the appropriate people :)


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Badly organised company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Preston, North West England, England
    Former Employee - CSA in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay
    Benefits such as rail travel
    Good Holidays
    Options for overtime
    Paid every minute you work
    Strong union who are on your side!

    Cons

    Badly organised company
    Changes direction from one extreme to another
    Managers un-qualified for management positions
    Corruption in role progression
    Different rules for different people

    Advice to Management

    The pay and benefits of the job are good however the way the company is ran is a shambles!
    Any other corporate company has a HR department there for the customer - virgin trains HR are very much against!
    Very un organised with getting the information to the employees.
    Much of a divide between management and staff very You vs them approach your management shouldn't be like it was at virgin trains.
    Jobs advertised in house are never recruited for fairly and again go to one extreme to another when they feel like it often to make an excuse as they already know who they are wanting for the job before giving others fair chance.
    Unfairly treat people differently never consistent with rules etc some people get 9 lives compared to others &
    People end up in jobs which were never advertised and roles become created out of nowhere.
    Contracts for people never secure and know if they will have a job still from one month to the next!
    Would love a chat with richard as think he would be appalled at some of the goings on I experienced here!

    Virgin Trains Response

    10 Jul 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thanks for your review. I'm sorry you haven't had the best experience with us. Running a company of this size and complexity isn't always easy and we are always working hard to drive improvements... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "csa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Euston, England
    Current Employee - CSA in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    accountable authority to make decisions

    Cons

    impatience with deficiencies of staff

    Advice to Management

    put yourselves in the shoes of your staff

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review. Your advice is appreciated and will be considered in our plans. We would always encourage you to give open and honest feedback to your Manager too if you... More


  10. "Virgin Trains Are One Of The Best Out There..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Euston, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Pay and company ethos.
    Amazing colleagues and support.
    Fun place to be.
    Good opportunity for overtime.
    Company benefits and they are open to ideas which can implement change.
    Good inhouse promotion/ progession system.

    Cons

    Customer Service have unsociable hours.
    Late breaks.
    Little support from Management with abuse and violence from customers.

    Advice to Management

    Change break timings- make these earlier- not 7 hours in.
    Do more against Customers when abusing staff, as staff don't have the option to help customers if they miss their train anymore.

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review. Its really great to hear your experiences of working with us. Your feedback will be passed to the relevant person for discussion. Regarding abuse from customers, we are... More


  11. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The salary is good, and there are also other benefits including free train travel and discounts at other Virgin companies and partner brands. There's some great people working here - it's pretty diverse and there's people with years of experience, as well as lots of newbies keeping it fresh. We're encouraged to have fun as well as to work hard.

    Cons

    The relationship between those who work onboard and at stations can be a bit strained - there is, unfortunately, a divide although I have never been sure of the reason for this. The rail industry is also heavily unionised so it can be very difficult to make changes to benefit the customer. There is also a % salary increase each year - which at first glance is a good thing, but I really think we should be rewarded for our contribution to the business rather than those who do the bare minimum getting exactly the same as everyone else.

    Advice to Management

    Be stronger than unions.


Showing 41 of 43 reviews
Reset Filters