Virgin Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Virgin Trains Reviews

Updated 22 June 2017
35 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Phil Whittingham
16 Ratings

35 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (1)

    "csa"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Euston, England
    Current Employee - CSA in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    accountable authority to make decisions

    Cons

    impatience with deficiencies of staff

    Advice to Management

    put yourselves in the shoes of your staff

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review. Your advice is appreciated and will be considered in our plans. We would always encourage you to give open and honest feedback to your Manager too if you ... More


  2. "Virgin Trains Are One Of The Best Out There..."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Euston, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Euston, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Pay and company ethos.
    Amazing colleagues and support.
    Fun place to be.
    Good opportunity for overtime.
    Company benefits and they are open to ideas which can implement change.
    Good inhouse promotion/ progession system.

    Cons

    Customer Service have unsociable hours.
    Late breaks.
    Little support from Management with abuse and violence from customers.

    Advice to Management

    Change break timings- make these earlier- not 7 hours in.
    Do more against Customers when abusing staff, as staff don't have the option to help customers if they miss their train anymore.

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review. Its really great to hear your experiences of working with us. Your feedback will be passed to the relevant person for discussion. Regarding abuse from customers, we are ... More


  3. "Great People"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Train Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Staff - working with different crews every day - great variety.
    Wages and Ts&Cs - thanks to a strong union good working conditions and wage increase each year
    Shift work - which I like but obviously it doesn't suit everyone, especially if you have other commitments
    Passengers - see new people every day and enjoy the challenges that brings. Like shift work, not everyone will relish this!

    Cons

    Work/life balance - difficult to achieve fully with a 41 hr week and shifts which can go from one extreme to the other week on week. Reluctance from the company to start reducing this in line with other organisations unless staff give up a sizeable number of days off, which makes the objective pointless.

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation for front-line staff and the difficult roles that they do by working towards a shorter working week and the benefits that brings for them.

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your honest review. I will ensure your feedback is passed to the relevant people for discussion. The well-being of our people is important to us and we are always looking at ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Pretty good, if a bit monotonous"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Band A Electrician in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Band A Electrician in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good working conditions, good staff with a friendly atmosphere. Perks are good with free rail travel (until Hitachi take over.. Then who knows what's going to happen)

    Cons

    The work can be a bit like ground hog day. Train comes in, examine it, fix it, send it on its way. Next train comes in, examine it, fix it, send it on its way.

    Advice to Management

    Try and mix it up a bit, have some team building, drinks etc.

    Virgin Trains Response

    12 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to review, your feedback is appreciated.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    I think on the trains is okay but the London depot is some of the worst in the country, only pro is salary. Great to work for if you are a middle-ages white straight male.

    Cons

    There are so many racist, sexist, homophobic bigots, they are still stuck in the 60's. They have come a long way though, since 2012 the women are allowed to eat in the same room as the men, although most feel so uncomfortable they have their lunch in the changing room! oh and a few select black people where allowed to sit with the white! another 100 years and maybe they will have caught up with the 21st century.

    Advice to Management

    Screwing up and throwing serious discriminatory complaints in the bin just makes the issues worst!

    Virgin Trains Response

    15 Jun 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I am very sorry to hear that you haven't had the best experience with us. This review is particularly disturbing to hear as we pride ourselves on ... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Poor company with exec management bullying other managers."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excessive wages paid for the responsibility you hold as compared to industry outside the rail world and the pension is quite good also.

    Cons

    Bullying behaviours are exhibited all over the business, with only those protected by the union safe in many senses. Not a place I would recommend to any prospective employee.

    They operate a process where you can supposedly challenge anything - but if you do and you don't follow the party line expect the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Reflect on your poor behaviours

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we're sorry you haven't had a positive experience with us. Virgin Trains is committed to being a great place to work, where we celebrate ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "amazing journey"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    there an amazing employer to work for

    Cons

    no cons there an amazing employer

    Advice to Management

    none

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We love working with you too :)


  9. "team leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    most interesting job, some lovely people traveling and wonderful people working on the trains.I could not have asked for a better job anywhere, People with problems,or having a good life all came through the station all with a story to tell what more could you ask for all sorted with a cup of tea and chat

    Cons

    prats of so called men

    Advice to Management

    Not to forget they go quicker than station and on board staff.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will definitely consider your advice in future. All the best in your future career.


  10. "East Coast Mainline"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, sick/maternity/paternity/adoption pay. Roster known well in advance and fair systems for overtime and leave allocations.

    Cons

    some older staff who have been in the business since BR days can be very set in their ways and make change a slow or halted process.

    Advice to Management

    to be more proactive, to notice great service by staff, leading by example. Try servant leadership.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for providing a review of Virgin Trains East Coast


  11. "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free travel on VT services
    Good Training facilities
    Enjoyable colleagues

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to progress
    Pay is not reflective of work put in
    No real connection between the Exec and lower management

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for people to grow

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thanks for the review! Your comments will be taken onboard and discussed further to ensure we continue to provide opportunities for our people to achieve their potential with us. We have a number ... More


Showing 35 of 37 reviews
Reset Filters