Virgin Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Virgin Trains Reviews

Updated 17 March 2017
26 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Phil Whittingham
13 Ratings

26 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "amazing journey"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    there an amazing employer to work for

    Cons

    no cons there an amazing employer

    Advice to Management

    none

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We love working with you too :)


  2. "Poor company with exec management bullying other managers."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excessive wages paid for the responsibility you hold as compared to industry outside the rail world and the pension is quite good also.

    Cons

    Bullying behaviours are exhibited all over the business, with only those protected by the union safe in many senses. Not a place I would recommend to any prospective employee.

    They operate a process where you can supposedly challenge anything - but if you do and you don't follow the party line expect the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Reflect on your poor behaviours

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we're sorry you haven't had a positive experience with us. Virgin Trains is committed to being a great place to work, where we celebrate ... More


  3. "team leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    most interesting job, some lovely people traveling and wonderful people working on the trains.I could not have asked for a better job anywhere, People with problems,or having a good life all came through the station all with a story to tell what more could you ask for all sorted with a cup of tea and chat

    Cons

    prats of so called men

    Advice to Management

    Not to forget they go quicker than station and on board staff.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will definitely consider your advice in future. All the best in your future career.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "East Coast Mainline"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, sick/maternity/paternity/adoption pay. Roster known well in advance and fair systems for overtime and leave allocations.

    Cons

    some older staff who have been in the business since BR days can be very set in their ways and make change a slow or halted process.

    Advice to Management

    to be more proactive, to notice great service by staff, leading by example. Try servant leadership.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for providing a review of Virgin Trains East Coast


  6. "Nice Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Train Driver
    Former Employee - Train Driver
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Getting to drive trains and cool stuff like that. Very fun to do

    Cons

    Long distance journeys are annoying tbh but they're still fun

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people! You guys are great

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review! :)


  7. "Virgin Trains Management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time

    Pros

    Well paid company claiming to be progressive. Provided uniform. free travel (well not really as you paid for it with bad working conditions)

    Cons

    Trading on the Virgin brand, with Constant changes of direction, rudderless leadership, very poorly trained managers chosen on personal performance, nepotism and favoritism , rather than knowledge. Virgin buys employee loyalty, working initially, but management apathy and its inept attitudes soon out themselves. The company image is of one organised entity, flawless in its execution and diligence, with attention to customer service as it No1 priority, having been there watching and listening to scheming and infighting its a wonder how anything ever got done.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a strategy, inform everyone of the strategy, work at being the best that strategy can be , not change direction every 2 to 3 years confuse everyone and then change direction.

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    We're sorry to hear that you haven't had a great experience with us. Virgin Trains has been the industry leader for many years and we’re delighted that our people are the key to our continuing ... More


  8. "i worked for virgin west coast trains for 7 years, which I really enjoyed, I would recommend it to anyone"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    fantastic salary, staff benefits - uniform, staff staff and discount on other Train operators,

    Cons

    Lots of local level favouritism between management and staff which is such a shame as it's a fantastic company and brilliant place to work

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately the local management at the time let the company and myself down, after 7 years of employment with virgin trains with no sickness and numerous complimentary letters I decided to move abroad to live and work for a gigantic international transport company. Four years later I returned back to the UK and re applied for a very similar position I had done for 7 years ...... I was told that I didn't have the customer service skills!! There was and still is clear favouritism between certain members of staff and management which is such a shame otherwise it's a fantastic company to work for

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review. Its great that you would recommend us despite being unable to secure a position back with us. Our customer service roles are changing all the time, as they need to in ... More


  9. "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free travel on VT services
    Good Training facilities
    Enjoyable colleagues

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to progress
    Pay is not reflective of work put in
    No real connection between the Exec and lower management

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for people to grow

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thanks for the review! Your comments will be taken onboard and discussed further to ensure we continue to provide opportunities for our people to achieve their potential with us. We have a number ... More


  10. "Simply the best"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - CSA in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    10 brilliant years with a truly brilliant company - now I am enjoying my retirement. Recommended to all

    Cons

    You need to like every day being different and not want mundane

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for the great review!


  11. "Nearly Excellent"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some great team members
    Great Travel Perks for permanent employees
    Good Money

    Cons

    Some management need management training!
    Shifts
    its hard to progress within the company unless you live near to a major station like Euston or Birmingham.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to keep a closer eye on things

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. This year sees the introduction of a new suite of leadership programmes to continue to ensure our managers have the skills to lead our people in a ... More



Showing 26 of 28 reviews
Reset Filters