Virgin Trains Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Virgin Trains Reviews

Updated 10 May 2017
27 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Phil Whittingham
13 Ratings

27 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Pretty good, if a bit monotonous"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Band A Electrician in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Band A Electrician in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good working conditions, good staff with a friendly atmosphere. Perks are good with free rail travel (until Hitachi take over.. Then who knows what's going to happen)

    Cons

    The work can be a bit like ground hog day. Train comes in, examine it, fix it, send it on its way. Next train comes in, examine it, fix it, send it on its way.

    Advice to Management

    Try and mix it up a bit, have some team building, drinks etc.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor company with exec management bullying other managers."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excessive wages paid for the responsibility you hold as compared to industry outside the rail world and the pension is quite good also.

    Cons

    Bullying behaviours are exhibited all over the business, with only those protected by the union safe in many senses. Not a place I would recommend to any prospective employee.

    They operate a process where you can supposedly challenge anything - but if you do and you don't follow the party line expect the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Reflect on your poor behaviours

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we're sorry you haven't had a positive experience with us. Virgin Trains is committed to being a great place to work, where we celebrate ... More


  3. "amazing journey"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    there an amazing employer to work for

    Cons

    no cons there an amazing employer

    Advice to Management

    none

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We love working with you too :)


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "team leader"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Penrith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    most interesting job, some lovely people traveling and wonderful people working on the trains.I could not have asked for a better job anywhere, People with problems,or having a good life all came through the station all with a story to tell what more could you ask for all sorted with a cup of tea and chat

    Cons

    prats of so called men

    Advice to Management

    Not to forget they go quicker than station and on board staff.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We will definitely consider your advice in future. All the best in your future career.


  6. "East Coast Mainline"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, sick/maternity/paternity/adoption pay. Roster known well in advance and fair systems for overtime and leave allocations.

    Cons

    some older staff who have been in the business since BR days can be very set in their ways and make change a slow or halted process.

    Advice to Management

    to be more proactive, to notice great service by staff, leading by example. Try servant leadership.

    Virgin Trains Response

    21 Mar 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for providing a review of Virgin Trains East Coast


  7. "Good Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free travel on VT services
    Good Training facilities
    Enjoyable colleagues

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to progress
    Pay is not reflective of work put in
    No real connection between the Exec and lower management

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for people to grow

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thanks for the review! Your comments will be taken onboard and discussed further to ensure we continue to provide opportunities for our people to achieve their potential with us. We have a number ... More


  8. "Simply the best"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - CSA in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    10 brilliant years with a truly brilliant company - now I am enjoying my retirement. Recommended to all

    Cons

    You need to like every day being different and not want mundane

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for the great review!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "A brilliant brand, tied down with industry red-tape, and financial limitations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    That 'Virgin' spirit - great travel perks - access to other Virgin brand discounts and offers - good salary

    Cons

    A really old fashioned and negative industry - Nonsense rules and regs for its workers - Recent move to T&Cs - Not very 'Virgin' when it comes down to T&C's

    Advice to Management

    We need more staff on platforms and on board and better management of our people. Too many old fashioned BR staff where I am and its not nice. Fresh faces and ideas are what we need. I know thats easier said than done but it absolutely means happier customers

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 Jan 2017 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your comments. Yes, our industry is a complex one where safety is of paramount importance, which does mean rules and regulations. However, we believe we are on a journey to ... More


  10. "Great if you are permanent but DON'T WORK AS A TEMP HERE"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - West Midlands in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - West Midlands in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good rates of pay for permanent and fixed term staff and slightly average rates for temp agency workers, ok working environment, pretty inclusive if not a temp worker, good and convenient location.

    Cons

    Very deceptive with temp staff, incompetence and downright laziness on the part of some of the management and team leaders, overworked. poor and unfair pay for temp staff, would prefer to take on a mass of temporary agency workers so they can dish out insecure work on the cheap.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pretend to include temp workers in all decisions when you can sack them at will, stop using agencies and employ directly, tackle prejudice more within the organisation.

    Virgin Trains Response

    30 Mar 2016 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you haven't had a great experience with us. We endeavour to make everyone here feel like part of the family, whether permanent or temporary, but ... More


  11. "OK"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Trains full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    OK company, but I only worked for their predecessors East Coast trains who were a poor employer as they were a government owned company who were on sale to the highest bidder.

    Cons

    Dis not understand the health problems for employees with the pressure placed on them by the company

    Advice to Management

    Get a better understanding of the health issues caused by overworking your staff and giving the customer an un achievable expectation.

    Virgin Trains Response

    27 May 2016 – Lead Talent Partner

    Thank you for you review. We now have a dedicated health and well-being team who are reviewing working practices to ensure our roles provide the right balance of challenge and support. All the best.


Showing 27 of 28 reviews
Reset Filters