Wincanton Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wincanton Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 183 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Wincanton CEO James Wroath
James Wroath
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Canteen provid3d by our client was good and the client also provided secure parking(in 9 reviews)

  • "Good atmosphere, good people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of Senior Management (Head Office) visibility throughout the business(in 9 reviews)

  • "There are no Cons for me, but some may not like the fact that Bank Holidays are work as normal working days(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Blackburn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wincanton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, positive enforcement

    Cons

    No progression for staff or incentives

    Wincanton2018-10-09
  2. "Not a very good progression system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transportation Planner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wincanton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to get along with

    Cons

    Mangers are terrible at managing anything

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees more

    Wincanton2019-09-23
  3. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wincanton

    Pros

    Some of the staff were friendly

    Cons

    I recently went for an interview in Greenford, London and I was not impressed with the level of professionalism held by HR, a very bad representation of Wincanton.

    Advice to Management

    London salaries need to be reviewed, they are very low in comparison to other organisations.

    Wincanton2019-09-30
  4. "Great place but frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wincanton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, good teams, well paid

    Cons

    Management system needs looking at, very hit and miss, poor communication in all aspects of work

    Wincanton2019-09-15
  5. "Seem to want more and more from you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HGV DriverClass1 in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wincanton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Regular work is about the only pro I can give

    Cons

    Difficult to say if the whole of Wincanton is the same, but currently our contract is being altered by the customers request. So when I say they (the contract) wants more and more, it sounds like I'm work shy. On the contrary! Don't mind the graft but there's currently no balance. Getting home knackered from a 12 hr shift, to have to reduce hours a little to start another 12hr stint! No shorter routes to balance... things out. Salary is static and too many cooks tend to mess your wages up anyway.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See above really

    Wincanton2019-09-12
  6. "Avoid sainsburys wincanton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Collegue in Northampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wincanton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wages, good canteen, friendly co workers

    Cons

    Most of floor management, bad back from picking from pyramids, hounded for rates constantly, picks sometimes aren't in correct locations, cannot follow the scanner as you cannot stack correctly constantly restacking killing your rate Micromanaged till you have chronic stress and anxiety. But still expects you to be able to call in and attend a meeting (facepalm)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Dont keep hounding new staff from the first week. Take on board staff feedback even experienced new staff. And actually take the time to care for your staff, Talk to them. If you don't want to do that just go and get some robots to do the work instead.

    Wincanton2019-10-06
  7. "Underpaid and Underappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wincanton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some good Managers with very poor Corporate policies to follow

    Cons

    Extremely bureaucratic with systems from the 80s. Too much reliance on human knowledge and manual interventions. Staff are underpaid for the amount of manual work which is not rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your Systems and Staff

    Wincanton2019-10-03
  8. "Brilliant canteen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Rugby, England

    I worked at Wincanton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management are relaxed and the canteen is great.

    Cons

    Ridiculous distance to the toilet, takes 15 mins each way.

    Advice to Management

    I think the distance to the facilities is ridiculous and people are being commented on that it's a second lunch so everybody is too scared to drink anything which is ironic because in the cubicles are Britvic posters about re-hydration !

    Wincanton2019-08-22
  9. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker 

    I worked at Wincanton full-time

    Pros

    Good pay especially if you work overtime.

    Cons

    Alternating shifts and staff turnover was high.

    Wincanton2019-08-01
  10. "B&Q Kitchen delivery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class II Hgv in Burton upon Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wincanton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good wages and good co workers

    Cons

    Very Poor management need improvement in all areas

    Advice to Management

    Improve

    Wincanton2019-08-10
Found 183 reviews