hipages Reviews

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
hipages CEO and Founder Roby Sharon-Zipser
Roby Sharon-Zipser
1 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "The business is very fast paced at times(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is a lot of legacy code, so it takes a while to get up to speed(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Horrific"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at hipages

    Pros

    Free Breakfast Central Location. Entertaining colleagues. Reception staff. And that is about it.

    Cons

    Role was not as advertised. No support from management. Working in a highly pressurised environment and just left to get on with it. There is a "cult like" atmosphere about hipages. You can only talk about how great it is. All the time. - see all previous reviews! The product itself is shocking. Promises the world, delivers nothing and is a big con. My advice? Only work here if you have no soul and can cope with being indoctrinated into a cult.

    hipages2017-08-18

    hipages Response

    August 23, 2017People & Culture Manager

    It is unfortunate you did not have a great experience with us, and sometimes people and companies don't 'fit'. We encourage you to contact our People & Culture team if you would like to raise any specific issues. We also note that 90% of our team recently surveyed say that hipages is a Great Place to Work, and we wish you all the best in finding a better fit for your career.

  2. "Great place to learn and grown in a fast paced environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retention Team Leader in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great People - Collaborative Teams - Genuine "make it happen" attitude - Opportunity to grow and progress

    Cons

    - Newer Leadership neglecting DNA of company - Aggressive Sales targets neglecting customer experience

    hipages2020-02-24
  3. "Great work place!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at hipages full-time

    Pros

    Good company and good people

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    hipages2020-02-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A good place that puts people first"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people that work here make hipages what it is. A place that you like to go to in the morning. They really understand the concept of how valuable their staff is to them. There is hardly ever a week where our HR folks don't put up a little or big event for all of us. It’s important what you achieve, not where or when you do it. Which lets you as an employee manage your time within small boundaries and you don’t feel micromanaged but rather appreciated for what you deliver. It’s “remote first” in IT, so you will be able to work from wherever. Which is absolutely liberating for anyone working in IT. The CEOs Robby and David keep it real. They sit in the same room with us every day and you talk to them on eye level. Those two kept their feet on the ground and are up for a chat any time and always approachable. Hipages has Town Hall meetings once a month to keep things transparent and make sure all updates are given to all employees. Certainly not something you find everywhere. In the software department we do have daily stand ups and fortnightly bigger catch ups to keep everyone in the loop. You hardly feel left out, and if you do you can always ask. It’s a very “enabling” climate at hipages. The attitude is “Let’s solve this problem.” Rather than “Who can we blame for that?”. I know that might be a lot of fun going down the drain right there ;-) But in the long run it provides a very pleasant work environment. And now the perks: Brekky is on hipages (all day brekky if you want) Coffee can be ordered in pods , coffee machines are provided Pick your PC/MAC/ Monitor configuration All desks are height adjustable Welcome package saying “Welcome home” (That one impressed me heaps) 7 different kinds of milk in the fridge Friday drinks from 4:30 pm Meeting rooms are themed (Painter / Locksmith / Gardner … ) There is a Chill room which feels like “Laying at a beach in Bali” Rumpus Are with PS3, foosball table and table tennis 2 massive balconies with BBQs, lawnball area and hammocks Career development plan for each employee / weekly catch up with your direct manager Awesome devops team (half their crew is German, they are done with your ticket before you opened it) Kubernetes

    Cons

    Ticking clocks in some areas... those annoy ppl at times

    hipages2018-11-07
  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at hipages full-time

    Pros

    - really great design culture - lovely P&C team - inviting office space

    Cons

    - senior management can be a little opaque

    Continue reading
    hipages2018-09-13
  6. "Really great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, great culture, brilliant social scene, everyone is friendly and approachable

    Cons

    As with many start ups, there are many demands on your time and many responsibilities within your role. Little scope for career progression during my tenure due to the management structure

    hipages2018-09-06
  7. "Great in developing employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best company I've worked with in terms of developing my skills

    Cons

    I think one of the cons for this company is they set goals too high.

    hipages2018-08-20

    hipages Response

    August 27, 2018

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad you saw the impact of our renewed investment in developing the team and really happy to hear you had a great experience with hipages. Yes, we are a fast growth company and at times it can feel like it is a very high mountain to climb. I appreciate your feedback on this and my team can explore more on how to make sure team members feel they are achieving key milestones along the journey. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not the company it once was"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at hipages full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office, Friday drinks, breakfast each day and cool mid year and end of year parties

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets with lack of leads, even if you do hit targets they increase them the following month so you paid the least amount of commission they can and there is a constant fear you will lose your job. Not a lot of recognition when you do hit your targets. Senior managers walk around watching to see if you are on the phones. The product is poor and when a customer wants to cancel because the see a drop in leads you lose that sale. The environment is very stressful.

    Continue reading
    hipages2018-08-29

    hipages Response

    September 4, 2018

    Hi, Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I acknowledge that sales roles can be tough and are definitely not for everybody. I'm really sorry you found the role so stressful. We will definitely look more into the sales environment and processes to see if your experience is shared by others and what we can do to support our sales team more. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  9. Helpful (2)

    "They are great to work for if they don't make you redundant or try to push you out the door"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at hipages

    Pros

    They provide copious amounts of alcohol and high calorie food.

    Cons

    Everything else, management in particular

    Continue reading
    hipages2018-08-22

    hipages Response

    August 26, 2018

    Hi, the purpose of Glassdoor is to provide constructive feedback to share your experience so others can gain an insight into the work environment and culture. As always I welcome direct contact with specific feedback that I am able to address. We are proud to have been recently recognised externally by the Great Place to Work institute as a great place to work, based on the survey results of all our employees. One of the areas we excel at is our wellbeing program which includes us providing fresh fruit, a continental (healthy) breakfast, meditation sessions and other support for overall wellbeing. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

  10. "sales representative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at hipages full-time

    Pros

    great people and culture and perks

    Cons

    not much career opportunities can be a stressful environment

    hipages2018-08-22

    hipages Response

    August 26, 2018

    Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We have invested in a dedicated Talent Development Manager and have a dedicated budget to support career development and growth, our objective is to be the number one company in Australia to grow your career. We are still a medium sized company so I can appreciate it may seem at times not as many opportunities as larger companies but we are working hard to ensure we invest in our people so when opportunities do become available they are ready to make the next step. I also understand that sales can be stressful at times with targets to meet. I appreciate your feedback and my team will look to see what we can do to further support our sales team members. Kind Regards, Jodette Cleary - Chief People Officer

Found 58 reviews