iwoca Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

iwoca Reviews

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
92%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
iwoca CEO & Co-Founder Christoph Rieche (no image)
Christoph Rieche
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really friendly, fun and dynamic work environment(in 10 reviews)

  • "The bosses are willing to consider flexible working arrangements if deemed necessary(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and culture, good benefits

    Cons

    Cant think of a single thing

    Continue reading
    iwoca2020-01-25
  2. "Up and coming in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iwoca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Diversity, team work and free food

    Cons

    Poor management structure and culture has been diluted

    iwoca2020-02-10
  3. "A company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that genuinely cares about it's employees. Great benefits, and great culture.

    Cons

    Unable to think of any cons.

    Continue reading
    iwoca2019-12-31
  4. "Good company with great people but low payment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team, knowledge sharing, breakfast everyday and evening drinks on Friday

    Cons

    Low payment, doesn't really know if it's a start up anymore and a bigger company yet

    iwoca2019-12-16

    iwoca Response

    January 10, 2020

    Thanks for the lovely review and your feedback .

    Continue reading
  5. "Smart People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great working culture and the opportunity to work with genuinely smart people.

    Cons

    growing pains that you would usually associate with a rapidly scaling fintech startup... although nowhere near as bad as what I've heard from other fintechs.

    iwoca2019-12-17

    iwoca Response

    January 10, 2020

    Thank you for the review - it's great to get your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Fantastic workplace if you can take initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Fast growth - many opportunities to contribute to exciting projects 2) Engaged management with a clear vision 3) Substantial autonomy in setting targets and defining projects which align with the wider company goals 4) Regular and candid feedback - great if you're motivated by learning and improving 5) Very smart colleagues with wide range of backgrounds and areas of expertise 6) Great benefits and fair pay

    Cons

    You'll receive better compensation at larger established tech companies, but you'll sacrifice range of exposure to different technologies and problems, and extent of responsibility.

    Continue reading
    iwoca2019-11-20

    iwoca Response

    January 10, 2020

    Appreciate the great review - thank you !

    Continue reading
  7. "Okay Job - Some really smart people - Not great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iwoca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some really smart people, in particular in tech and analytics - Many food related perks (free breakfast, free food in the office) - Many opportunity to design your own career path in the company, as long as you can create value - Some members of the upper management are fairly open to new ideas and generally speaking will be keen to have a conversation - Strong performer are likely to be rewarded and receive leading roles, besides how much experience they have or their background (eg non industry related or junior) - Many presentations allowing everyone to get a grasp of what different areas of the business are doing - A lot of great work is done to promote diversity and gender equality

    Cons

    - Surprisingly a lot of hypocrisy and politics going on, probably too much for such a young company. Being humble is promoted as a core value, still there are a lot of big egos, and being one seems to favor career progression. Many attempts to show how transparent and fair the decision processes are, while very often it is not really the case - Some members of the upper management don't seem to be up to the task, either for lack of vision or skills - Favoritism seems to play a big role in career progression

    iwoca2019-11-02

    iwoca Response

    November 4, 2019

    Thanks for your review. Your feedback about your experience here is really appreciated - the good and the bad. We are learning as we grow and this is the stuff that helps us get better!

    Continue reading
  8. "fun place to work, and smart top management and some workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at iwoca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun, had table tennis and pool and you could actually play it.

    Cons

    bonus based pay, some may not like this, it was cool with me tho.

    iwoca2019-10-14

    iwoca Response

    November 4, 2019

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Risk Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iwoca full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, nice breakfast every morning.

    Cons

    Some bad line managers - not trained and huge egos.

    Continue reading
    iwoca2019-09-11
  10. "Dream Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iwoca full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in my Industry for 15 years and without doubt iwoca is the best company I have worked for by a country mile. Having worked all around the world I wanted to find a company who have a strong team environment and one who genuinely try and help their customers. I had high hopes for iwoca as a company but they have exceeded my expectations. I've been working for the company for 6 months and immediately felt part of the team. I have had regular 1-2-1's and really feel my opinion matters. The working environment is excellent and makes the day go so quickly - it's home time before I know it. iwoca genuinely care about their staff and always give people the opportunity to progress, whether it's in the same department or another team.

    Cons

    The only con I have about the company is they didn't advertise the role sooner. I'm thoroughly enjoying my time here and look forward to many more months and years with the team.

    iwoca2019-08-22

    iwoca Response

    November 4, 2019

    Delighted to hear you are enjoying your time at iwoca so much. Thanks for the lovely review!

    Continue reading
Found 65 reviews