AO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AO Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including SPA and staff discounts(in 24 reviews)

  • "AO have an on site starbucks which is exactly the same as normal(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure(in 17 reviews)

  • "Long hours, calls become boring but that is a personal opinion(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training days, latest tooling, big cloud users AWS Enterprise level

    Cons

    Travelling to bolton can be a bit of a pain unless you work in the manchester office

    AO2020-01-06
  2. "Great People Agenda, great enivornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Trainer in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Development, Environment, Supportive Management, Great People, Communication

    Cons

    Early days but none yet

    AO2020-01-16
  3. "Environment and perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The overall working conditions are second to none, Especially with regards to the ongoing support supplied by everyone in their management roles. Also the paternity leave is fantastic with enhanced pay and a hamper to welcome your new addition.

    Cons

    Early days for myself but would like to see continued opportunities of progression.

    AO2020-01-11
  4. "Flexible working, career prospects and supportive environment with like minded colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PA in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work life balance, comprehensive benefits, good communication from management, recognition of ambition, feeling of stability, fun place to work with genuinely like minded people.

    Cons

    Support for progress/development often needs to be sought rather than offered, some issues with identifying who is responsible for particular functions but this is often inherent in a larger organisation.

    AO2020-01-09
  5. "Great corporative culture and promising future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Analyst in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good benefits package - Human touch across all the company, so the work environment is friendly and funny. - The Management Team is very supportive. - The company is growing a lot and that is allowing more career opportunities.

    Cons

    - AO Mobile does not offer right now a Career Development Plan. However, I am aware that the company is working on that. - although it is not bad, salary reviews should be more frequent. - although cosy, the company needs to start thinking about moving to new facilities. It is beginning to be small for all the staff, especially the staff room.

    Advice to Management

    As mentioned before, the creation of a career plan and the move to new facilities are the priorities they would think about.

    AO2020-01-09
  6. "Nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Assistant in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly people and great atmosphere. - Opportunities to progress and develop skillset. - Approachable and supportive managers - Ideas and suggestions to improve/ make changes to job roles and workplace encouraged.

    Cons

    - Limited onsite parking - 30 minute lunch break

    AO2020-01-09
  7. "Safe, Fun and Exciting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AO have great values and always want to ensure their employees are happy. AO do a lot for charity. The benefits are awesome. We have support from Mental Health First Aiders. There is something always around the corner, like a project release, news appearance, fun day for staff or something, that AO are always working on and it's exciting to see things unfold. I feel very secure and safe in my longevity here. Great training programme. Management provide monthly 121's and coaching sessions so that employees can always improve and strive to the top! Everyone - not just managers - are always very supportive. We are like one big family, I rarely (if not ever) experience or witness bullying or harassment here, it is a very harmonious environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    Environmentally, the use of paper, food wrappers, drinks etc could be reduced by a massive amount. I don't feel the company matches my personal environmental ethos. Training programme could use development but it's difficult when there isn't a department/individual dedicated to training. Communication between departments could use some work. The facilities need improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Communication could improve improve.

    AO2020-01-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay, unrealistic runs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Crewe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the other drivers are great.

    Cons

    Unrealistic delivery and installation times. Low pay. Not willing to pay for time lost.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the drivers. The supplied phones are awful and slow. The app is poorly implemented. Office staff are completely oblivious of what the job entails.

    AO2020-01-18
  9. "Great company but relentless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fun, awesome people

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, lack of female representation on the senior management team

    AO2019-12-09
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The worst employer I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff except for management laughing with colleagues how bad management are.

    Cons

    Management, bullying culture where employees are pushed out of the business by shocking management.

    Advice to Management

    Whats the point you don't listen. Learn the company values, hypocrites

    AO2020-01-07
Found 252 reviews
</>Embed