AO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AO Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including SPA and staff discounts(in 24 reviews)

  • "AO have an on site starbucks which is exactly the same as normal(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure(in 17 reviews)

  • "Long hours, calls become boring but that is a personal opinion(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "grad sales exec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Sales Executive 

    I worked at AO full-time

    Pros

    Excellent place to work - lots of perks and a real family

    Cons

    High pressure sales environment not suited to everybody

    AO2019-09-26
  2. "Part of a sales team responsible for point of sale insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Social side of the role, benefits in day to day working life are incredible

    Cons

    High pressure environment dependent on performance

    AO2019-09-21
  3. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The relationship you can develop with Directors and Senior Managers whose doors are always open Ideas are listened to The engagement events and efforts are great, especially on site spa The internal development opportunities

    Cons

    The business is constantly in flux and always changing their approach to everything, which is amazing, but also if you don't respond well to change then you won't enjoy your role

    AO2019-09-18
  4. "Great environment - better pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    33 Days holiday Commission structure Free breakfast and snacks during the day Lots of incentives Lots of office nights out 1pm finish Friday

    Cons

    The job can be very demanding Long hours

    AO2019-08-29
  5. "Workload very extreme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Potters Bar, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AO part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues good kitchen free food

    Cons

    Managers and supervisors are careless and have no consideration and appreciation for us warehouse associates

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly

    AO2019-09-11

    AO Response

    October 10, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review We're glad to hear that you are pleased with some of the great benefits that we offer our people. All of our managers / supervisors and team leaders are invested in their teams and our company purpose. Each and every AO'er holds a great deal of value to us so it's disappointing that you feel this way. No one should feel that they are overloaded and we would hope that you have raised any concerns you have with your line manager. We do ensure that all team members are fairly provided with the correct support, tools and training they need but if you have any suggestions please share them with us. All the best AO should feel that they are overloaded and we would hope that you have raised any concerns you have with your line manager. The work involved in being one of our warehouse operatives can be physical due to the nature of the role itself but is always a team effort with the goal of supporting our home delivery network being key. As an employer we do of course we ensure that all team members are provided with the correct support tools and training they will need to get the job done the AO way.

    Show Less
  6. "Sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money to be earned.

    Cons

    Can be hard to adapt to role.

    AO2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers. The day I gave my notice in.

    Cons

    Awful useless line manager who had no relevant skills or qualifications. Bullying culture Clicky

    Advice to Management

    Look at why people keep leaving. Stop your favoritism and promote people on departments who bring knowledge and skills and not your favorite female. When a department keeps loosing staff look at the manager instead of saying its the team who are all at fault.

    AO2019-09-20

    AO Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review We’re disappointed to hear that you feel there isn’t a fair approach to our internal recruitment process. As a business our recruitment team ensure that all applicants have equal opportunity to showcase their knowledge and skills throughout the interview process. We have a scoring system in place that allows the hiring manager and recruiter to choose the best person for the role based on their experience and ability to display our company values. We have an open door policy when it comes to feedback and would always recommend you speak to a senior member of the team if you want to discuss anything. All the best in your new role! AO

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great culture, bad working practises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people really are nice here, in terms of the people you work with I've not worked anywhere with people as friendly as they are at ao. - Fantastic work/life balance, you will almost never be asked to stay late to fix something (and on the extremely rare occasions it happened to me, time was given back). - It's a similar point to above but in general the vibe at the company is just amazing. People are... happy and there's just a nice buzz around the office. - Lots of things to do outside of work with your colleagues, whether it's going to the pub on Fridays with people or playing sport or whatever, there's things you can do to get to know your colleagues. - Management do care about you as an individual (the ones I worked with). The general working conditions are good, you aren't micromanaged at all and I made a lot of friends during my time there. Having nice managers is one of the biggest factors that determine if you'll be happy at your job and all of the managers I dealt with at ao were nice, kind, and understanding. - If you express an interest in learning something or even changing career paths, they genuinely support you in that. I've seen multiple people there switch careers and ao did everything they could to accommodate them.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Still quite inflexible on things like flexi-time and remote working. - An insane amount of hierarchy. They pretend that teams are autonomous but try to get anything done and you'll find yourself having meetings with 30 people all with their own agenda. Teams really aren't autonomous and it's really damaging the company unfortunately, because things turn so slowly that competitors are able to change and adapt... quicker than ao. - The biggest one is probably how slow/ancient things feel. Sometimes you can have so many meetings in a day that you barely get to do any work. People can be very territorial about their area of the business so getting anything new and innovative done is extremely difficult. The work just isn't interesting, and while that's ok for a while at some point you want to push yourself and be given some freedom to try new ways of doing things. - This one probably applies to every e-commerce company but senior management expect you to really buy into the vision of the company - come on, we sell washing machines and headphones, it's not something that gets you up in the morning and drives you. Most people join a company because of location + money + culture + work/life balance, can we stop pretending you have to be passionate about selling fridges in order to really contribute here?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The levels of management and bureaucracy is killing the technical teams. It's so slow to release any changes, the time it takes to go from Idea -> Something On The Site is so much slower than most companies and it's going to really cost ao in the long run. Make it easier for your teams to do what they think is right. If you give them ownership of a product, then let them take ownership.

    AO2019-08-15

    AO Response

    September 30, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review We love to collaborate and are constantly trying new ways to allow for people to achieve this without being in the office. We have a sensible approach when it comes to flexibility for our people and give equal support to everyone in the department to allow for their responsibilities outside of work. We trust our people to do the right thing for themselves and AO. We encourage lean / agile principles, but teams choose their own processes and technologies – they are the closest to the problems they’re solving and can make the best decisions. They are conscious of the need for stability and scalability for AO.com which means there is a level of consideration of what preference we have for large scale solutions like AWS. We work hard to find out quickly and without betting the farm whether we’re on the right track. We ship working software to real users in days, not months and we use their feedback to inspire us on what we do next. We always say start with the quickest thing you can do to make sure you are on the right track. Our purpose is to have the happiest customers by relentlessly striving to find a better way. We have just been voted in the UK top 10 for Customer Service by Which? This is a huge vote of confidence for our people and shows that living your vision pays off. We care about the things that are important to our people and ensure we do everything we can to make them as happy as our customers. All the best! AO

    Show Less
  9. "Best Job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Sales Executive in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -amazing atmosphere & people -great benefits -flexible working -overtime opportunities -amazing earning potential

    Cons

    -some weekend shifts are required

    Advice to Management

    none!

    AO2019-08-06
  10. "Changed my life - best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Executive in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -earning potential is unreal, i took away £55k last year -Development opportunities, in house training and support -Fun environment, incentives and nights out

    Cons

    -It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure

    Advice to Management

    - Keep sharing the development you do as its one the best things about this team being able to learn from management and progress

    AO2019-08-05
Found 232 reviews
</>Embed