AO Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 440 of over 473 reviews

3.5
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including Starbucks and spa(in 31 reviews)

  • "On site facilities including canteen, starbucks(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no work life balance as you have long hours and mostly work 6 days a week(in 21 reviews)

  • "It's fast paced and direction / strategy is liable to change regularly (e(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic company

      Nov 20, 2021 - Transhipper in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free snacks and refreshment Large restroom Pool TV and darts Great benefits and discount

      Cons

      Hard to find in the dark

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AO Response

      Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us and we're chuffed that you love the benefits at AO. There’s a whole team of people behind the scenes who research and improve the benefits we offer, so it’s amazing to see that their work doesn’t go unnoticed. I'm really looking forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the senior team. All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      OK culture but fading

      Jan 6, 2022 - Software Developer in Crewe, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good support and development prorammes

      Cons

      Can have a negative atmosphere, not as engaging with employees as it used to be

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hi, thanks for the four-star review and for taking the time to share your experience at AO. It was great to read that you’re happy with the development opportunities here. A lot of work goes into helping our people broaden their skills and head down a career path that’s perfect for them, so it’s good to know that we’re on the right track with that. We also really try to create an environment where everyone can thrive, so your feelings regarding the atmosphere isn't what we're aiming for. We’d really appreciate knowing how you think we could be more engaged, so please get in touch - PeopleTeam@AO.com All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor company

      Jan 18, 2022 - Delivery Driver in Crewe, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None to mention to make it worth

      Cons

      Long unpaid hours Vans are not loaded correctly The lack of sympathy from managers and call center

      1 person found this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hi, thanks for reviewing AO. We take pride in offering a flexible approach to working that helps all our AOers maintain a healthy work-life balance, so it was disappointing to learn that you think our hours are a bit much. We're concerned about what you said about how our vans are loaded too. We’d really appreciate knowing more about this so please get in touch - peopleteam@ao.com

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Alright

      Jan 13, 2022 - Warehouse Operative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people work there good

      Cons

      Long hours long hours long hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hi, we think our AOers are pretty awesome too - that’s because we make a point of hiring super lovely people. We want all of our people to benefit from our flexible approach to working and maintain a healthy work-life balance, so it was upsetting to learn that you think our hours are long. Thanks again for making the time to review AO. All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the Best

      Jan 12, 2022 - Software Developer in Bolton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Equipment to work from home was good.

      Cons

      Salary is below industry standard No progression opportunities

      1 person found this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hello, thanks for your honest review of AO. We do keep tabs on the market to make sure we’re rewarding our people fairly, so it’s not great to hear that you think we’re falling short on pay. On a similar note, we put a huge amount of effort into equipping every AOer with the know-how and preparation to do their job to the fullest. Our learning and development teams constantly explore new ways to make our people the best they can be. We’d really appreciate knowing more about your experience and how you think we can improve on what we've built at AO, so please get in touch - PeopleTeam@AO.com All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not as rosy as advertised

      Dec 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bolton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the people are nice and show dedication and care foor the work. Subsidised Starbucks and gym membership.

      Cons

      Where to start? The company do not care about customers or employees. Numbers come first which means customers end up calling in repeatedly because their issue is unresolved. No managers care about this as long as the call time is low, and you're penalised for taking the time to help customers. The attitude towards disabilities is appalling. Willingness to discriminate against mental disabilities and break the law is common. Being told you're just a number and easy to replace is the icing on the cake. There's no value placed on experience or dedication, if you're a drone or if you look like you have an OnlyFans you're in.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your experience at AO so far - and we're sad to learn it isn't what you'd hoped. Every person at AO should feel like they’re treated fairly and with respect, so your points around mental disability discrimination are concerning. We're keen to learn more about that so please contact us at PeopleTeam@ao.com. Thanks - AO.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work

      Dec 7, 2021 - Talent Acquisition 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, great company ethos

      Cons

      No cons, lovely people to work with

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AO Response

      Wow, what a great review! Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good Pay

      Dec 6, 2021 - Customer Experience Specialist in Bolton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. Very customer focussed. Lots of work events.

      Cons

      None that come to mind.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AO Response

      This review made my day! It was so lovely to read about why you love working for AO. Thanks for your kind words. All the best, Alison Hushon - HR Director

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      General operative.

      Jan 9, 2022 - General operative. in Crew, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really can not think of a single positive thing to say about working for AO apart from the other exploited workers who despite the Victorian working conditions manage in most cases to retain their sense of humour.

      Cons

      Where on Earth to start!!. (1) Working conditions, Health and Safety is something that is merely a tick box exercise to cover the companies back, for the down trodden workers there is little regard for COVID precautions, lack of sanitizer, masks, gloves. not informing other employees promptly when someone has tested positive for covid 19.Lack of safety equipment, boots, dust masks, uniforms, lack of basic tools of the trade. (2) Poorly trained staff ( not their fault) working on potentially hazardous items such as Tumble Dryers, Microwaves, Washing machines, adding to this is the companies disregard for the advice of the skilled employees that have worked in the industry for decades and know what their talking about, they are utterly ignored. (3) AO seems to think employees don't deserve decent breaks, those working unsocial hours 2pm to 10pm and night shifts for instance get 30 minutes to ram food down their throats before being marched back to finish their miserable shift, no wonder so many have health problems. (4) No shift allowance and appallingly poor pay, the employees work their backs sides off and for this they can expect to receive demands of "work harder and faster", a truly Victorian work house approach" and truly counter productive. (5) Zero chance of any progression as the culture is one of who you know and not what you know based on family ties, friends and money, if you spend your time kissing the back sides of the upper management you might slide your way up the greasy poll "slightly", maybe! I could go on and on and on why this is an appalling bad place to work. Please if your thinking of working for this company then think again. There are lots of low paid jobs out there that are better than this and most people are better and can do better than working for AO, it's really not good, you deserve better. I see that AO have responded to a number of these reviews by reading from a script and displaying a whistle blowing number to call. I called this number out of interest to see what their response would be. After "several days" of trying I managed to get an answer only to be met with allegations and insinuations that I was lying and didn't know what I was talking about. Given the upper management culture at AO I was not surprised one bit by this response, pretty much expected it!. As someone with over 20 years experience in this industry I can do better than working for this company. They "DO NOT VALUE" experience and would rather cut corners by employing people with zero knowledge than do things correctly and more importantly "safely" by listening to experienced people within the company. I'm not the only one who thinks like this, most of my colleagues are actively looking for opportunities elsewhere and where they'll be appreciated for what they contribute to a business. One last thing, under no circumstances if you are a Gas Safe Engineer consider working AO. The company doesn't recognize the word "engineer" , to them it simply means your an unqualified dogs body with little merit or intelligence.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Micro managed

      Jan 5, 2022 - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money if you work all day every day

      Cons

      Working all day every day

      1 person found this review helpful

      AO Response

      Hello, thanks for your review. Every person at AO should feel trusted enough to do their job without feeling like they’re under a microscope. We promote AOers and hand out responsibilities with the confidence that they’ll lead and support their teams the right way. We’d really appreciate knowing more about your experience, so please get in touch - PeopleTeam@AO.com

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 440 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with AO Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at AO? Share Your Experiences

    AO logo
    or