AO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AO Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including SPA and staff discounts(in 27 reviews)

  • "2 gym and subsided Starbucks all this with a great bunch of people makes it a great place to work(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure(in 17 reviews)

  • "Long hours and can be very stressful(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AO part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything couldn’t of asked for a better boss

    Cons

    Nothing! Only left due to illness.

    AO2020-03-30
  2. "Super friendly and a happy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly and helpful people to work with. Love the perks, Starbucks, Spa, Gym membership.

    Cons

    The communte can be testing, but once you find a 'traffic window', its no worse than travelling to manchester every day.

    AO2020-02-25

    AO Response

    March 8, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for leaving such an amazing review – it’s lovely to hear that you enjoy working for AO. Your happiness is really important to us and it’s great that your comments highlight the hard work that goes into making AO such a wonderful place to be. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

    Continue reading
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and you are really looked after

    Cons

    None to be honest, I love it!

    Continue reading
    AO2020-02-13

    AO Response

    February 20, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We're so grateful for your kind words. Thanks for sharing your review with us and the Glassdoor community. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

    Continue reading
  4. "Hard Work, Good environemnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, great office functions and team building

    Cons

    Slight lack of communication and it is a difficult job as with all call centres

    AO2020-02-12

    AO Response

    February 20, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We’re so glad that you love our culture, but it’s the bold, fun, smart and caring people like you that really bring it to life. So thank you!

    Continue reading
  5. "Fun and fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Thatcham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun workplace, friendly and supporting environment

    Cons

    Most roles include evening and weekend hours as standard

    AO2020-02-12

    AO Response

    February 20, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We really try to create an environment where everyone can thrive. We’re proud of it, so it’s great to hear that you like it too.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Office in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free snacks, laid back, lovely people, fun environment, social events, nice managers.

    Cons

    No career advancement, no pay rises, no bonus unless you have direct contact with the customers. Company is centred around the sales teams.

    Continue reading
    AO2020-01-30

    AO Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your honest review, and while we’re really pleased to hear your experience was mainly really positive, we’re sorry you feel there weren’t the progression opportunities you’d have liked. We’d love to know how we can improve in your eyes, so if you can get in touch to tell us a bit more about your time at AO we’d really appreciate it. Thanks again.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A truly fast pasted employer with highly hierarchical approach to strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bolton, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO

    Pros

    - Free breakfast, drinks - Heavily subsidized spa, Starbucks and gym AO does have some very good traits, it’s highly organised from a retail prospect, knows how to trade only both in product and commercially extremely well. From a cultural prospective I the teams you are part of maintain an extremely strong ‘Team’ feel and they are very good at organising staff events etc... A real high was working with the an exceptional IT group function (now AO tech), most of team leads / HoD’s across software development, project management and a industry leading business analysts function where a joy to work with, both from the tech stack they built, UX design approach or ways of working they had.

    Cons

    Sadly AO is let’s it self down in several key areas: - it employs on an extremely homogeneous way, where by opportunity to improve neuro-diversity are rarely seen, sticking to what is now very much seen as an outdated values based hiring approach. - Organisation strategy is very autocratic, with mid management given given no room to pursue anything not driven by the retails director ‘clicks’. This also lead to little creative debate between directors and often bartering was common between directors - structure is highly middle management heavy, with very common practices being for 1–2-1 ratios of 1 manager and 1 exec teams. - No flexitime offered at all, just management discretion, as a working parent every time I left early than 16:30 it would be frowned upon by not just by senior management but other team members. - Managers and Heads of Department would often ‘disappear’ with no explanation by directors. Often this was by other directors/HoD pushing others under the bus. It was not uncommon for the MD to let people go on a wim. - HR although very good in general have many out it date practices and it’s nothing unsurprisingly to see people go at 18-23 months due making the most of no legal come back, HR I assume fully back this as they never questions senior directors given the number of times I witnessed people suddenly leave. - They is no fail fast mentally, it’s fail and your gone and nor is there any support for burn out or mental health within the retail function (seen both first hand and second) - retail does not like working with IT, I was actively told on several occasions not to work or support IT as retail came first, it is not always customer first or even group first at AO. - strategy would often change mid quarter due a to senior director instruction with little agreement often given between directors. - objectives are based on outdated SMART Goals not more modern methods such as OKR’s where you have little room to approach any bottom up objective building. - modern ‘embedded’ cross functional and cross group teams are not possible due to Retail vs AO Tech’s lack of alignment.

    Continue reading
    AO2020-02-16

    AO Response

    March 8, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your honest review and feedback. As part of our recently introduced One AO approach, we are working to ensure that all departments and teams are aligned in the best way they can. I’m sure if you popped in now, you’d be pleasantly surprised with the results of this hard work from everyone across the business. All the best with your new role! :) AO

    Continue reading
  8. "No day is ever the same."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HomeBuilder Account Executive in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Progression from within. I started working in customer experience and now work within AO-Business as we enter the house-building market.1 day i could be booking in a delivery for a new build the next I am liaising with the trading team so i really do get to learn all corners of the business. It's not all about the skill here as-long as you have the willingness to learn there is no stopping to where your career will take you within AO. The Christmas party is a day not to be missed and we have a AO-BUSINESS team night out every quarter as well (which is paid for) ;). And having a spa on site and £2 gym and subsided Starbucks all this with a great bunch of people makes it a great place to work.

    Cons

    The walk from the car park to work when it's raining.

    Continue reading
    AO2020-02-04

    AO Response

    February 20, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this amazing review. I'm really looking forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the senior team. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Account Executive in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and support network in place. Good, sociable working hours. Free breakfast and snacks daily to keep moral high

    Cons

    honestly cannot think of any.

    Continue reading
    AO2020-02-04

    AO Response

    February 20, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We are so happy to read such a great review! Thanks - AO

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A creatively stifling and stagnant office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 3D Artist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great attitude from colleagues that are highly talented and creative that deserve their voices heard and their talents shown at work. This would benefit the 3D department and the company as a whole. Discounted Starbucks

    Cons

    Management. No room for sharing ideas with them, no gratification, no room for improvement or career. Shows no interest in the process in 3D and simply expects you to churn out numbers. Takes no responsibility in innovating and improving the workplace for the creative staff. Development is always stagnant with no opportunities to develop from management. This is due to being subjected to the same task in a factory churning manner, quantity takes priority over quality of work with little care and acknowledgement over what we produce. I wouldn’t consider this workplace a studio whatsoever. 3D is rarely exposed to any other tasks and is expected to churn out the same tired type of video every week, which is just robotic and creatively stifling. Bizarre measures of expansion happened in the office, a high number of senior modellers were promoted then the plan was halted. Meaning no recruitment of juniors in the very top heavy and confusing structure of the office. An expansion without even a plan involved. Level of work and creativity doesn’t play a factor in progression, you just need to talk a good game and agree with management. This has resulted in alot of highly creative people being ignored. People are fearful of speaking up about the lack of innovation and care of work to management, you will be labeled “difficult to work with” and it’ll halt your progression. Use this job as a stepping stone into an official 3D/creative role elsewhere. Put more hours into personal work for your portfolio as this won’t appeal to other companies.

    Continue reading
    AO2020-03-08
Found 263 reviews
</>Embed