Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated 8 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
549 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work/life balance is the trade off(in 72 reviews)

  • "Entry level positions can feel stagnant at some points, always a lot of change(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Friendly Team to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board

    Pros

    Very nice people to work with. Lots of benefits.

    Cons

    No downsides! They work you very hard but they give you the tools to succeed.

    Advisory Board2017-03-17
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    They have a very professional manner and you are able to develop at a good rate. They do encourage you to suggest solutions which is refreshing to see.

    Cons

    They are very rigid in their thinking. Staff morale is not their highest priority, so it can feel at times quite isolating. When giving feedback they come up with excuses as to why its your fault and what your doing wrong instead of looking at the issue as a whole. Unless you are of some type of authority within the business, they do not care for you to be with the company that long.

    Advice to Management

    Your associates are also important when it come to the business. Please be sure to make them feel that way as they will have some type of loyalty to the company and stay longer.

    Advisory Board2019-03-07
  3. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant colleagues, superb work environment, life/work balance is fab

    Cons

    requires a strong and adaptable work ethic- if you are up for the challenge you are a good fit

    Advisory Board2019-02-13
  4. "Senior Associate, International Account Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Account Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, good work-life balance

    Cons

    Lots of changes in senior management, feeling of uncertainty

    Advisory Board2019-02-07
  5. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Sociable, fun, good for experience

    Cons

    None, I enjoyed everything when I was there

    Advisory Board2018-07-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, young and vibrant workforce, amazing amenities.

    Cons

    Secrecy in senior management especially with acquisition/merger was very disruptive to staff morale. Also, work life balance can be challenging fro certain teams.

    Advisory Board2018-03-05
  7. "Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Fun company culture at work

    Cons

    Bad pay, outlook not good

    Advisory Board2018-03-05
  8. "Managing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Career Advancement, Good Culture

    Cons

    Long term vision communication lacking, feels like a short-term mindset when it comes to investments

    Advisory Board2017-08-30
  9. "Sales and Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board

    Pros

    Good incentive packages. Great team spirit and work atmosphere. Lots of team building events.

    Cons

    For the Sales and Marketing department, lack of thought through business development strategy, especially within non-us markets. Makes for quite inconsistent objectives to meet.

    Advisory Board2016-01-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Very poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    - good exposure to clients at more junior levels - some very intelligent colleagues - good social culture (Christmas parties etc.)

    Cons

    - the mid/senior level management was really disappointing- culture of bullying, encouraging culture of presenteeism and long hours. I felt very under-supported and under-represented. -HR for international offices is absolutely abysmal- I would highly discourage anyone outside of the USA to take a job with the company- employment laws were broken multiple times, payroll would mess up meaning you couldn't be sure... when you'd receive your salary, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you actually want to make the international business work I would scrap it (and the managers) and start from scratch. ABC has an abysmal reputation amongst the few members it can miss-sell to, and it would be worth taking a step back and realise whether your objectives are short or long term.

    Advisory Board2015-11-16
Found 947 reviews